J&S issue - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 06:43 PM   #1
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
J&S issue

ok so i hooked my j&s up last week and i didnt start the car or test it cause it was late
so today i go to start my car and it doesnt want to start then it finally fires up but with like no umph and its missfiring o i turn it off and start it again and same thing.
CEL comes on and i get some code to the ignition coil channel a or something
so i look at the vampire splices and i get pliers and squeeze it down a little bit and it starts up like normal

well the light on the j&S light up and the guage sweeps like it is supposed to at start up.
at idle the monitor sensor on the back of the J&S is lit up.
so i turn all the channels down. or whatever, and i go to take it for a drive.
it feels like its missing power.
but the j&s gauge isnt moving or lighting up at all. and the back of the J&S light isnt on...
it comes on when im stopped or when im not on the gas.
but as soon as i hit the gas the light goes away...

idk what to do...
i grounded both of the black ground wires.
and its weirdhow it works at idle but as soon as i hit the gas it goes away


please help.


__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2009, 07:23 PM   #2
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
just read step 9 in the instructions.

the monitor led light will pulse at start up and idle.
with no knock retard the monitor led light will turn off.
when knock retard occurs the led will light up.


but what explains the power loss
it just seems smoother in a way but like not as much umph.
i messed up my VCT solenoid but fixed it, and it isnt throwing codes.
the engine seems a bit louder. like ticking or something. louder than usual.

i have the sensitivity at about 75%.
with all of the 1-5 'down'
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:37 AM   #3
3rdgeneration
Focus Enthusiast
 
3rdgeneration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 42534
Location: hartford
Posts: 205
FF Reputation: 1 3rdgeneration Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
try putting switch 1 up, and turning your sensitivity to exactly half.also email john and j&s hes very good at getting back to you
__________________
"drive it like you stole it"
03 infa red svt SC
09 Black SES
3rdgeneration is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 08:21 AM   #4
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
im getting no timing pulled from the j&s.
no activity on the gauge.

either i have a perfect tune or something idk.

i noticed my throttle response is down since i got that code for the igniton coil a or something.
i fixed the ignition coil thing but still feels weak on throttle.
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:35 AM   #5
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
ive set 1 switch up and turned the sensitivity pretty high and did a few pulls to about 5k rpms.

throttle response was weak after it.
but no movement on the j&s gauge
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 08:45 PM   #6
pitchedblack04
Bewst Anyone!!!
 
pitchedblack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62993
Location: louisville, KY
What I Drive: 2004 turbo'd svt

Posts: 1,871
FF Reputation: 7 pitchedblack04 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Im guessing you tested the unit while stationary?
__________________
Car is for sale. Pm me for details.
pitchedblack04 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 08:42 AM   #7
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
Is there a special sort of solder i should use to solder the connections?
im getting bad connections between the j&s and wire 26 (coil a or whatever) and its causing missing and stuff.

Ive also grounded the two black wires to the same ground. is this ok?

i doesnt specify what to do with it in the instructions.
it say ground the one black wire with the 12v source but for the knock sensor clear wire and then the black wire it doesnt tell yuo what to do with it.

please help
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:30 AM   #8
3rdgeneration
Focus Enthusiast
 
3rdgeneration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 42534
Location: hartford
Posts: 205
FF Reputation: 1 3rdgeneration Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
john and J&S said the ground with the clear wire does not have to be grounded. but i already grounded with the other ground wire and the unit works fine. As far is the solder 5core solder has flux in at and will help get a better bond but i don't know if it really makes a huge difference
__________________
"drive it like you stole it"
03 infa red svt SC
09 Black SES
3rdgeneration is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:33 AM   #9
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
ok and do i just try to take some of the rubber off the wire and solder together?
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:40 AM   #10
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
also what kind of soldering gun should i get
http://www.radioshack.com/family/ind...Price-RSK&pg=2

something cheap, but what wattage and etc.
i was thinking 15watt cause it says good for circuit work but what if i want to use for something else down the line couild i get a 40watt of 25 watt or something and it still work for this.
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.