My in-car wiring diagram for datalogging/tuning - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2009, 04:23 PM   #11
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceberg65 View Post
are you running livelink on 64bit windows vista? I thought their were compatibility issues with the software. I couldnt get the new version to install on my laptop
I do my tuning on my laptop (Macbook with Intel processor). I'm running 32-bt Windows XP as a Virtual Machine using Parallels. Livelink and Advantage both work perfect, and the SCT licensing dongle is also recognized just fine. Neither program require a fast computer, so they run quick enough. The only drawback is that the Macbook gets warmer and uses more battery while running a VM. I'm planning to dual-boot OSX & Windows so I can run Windows natively, giving me more battery life for tuning. I'll leave the VM setup on OSX, too, so I don't HAVE to reboot to get at Windows if I am already in OSX.

I think the only confusion is that screenshot on the laptop shows 64-bit Windows 7. I have Advantage installed on both my Macbook and my desktop (the computer I use 90% of the time, 64-bit Windows 7, 3.2ghz AMD 64 X2, 8gb memory). I only have Livelink installed on my Macbook. I was just slapping that illustration together all willy-nilly on my desktop , so I pulled up Advantage and did a screenshot to photoshop onto the Macbook screen.

I suppose I should re-do that with a LiveLink screenshot since Advantage isn't supposed to be shown online like that, but I figured its sufficiently small and blurry to be irrelevant. SCT has clearer screenshots on their own website, anyway.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!

Last edited by mellephants; 08-06-2009 at 05:42 PM.
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2009, 06:11 PM   #12
iceberg65
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Fan#: 64382
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
What I Drive: 00 laser red cougar

Posts: 156
FF Reputation: 2 iceberg65 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thanks. I was mostly hoping that their was an easy way to run livelink on my laptop running 64bit vista without having to set up a different operation system.
iceberg65 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:15 PM   #13
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
gotcha, Sorry I haven't tried that yet. It would be useful to have livelink on my desktop (1920x1200 is way moar bettar than 1280x800), so maybe I'll give it a shot sometime. Chances are you might have to run it in a virtual machine. (There are free VMs for download online).
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:34 PM   #14
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
little side note incase anyone is using this as a guide of sorts

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaysE View Post
Simply going off my experience in pro-audio, splitting the knock sensor signal without amplifying it first is going to reduce the voltage going to the J&S, a potentially dangerous situation. This is entirely dependent on the headunit's internal wiring, as it might not be an issue when you're not listening to it through the speakers, but it also could be a problem. It will definitely reduce voltage to the J&S when you're listening through the speakers, though.

This works for illinipo because he's not tuning with the sensor and he's not using a J&S.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellephants View Post
Yes that is possible. It will be disconnectable, so I'll measure with and without it before leaving it hooked up while driving. I am expecting to adjust the J&S sensitivity to compensate.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 01:18 AM   #15
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
I hooked up the XCAL2 & both analog inputs tonight and both worked perfectly. I have a datalog showing J&S Safeguard knock detection activity. Don't worry, I turned the sensitivity up to get some false positives for testing purposes.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 01:21 AM   #16
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
All I need now is a female 3.5mm jack & a capacitor for the KS audio monitor.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 06:00 PM   #17
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Update: this all worked exactly as planned. Yay!

The one change I've made since this post is that I sold my J&S Safeguard and the gauge because I could hear knock before the J&S could pick it up.

A J&S is definitely still nice to have for datalogging... if it picks up any knock you can review the datalog to see exactly when and where it happened. It is also nice insurance against bad gas, etc.

I still decided that I'd rather have the money for other things, so I sold it off. I just do a few pulls while listening to my KS after filling the tank, especially if its at an unfamiliar gas station.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 09:54 AM   #18
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,436
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellephants View Post
I hooked up the XCAL2 & both analog inputs tonight and both worked perfectly. I have a datalog showing J&S Safeguard knock detection activity. Don't worry, I turned the sensitivity up to get some false positives for testing purposes.
PLEASE keep in mind you are ONLY turning up the J&S sensivity which on full J&S sensivity you are at stock ECU sensivity , I have been talking about changing the ECU sensivity with in the tune under knock sensor there is a sensivity setting for each load/rpm/cyl in my SCT Tuning software , the PRP and most shop SCT Tuning software does not show these or have the ability to make changes to them

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:41 AM   #19
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing MemberBlivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Knock sensor gain adjustment on the SVT is different from the regular zetec. SVT knock gain adjustment is by rpm only which is very odd. I know there are tables there but they do not do anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
PLEASE keep in mind you are ONLY turning up the J&S sensivity which on full J&S sensivity you are at stock ECU sensivity , I have been talking about changing the ECU sensivity with in the tune under knock sensor there is a sensivity setting for each load/rpm/cyl in my SCT Tuning software , the PRP and most shop SCT Tuning software does not show these or have the ability to make changes to them

Tom
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 02:33 PM   #20
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,436
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The gain for SVT and STD Zetec they both show load vs rpm on the gain so im curious what you mean by RPM only ? and what you mean by there there but they dont do anything ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 2000 Focus - no fuel - need wiring diagram thebigreddog! General Technical Chat 7 09-21-2013 09:19 AM
ST170 Tailight Wiring Diagram havoc7476 MK1 Focus 6 11-07-2005 11:50 PM
April 2005 U.S. Auto Sales Scorecard Kneel Ford Focus & General Car Chat 3 05-04-2005 03:56 PM
Anyone have a wiring diagram for guage cluster. BLKEUROSVTZX5 Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 2 08-11-2004 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.