Bad ground?? - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 07:50 PM   #1
drifterboyE3
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102539
Location: Cincinnati, OH
What I Drive: 01 zx3 03 explorer RIP ESCORT LX-E

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 drifterboyE3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Bad ground??

Hey guys just installed my subs and I have a hmmming noise that changes with the rpms. I have my rcas run down the passanger side threshold and behind the rear panels(zx3) and my power and remote is run under the drives side threshold. And I'm grounded at the lower bolt on the drivers side rear seat mount. I used a wire brush to scrape paint but do you think I could still have a bad ground? Any advice would help thanks


drifterboyE3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2012, 07:52 PM   #2
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 23,683
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Welcome to the forum


Definitely sounds like you have a bad ground. Try moving the ground to a different location and see if that resolves the problem.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:57 PM   #3
drifterboyE3
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102539
Location: Cincinnati, OH
What I Drive: 01 zx3 03 explorer RIP ESCORT LX-E

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 drifterboyE3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Where would you suggest. The person before me had subs and already had one ground wire under the rear seat but that yielded the same results
drifterboyE3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:01 PM   #4
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 23,683
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
I dunno, I actually grounded mine in the same spot as y'all now that I think about it. You may want to check all your grounds underneath the hood and make sure the battery and the motor are properly grounded and getting a good connection. Also depending on what car you have some have little resistors or noise isolators that are supposed to the do the same thing. I've replaced mine on my focus before though the noise it let through was very small and almost unnoticeable.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:39 PM   #5
sam fisher
I hate dents!
 
sam fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103137
Location: royal oak, MI
What I Drive: 2006 silver zx4 ses

Posts: 2,933
FF Reputation: 3 sam fisher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i grounded in the trunk under the car . at first i just used sheet metal screws , but later on i drilled a hole and bolted the mofo in lol.

Sent from my N860 using FF Mobile
sam fisher is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:02 PM   #6
alaskanzx5
Focus Fanatic
 
alaskanzx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82699
Location: Covert/south haven, MI
What I Drive: 2000 silver zx3

Posts: 1,617
FF Reputation: 6 alaskanzx5 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
the seat belt bolt has paint on it to. get the paint off of the bottom side of the bolt and try that.
__________________
hn155: Rockford punch pro speakers, t400.4 deh 80prs, full audio build to come. working towards 175hp n/a, simple but fun.
alaskanzx5 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:04 AM   #7
Now534
Focus Addict
 
Now534's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Fan#: 76549
Location: Norwalk, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black ST2

Posts: 1,241
FF Reputation: 6 Now534 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
What do you have for a deck? Pioneers (i know some older models do this not sure on the newer models) have a Pico Fuse internally that when it blows will create engine noise through the RCA's. Easy solution to this was to wrap a wire around the plug on the RCA out (then plug the rca in to the back of the radio) then take the other side of the wire and wrap it around a screw in the back of the radio (pick one there are a few).
Now534 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #8
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,602
FF Reputation: 20 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
^This
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,JBL Px300.4, JBL GTO7001, PPI 356cs, JBL p1024(Hooray!) SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:46 AM   #9
drifterboyE3
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102539
Location: Cincinnati, OH
What I Drive: 01 zx3 03 explorer RIP ESCORT LX-E

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 drifterboyE3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's a deh3900mp I believe. And yes I had that problem before wires touched and blew the ground. So I got a new deck(same one) and that solved the problem. It's just now that I put them in the focus. They were in an escort
drifterboyE3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:59 AM   #10
Now534
Focus Addict
 
Now534's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Fan#: 76549
Location: Norwalk, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black ST2

Posts: 1,241
FF Reputation: 6 Now534 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
It's worth a try to fix. Its easy if you have scraps laying around

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
Now534 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.