How To Make Your Own Wiring Harness For Fog Lights - Page 5 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Focus

MK1 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the first generation 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 02:45 PM   #41
FuhFuh Focus
Stuff about Florida
 
FuhFuh Focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67230
Location: Carrollton, GA
What I Drive: 2002 Mazda Protegé ES

Posts: 2,595
FF Reputation: 7 FuhFuh Focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Ive done it finally! They work :)

Thanks alot to fhh02a and everyone else who gave me advice.
FuhFuh Focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2011, 11:52 AM   #42
Semir
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85484
Location: Warren, MI
What I Drive: 01 FlatBlack ZX3 shell, 07 interior

Posts: 43
FF Reputation: 1 Semir Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I have an 07 zx3, and i bought a oem switch from a local junkyard for $7. IT was from an 02, and i thought it would just pop in..i was wrong. I noticed that the housing was all the same. so i took off the front cover from my stock one, and then the front cover from the one i bought. I used the housing from the older focus, and just had to swap some piece, and it all fits and works. I just have to wire up the fogs/relay...no biggie
Semir is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 02:21 PM   #43
anthonyruff
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89454
Location: chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2004 1.6 lx

Posts: 17
FF Reputation: 1 anthonyruff Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
fog light wiring

hello from england, i have a 2004 1.6 lx this is the model that does not come with front fogs as standard. ive got the fogs and switch from a breakers yard, but cannot find the wiring loom, having searched the internet ive discovered focus fanatics, and even better this post on how to wire them up if the weathers good tomorrow i am going to atempt this project, im going to use the factory switch and tap into 83b wish me luck, tony
anthonyruff is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 03:09 PM   #44
anthonyruff
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89454
Location: chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2004 1.6 lx

Posts: 17
FF Reputation: 1 anthonyruff Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
im from england and have a 1.6 focus, that has no front fog lights as standard, ive got a set and a switch from the breakers yard, ive looked under the car for the wiring loom but cannot locate it, after searching the internet ive found focus fanatics, and com across this post that answers all my problems, if the english weather is good tomorrow i am going to tackle this project, im going to use the standard ford switch, and tap into no 83b and hope i get a result, the original switch that anly pulls out once for the rear fog light has the same amount of wires coming out the back, thats why i think the wiring loom is there already, wish me luck, best regards tony
anthonyruff is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 03:23 PM   #45
anthonyruff
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89454
Location: chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2004 1.6 lx

Posts: 17
FF Reputation: 1 anthonyruff Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
hi ive just joined the forum i have a 1.6 lx and am trying to fit front fogs, ive got a new ford switch and there are the same amount of wires coming out of borh switches, my question is did you have to go through the firewall or did you pick it up inside the engine bay, ive looked allover the car for the extra loom dut had no luck, all the best tony
anthonyruff is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 03:31 PM   #46
saznat
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86647
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 1999 Black MK1 Focus CL

Posts: 16
Points 54, Level 1
Points: 54, Level: 1 Points: 54, Level: 1 Points: 54, Level: 1
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 saznat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hi Tony. I have a 1999 Focus CL and had the same problem as yourself. The extra wire for front fogs was in the plug that connected to the light switch. After hunting for ages, I concluded that the loom for the fogs wasn't there and had to make one. I have no idea where that wire from the light switch goes. I couldn't follow it without taking the dash apart and I wasn't going to do that so I ran a wire through the firewall and used a skotchblock to join it to the foglight wire on the switch and it all works fine. I'm afraid you'll probably have to do the same. Hope this helps!

Last edited by saznat; 09-01-2011 at 03:32 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake
saznat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 03:43 PM   #47
anthonyruff
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89454
Location: chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2004 1.6 lx

Posts: 17
FF Reputation: 1 anthonyruff Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
fog lights

hi thanks for the reply did you tap into 83b and did you use a relay and inline fuse, sorry to sound silly, all the best tony
anthonyruff is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 03:59 PM   #48
saznat
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86647
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 1999 Black MK1 Focus CL

Posts: 16
Points 54, Level 1
Points: 54, Level: 1 Points: 54, Level: 1 Points: 54, Level: 1
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 saznat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, I did just tap into 83b using a skotchblock. The Haynes wiring diagram shows this wire just running directly to the fog lights so I just ran the wire directly to the fogs and all is fine. Again, looking at the diagrams, there is no additional fuse for fogs, although I did put a 15amp fuse inline. Not because it is needed but to protect the light switch from damage should my home made harness somehow short out. That way my fuse cops it before the switch does. I picked up my grounds from within the engine bay. The nearside one is grounded to the -ve terminal of the battery and the offside one is grounded with the nearside lights to an earth point near the offside front of the engine bay.
Here is how I got the wire out to the engine bay. Maybe not the best way but I didn't want to drill holes and I couldn't find anyplace or grommet I could just shove it through.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RXDHrjusHw

Last edited by saznat; 09-01-2011 at 04:09 PM. Reason: additional info
saznat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 04:08 PM   #49
anthonyruff
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89454
Location: chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2004 1.6 lx

Posts: 17
FF Reputation: 1 anthonyruff Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
frot fogs

Hi thanks for getting back so soon, do I still have to run from the battery and use a relay or do I just come from 83b then a fuse straight to the fogs its confusing me a bit now.best regards tony
anthonyruff is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 04:48 PM   #50
saznat
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86647
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 1999 Black MK1 Focus CL

Posts: 16
Points 54, Level 1
Points: 54, Level: 1 Points: 54, Level: 1 Points: 54, Level: 1
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 saznat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No relay is required. Just run from 83b to the fogs. There's no need for the fuse really. I just put that in as an extra safety feature.
saznat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.