PATS Bypass? Ford Bypass Kit? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Dan-O
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
PATS Bypass? Ford Bypass Kit?

Has anyone used the OEM Ford PATS bypass with a remote start? I'm looking for some input.

I'm attempting to bypass the PATS and I bought a Code Alarm PKU-F1 but I can't make it work.
I went in with the IDS and made sure the allow extra keys PID was enabled. I do have two keys and I'm sure I'm programming it correctly.
I need to get a more robust solution that is solid and reliable.

I found the Ford PATS bypass for $15 and was wondering if anyone had used it or should I just go with an ADS TB kit?
Thanks for the input.


__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2010, 03:50 AM   #2
daidie
Focus Enthusiast
 
daidie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Fan#: 70867
Location: caerphilly wales, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2003 maroon red 3 dr hatchback(zx3)

Posts: 484
FF Reputation: 7 daidie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
just mount the transponder from one of the keys into the casing surrounding the ignition barrel, just make sure the alarm system you are using with the remote start has an immobiliser included.
__________________
red focus zx3, stainless from cat back, the big 3, k&n, anti carjack mod, in dash dvd with jbl sub and custom 5x7's, ghia interior light mod.

have you repped someone helpful today
daidie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:04 AM   #3
Dan-O
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
I appreciate the input, but I'm looking for specific input from someone with experience with the Ford unit.
I used to have the transponder already mounted to the column.
The transponders don't always like the cold weather, that's why I'm looking for a different solution.
I'm also eyeballing an ADS unit.
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:16 AM   #4
andrewjay84
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61141
Location: N/A, WI
What I Drive: 2012 RAM 1500 Sport

Posts: 259
FF Reputation: 6 andrewjay84 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Have you thought about using a DEI PKFM or DEI PKALL? Both modules use data instead of using an rf antenna ring. 2 keys required for programming.
What is the oem bypass like? Is it the bypass that consists of a micro relay and has an embedded PATS chip in it?
andrewjay84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:25 AM   #5
Dan-O
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
I'm don't know what the Ford unit is.
Found it in the parts catalog on-line.

I agree on the data route. The ADS unit is a data unit too.
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:37 AM   #6
andrewjay84
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61141
Location: N/A, WI
What I Drive: 2012 RAM 1500 Sport

Posts: 259
FF Reputation: 6 andrewjay84 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
I think the oem is similar to what I described...it has an embedded chip that has to be programmed and installed near the antenna ring of the factory PATS module. I would fully recommend data connection. No problems when it gets cold outside.
Code Alarm products are horrible. I wouldn't wish those on anyone I know.
And if the ADS unit your referring to is the idatalink, its the same technology as the DEI Xpresskits, so pick up whatever is a better deal.
andrewjay84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:16 AM   #7
Dan-O
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
Yup the ADS-TB is a data unit.
I found one for like $20 or so.


Thanks for the input.
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 04:03 PM   #8
andrewsfm
Focus Enthusiast
 
andrewsfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Fan#: 70099
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2008 Ebony ATX SES w/ Leather & Sun

Posts: 387
FF Reputation: 5 andrewsfm Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This is what you need...

http://cgi.ebay.com/PKFM-DEI-XK04-Xp...item4ced3f8925

...and it's also what I use on my 08.

This particular seller I've bought an alarm sensor from before with no issue.
__________________
DEI 2-way Alarm & Start / DDM Ballasts + CAP 6000k 55w HIDs in Eagle Eyes Projectors / 6000k 55w HID Fogs / All INT+EXT LEDs+7W LED Reverse / K&N Air Filter / Kumho Ecsta 4X Tires / 35%/20% Tint / Black Grille / Maxxsonics MX-1 + 2500W Stereo
andrewsfm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 05:34 PM   #9
Dan-O
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
I ended up grabbing an iData ADS-TB unit for $20.
Same idea as the one you posted.

I learned my lesson about cheap, not inexpensive, but cheaply made bypass units.


Thanks again for the input everyone.
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 02:53 PM   #10
mkc70
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 66596
Location: youngstown, OH
What I Drive: 1999 silver C70

Posts: 43
FF Reputation: 1 mkc70 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan-O View Post
I ended up grabbing an iData ADS-TB unit for $20.
Same idea as the one you posted.

I learned my lesson about cheap, not inexpensive, but cheaply made bypass units.


Thanks again for the input everyone.
Finally went with the good unit. Ford OEM unit was made by Code.
mkc70 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.