SCT Datalogging issues PLEASE POST - Page 14 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2010, 04:04 PM   #131
IslandFocus
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22161
Location: Bahamas, Bahamas, The
What I Drive: 2000 Imperial Blue Focus ZX3

Posts: 803
FF Reputation: 3 IslandFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I have the x2 and all the latest firmware. I have a zx3 and most of times I go to datalog it gives me an "open device failed" error and won't allow me to datalog. Anyone else have any issues like this? This is EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING!
IslandFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2010, 05:02 PM   #132
dirtbiker348
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 760
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
do u have your key in the on position
dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:36 PM   #133
IslandFocus
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22161
Location: Bahamas, Bahamas, The
What I Drive: 2000 Imperial Blue Focus ZX3

Posts: 803
FF Reputation: 3 IslandFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
yes, with the vehicle off, I plug in the xcal2 to the obd and then to the laptop. I then turn key on and try to open configuration in livelink but then I get the error.
IslandFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:59 PM   #134
dirtbiker348
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 760
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
try keeping your key in the on position the whole time
dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 06:33 PM   #135
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbiker348 View Post
for some reason when I datalog now it won't record any of the parameters but shows the time elapsing. I've datalogged before with out this problem. I already tried uninstalling and reinstalling.. I'm gunna try this again. Can anyone help. Thanks

Edit: i uninstalled and reinstalled again and it work.. weird
this happens to me from time to time. I just reboot the computer and it usually works.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 07:15 PM   #136
IslandFocus
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22161
Location: Bahamas, Bahamas, The
What I Drive: 2000 Imperial Blue Focus ZX3

Posts: 803
FF Reputation: 3 IslandFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbiker348 View Post
try keeping your key in the on position the whole time
doesn't help
IslandFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:47 AM   #137
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,362
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Not sure if this has been posted or not, i loaded a custom tune from Tom then drove it a few days. Made a few changes and then had problems.

I found the unit cant have anything plugged into it before the program. No USB cable and no firewire which i had plugged into mine at the time.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 11:55 AM   #138
Buickboy
br/o/stang
 
Buickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Fan#: 28542
Location: Stratford, CT
What I Drive: 72 Skylark, '12 Mustang

Posts: 5,259
FF Reputation: 39 Buickboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
Some stuff I found out trying to get my XCAL2 hooked up to my AEM analog wideband (uego?):

Analog + goes to Analog 1

Analog - goes to Ground
Analog 2 isn't used

AEM also lists the equation for analog out as
AFR = 2.375(V) + 7.3125
but the logging software wasnt happy until it looked like this: (v*2.375)+7.3125, although Tom now tells me this is wrong.. doing some testing now!



The software would crash if the wideband wire was plugged into the XCal before the log was started.
__________________
==2012 Kona Blue Mustang V6==
==1995 Light Iris Neon Coupe==
==1972 Skylark==

Last edited by Buickboy; 07-29-2011 at 01:09 PM.
Buickboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 10:40 PM   #139
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,527
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
I wish I had known about this thread a while ago. Im SO down to post on this.

My old predator that I recently sent to Tom NEVER failed to load tunes nor did it have a problem datalogging. When I started using the xcal...it freezes all the time, Ive had the thing for 3 days now and I was able to upload the first 4 tunes from Tom onto it without an issue, now everytime I try and put a new tune on my car the thing quits, says download failed with error 1034, and when this happens you have to load the stock tune back on the car before you can do anything else. Guess what...THAT DOESNT WORK EITHER!! It quits at 4%, sometimes higher then that and you have to try again. Battery chargers, pulling fuses everytime, and theres no 100% fix. its a major hassle especially after remote tuning already takes time without all of the extra work.
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:05 AM   #140
SVTF410
Focus Enthusiast
 
SVTF410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69225
Location: Springville, AL
What I Drive: 2004, Infra-red, SVT

Posts: 209
FF Reputation: 1 SVTF410 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I second what svtf1417 said, there are major issues when trying to data log with freezing up or just not reading sensors at all. With my predator it worked every time without flaw. I haven't had any loading issues YET. There doesn't seem to be a magic fix for making it work every time.
SVTF410 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.