Trunk Release Button on Dash doesn't work - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2010, 05:02 PM   #1
davidjsouth
Guest
 
Fan#:
Posts: n/a
Trunk Release Button on Dash doesn't work

When I bought the car the trunk release button on the dash board didn't work. I thought I would throw this out there to see if anybody else has had this problem and knows the solution.

2001 Ford Focus SE


 
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2010, 05:29 PM   #2
daidie
Focus Enthusiast
 
daidie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Fan#: 70867
Location: caerphilly wales, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2003 maroon red 3 dr hatchback(zx3)

Posts: 484
FF Reputation: 7 daidie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
just change it its easy to do
__________________
red focus zx3, stainless from cat back, the big 3, k&n, anti carjack mod, in dash dvd with jbl sub and custom 5x7's, ghia interior light mod.

have you repped someone helpful today
daidie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2010, 06:39 PM   #3
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,219
Points 27,353, Level 98
Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98
Level Up 1% Completed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Replace with a new one from Ford. Sadly, this switch isn't made to be serviced or repaired.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2010, 06:48 PM   #4
daidie
Focus Enthusiast
 
daidie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Fan#: 70867
Location: caerphilly wales, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2003 maroon red 3 dr hatchback(zx3)

Posts: 484
FF Reputation: 7 daidie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
take off your cowling surrounding your steering wheel there is a small clip on either side of the steering wheel cowling. (this needs to be removed to be able to remove the clock surround)

then undo the three screws at the top of the black surround covering your dash clocks.

the switch will come out with this, just unplug the switch and run a piece of wire across the terminals in the wired connector to the switch, the boot lid should release, if the switch is faulty go to your local breakers (buy a new switch and fit it) it should be relatively cheap.
__________________
red focus zx3, stainless from cat back, the big 3, k&n, anti carjack mod, in dash dvd with jbl sub and custom 5x7's, ghia interior light mod.

have you repped someone helpful today
daidie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 06:22 AM   #5
davidjsouth
Guest
 
Fan#:
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by daidie View Post
take off your cowling surrounding your steering wheel there is a small clip on either side of the steering wheel cowling. (this needs to be removed to be able to remove the clock surround)

then undo the three screws at the top of the black surround covering your dash clocks.

the switch will come out with this, just unplug the switch and run a piece of wire across the terminals in the wired connector to the switch, the boot lid should release, if the switch is faulty go to your local breakers (buy a new switch and fit it) it should be relatively cheap.
Thanks. I'll have to check it out when I have free time.
 
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 08:50 AM   #6
WuNgUnSVT
Focus Addict
 
WuNgUnSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15803
Location: Blyth, Canada
What I Drive: '02 Sonic Blue SVT Focus, '03 Wagon

Posts: 922
Points 5,041, Level 45
Points: 5,041, Level: 45 Points: 5,041, Level: 45 Points: 5,041, Level: 45
Level Up 46% Completed
Level up: 46% Level up: 46% Level up: 46%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 34 WuNgUnSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Are you manually unlocking your car before you hit the release??
My '03 wagon will NOT pop the hatch until I unlock the car doors....weird, I know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattyKrackSVT View Post
...go threw your posts and see who can't spell retard...
'02 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
WuNgUnSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 10:35 AM   #7
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,935
Points 2,050, Level 27
Points: 2,050, Level: 27 Points: 2,050, Level: 27 Points: 2,050, Level: 27
Level Up 34% Completed
Level up: 34% Level up: 34% Level up: 34%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 88 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WuNgUnSVT View Post
Are you manually unlocking your car before you hit the release??
My '03 wagon will NOT pop the hatch until I unlock the car doors....weird, I know.
As they say in the computer biz, "that's not a bug, that's a feature", presumably for safety. The switch also won't work if you are traveling over 4 mph, says the owner's manual, in case you're tempted to open it on the move.
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 11:01 AM   #8
davidjsouth
Guest
 
Fan#:
Posts: n/a
actually I don't know. Never really paid attention, but I think I can pop the trunk with my key fob when the car's locked.
 
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 11:33 AM   #9
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,935
Points 2,050, Level 27
Points: 2,050, Level: 27 Points: 2,050, Level: 27 Points: 2,050, Level: 27
Level Up 34% Completed
Level up: 34% Level up: 34% Level up: 34%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 88 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
If your remote still works then it's your dash release switch at fault.
North American Part # 1S4Z54432A38AA
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 12:07 PM   #10
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,219
Points 27,353, Level 98
Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98
Level Up 1% Completed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Mine wouldn't work unless-
1) key was OFF
2) Driver's door was open
3) car was not moving.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.