Throttle Body Ground Mod - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Second Generation > DURATEC Performance (2008-2011)

DURATEC Performance (2008-2011) The place to chat about any Duratec 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 08:30 AM   #11
usapatriot
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73594
Location: Miami, FL
What I Drive: 09' Black SE Coupe

Posts: 542
FF Reputation: 0 usapatriot Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
How did you guys go about doing it? I used 10-gauge electrical wire with round electrical hook-ups attached to the negative battery terminal and to the throttle body bolt.

I think it did make acceleration smoother for the lower gears, the car doesn't seem to "hang-up" or lag when you first accelerate or when you go from 1st to 2nd.
usapatriot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 10:50 AM   #12
badass3
FocusXtreme
 
badass3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Fan#: 54096
Location: Louisville, KY
What I Drive: 2001, Pitch Black, ZX3

Posts: 3,369
FF Reputation: 7 badass3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by usapatriot View Post
How did you guys go about doing it? I used 10-gauge electrical wire with round electrical hook-ups attached to the negative battery terminal and to the throttle body bolt.

I think it did make acceleration smoother for the lower gears, the car doesn't seem to "hang-up" or lag when you first accelerate or when you go from 1st to 2nd.
just Pm i have a red ground wire that i will give you just pm me and we will work it out on the shippin.
__________________
Hatch Nation #24
Zetec Crew #270 ATXF #49
badass3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:52 AM   #13
badass3
FocusXtreme
 
badass3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Fan#: 54096
Location: Louisville, KY
What I Drive: 2001, Pitch Black, ZX3

Posts: 3,369
FF Reputation: 7 badass3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
O and i remeber why it works for the 3.0l Duratec, they have electronic TB's that need to be grounded, but the factory does not ground them anywhere, but on a manual TB like the duratec 2.3 it would prolly do nothing
__________________
Hatch Nation #24
Zetec Crew #270 ATXF #49
badass3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 11:09 AM   #14
whitefox
Focus Fanatic
 
whitefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Fan#: 54401
Location: Strasburg, VA
What I Drive: 2008 Ebony CC 2dr coupe SES 5spd

Posts: 2,088
FF Reputation: 35 whitefox Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass3 View Post
O and i remeber why it works for the 3.0l Duratec, they have electronic TB's that need to be grounded, but the factory does not ground them anywhere, but on a manual TB like the duratec 2.3 it would prolly do nothing
There is no real reason to ground the throttle body on an electronic throttle body, because it is already grounded through the wiring harness. The engine ground system only does one thing and that is to provide a better current flow which may improve throttle response and may improve fuel mileage. Some people feel a difference, some people don't.
__________________
Carl - whitefox -
Team Duratec # 164
Mid-Atlantic Team EXTREME
2008 Focus Ebony Clearcoat 2dr SES 5spd
whitefox is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 11:10 AM   #15
warneej
BodyKits=PantiesDrop
 
warneej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20372
Location: Bradenton, FL
What I Drive: 04 ZX3 D23E-10SES Sedan-12 Ti Hatch

Posts: 13,167
FF Reputation: 200 warneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass3 View Post
O and i remeber why it works for the 3.0l Duratec, they have electronic TB's that need to be grounded, but the factory does not ground them anywhere, but on a manual TB like the duratec 2.3 it would prolly do nothing


Posted via FF Mobile

The 08+ is electric throttle
warneej is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 03:33 PM   #16
usapatriot
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73594
Location: Miami, FL
What I Drive: 09' Black SE Coupe

Posts: 542
FF Reputation: 0 usapatriot Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass3 View Post
just Pm i have a red ground wire that i will give you just pm me and we will work it out on the shippin.
I already did it myself, but thanks for the offer.
usapatriot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 03:54 PM   #17
Front 1ine
Focus Enthusiast
 
Front 1ine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57897
Location: Louisville, KY
What I Drive: 2003 Glacier Silver Mazda6s MTX

Posts: 129
FF Reputation: 1 Front 1ine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass3 View Post
on the 3 liter duratec it gave like .5 but that prolly due to dyno error, it does help response tho.

if you need a grounding wire, i got some in red left over
Are you talking about my car? If so IDK what the hell you are talking about. lol

I've never dynoed my car for the TB ground I did. Plus there is no physical way it can even give an ounce of horsepower to the car.
Front 1ine is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 04:00 PM   #18
JRODSVT
Dragon Warrior
 
JRODSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15362
Location: West Frankfort, IL
What I Drive: 03 SVT ZX5

Posts: 308
FF Reputation: 97 JRODSVT Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitefox View Post
There is no real reason to ground the throttle body on an electronic throttle body, because it is already grounded through the wiring harness. The engine ground system only does one thing and that is to provide a better current flow which may improve throttle response and may improve fuel mileage. Some people feel a difference, some people don't.
agreed

There is no electrical advantage achieved by grounding the TB. It is grounded through the harness. For a ground to work it needs a positive. There is no live connection flowing through the TB's framework. All electronics are contained in the electronic throttle's circuit. Any gains are psycho somatic or placebo if you prefer.

Now if somebody wants to take their TB off and dissect it to prove me wrong then by all means go for it. I will gladly retract my statement.
__________________
J-RAWK!!!
FocusFests best of sound 2008
(Oo> (SVT) <oO)
o xxxxxxxxxxxx o

Last edited by JRODSVT; 03-26-2010 at 07:30 PM. Reason: unneccessary comment
JRODSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:16 PM   #19
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,637
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
To help with some of the confusion , the SVT and Zetec engine is cable so correct there is NO use in grounding these

The later Duratec Focus engines have drive by wire (opens throttle plate electronicly), this has a small motor that opens the TB as you push the throttle (sensor) , The theory is with a ground the TB opens FASTER

Me, I have tested it on many cars there are a few that it takes a quiver out of the TB plate bu that was years ago and that issue was resolved

It does not do a thing , the flap moves with the foot sensor very well and at best would only help with WOT and a split sec sooner opening time and that split sec couldnt me measured with a dyno even

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:49 PM   #20
badass3
FocusXtreme
 
badass3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Fan#: 54096
Location: Louisville, KY
What I Drive: 2001, Pitch Black, ZX3

Posts: 3,369
FF Reputation: 7 badass3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
no gregg it was something i read on one of the other cars on your boards
__________________
Hatch Nation #24
Zetec Crew #270 ATXF #49
badass3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.