AEM wideband to xcal3 question - Page 10 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 07:32 AM   #91
sgtsmasher
need new focus?!
 
sgtsmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65000
Location: come find me, United States
What I Drive: 01 cd silver 3 door ztec

Posts: 1,675
FF Reputation: 2 sgtsmasher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Hey i got a question about the wiring from the fire wire, does it really matter what wire you use??? I mean think about it...the wire from the gauge matters but to the fire wire its getting plugged into the xcal which has 6 pins still touching 6 pins on the xcal, so does it matter jw from the write it looks like i have exact same colors just different brand...you should have seen the guys face when i bought the wire and he offered the extended warrenty, i said that i would he cutting it in half and said no, his face turned white and was like c c cutting it in half, i said yup and he didnt even ask why so i never told lol
__________________
Hatch Nation #72
Call Me BRANDO COMMANDO
sgtsmasher is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 12:45 AM   #92
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,435
Points 7,115, Level 55
Points: 7,115, Level: 55 Points: 7,115, Level: 55 Points: 7,115, Level: 55
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Weird thing happened to me when I hooked mine up today. I used the orange wire because I'm weird about numbers and wanted the first input into the XCAL to be input #1. Well, it showed up as number 2 on the XCAL. It logs fine, but it was just a bit confusing when I went to set it up as analog 1 and it read a flat 10. As soon as I set it up as analog 2 (which should have been the red wire) it worked fine.

Also, for anyone wondering how to hook up a 2nd 02 sensor on an aftermarket header, I go into explicit detail here:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=294839
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertST View Post
Hop on in babe! No really, you're gonna have to hop in. Roll Cage.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2012, 09:27 AM   #93
ssiptang
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106494
Location: ATL, United States
What I Drive: 2010 Mustang GT

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 ssiptang Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This is such a informative post, I had to register and show OP my appreciation.
One question tho, Lets say I'm using #3 on IEEE-1394 connector for analog 1. Do I need to ground #4 which is analog 1 grnd? Or I don't have to since its being grounded at OBD port by SCT?

Here is the link that says I should ground the analog 1 grnd.
http://www.morepowertuning.com/AEManalogSCT

I just wanted to make sure which is the right way.
Thanks!
ssiptang is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 09:02 PM   #94
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,938
Points 2,053, Level 27
Points: 2,053, Level: 27 Points: 2,053, Level: 27 Points: 2,053, Level: 27
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 88 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssiptang View Post
Or I don't have to since its being grounded at OBD port by SCT?
Late reply but don't worry about setting up any type of ground using your Firewire cable "ports". The Firewire cable is simply being used as a convenient signalling method; the AFR gauge is grounded as is the OBD port.
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 08:03 PM   #95
ssiptang
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106494
Location: ATL, United States
What I Drive: 2010 Mustang GT

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 ssiptang Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BC_ZX3 View Post
Late reply but don't worry about setting up any type of ground using your Firewire cable "ports". The Firewire cable is simply being used as a convenient signalling method; the AFR gauge is grounded as is the OBD port.
Thanks a lot!
Can't wait to try this thing out.
ssiptang is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2013, 11:31 PM   #96
berndern15
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95771
Location: orlando, FL
What I Drive: 14 focus st

Posts: 58
FF Reputation: 1 berndern15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Can Anyone give me steps on setting up aem wideband to livewire?
berndern15 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 09:07 AM   #97
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,071
Points 50,944, Level 100
Points: 50,944, Level: 100 Points: 50,944, Level: 100 Points: 50,944, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 31%
Activity: 31% Activity: 31% Activity: 31%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndern15 View Post
Can Anyone give me steps on setting up aem wideband to livewire?
Did you read the first post here , go to page one

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 10:25 AM   #98
berndern15
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95771
Location: orlando, FL
What I Drive: 14 focus st

Posts: 58
FF Reputation: 1 berndern15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes.......
berndern15 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 03:34 PM   #99
berndern15
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95771
Location: orlando, FL
What I Drive: 14 focus st

Posts: 58
FF Reputation: 1 berndern15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Did you read the first post here , go to page one

Tom
I did everything it said, But when I go to my log list on livewire and start logging, should it log the a/f automatically or do I have to check it off somewhere on the list?
berndern15 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 05:48 PM   #100
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,071
Points 50,944, Level 100
Points: 50,944, Level: 100 Points: 50,944, Level: 100 Points: 50,944, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 31%
Activity: 31% Activity: 31% Activity: 31%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You have to choose the PID and what analog channel your hooked to , then you have to set the analog equation in the livelink6.5 software

I will be glad to help you with this
Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.