Ford Sync and External HD's - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2009, 09:01 PM   #1
i0ta
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62271
Location: San Diego (North County), CA
What I Drive: 2008 Black Ford Focus

Posts: 26
FF Reputation: 1 i0ta Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ford Sync and External HD's

Ok.. so I just bought a 500GB Western Digital passport with the hopes that I may be able to play it through the USB connection on my Focus. But after putting a few songs on it, I get an "unsupported device" message. A quick google search led me to believe it may be because the drive was formatted with an NTFS file system.

So... I'm attempting to reformat, but the only option (at least in Vista) is to format to the exFAT file system. Anyone know if Sync can read exFAT? Or is it just FAT32? I can't seem to find any info on this...

Thanks for the help!


i0ta is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2009, 10:28 PM   #2
i0ta
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62271
Location: San Diego (North County), CA
What I Drive: 2008 Black Ford Focus

Posts: 26
FF Reputation: 1 i0ta Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok well I answered my own question... But in case anyone's interested, FAT32 works, exFAT and NTFS don't. I can now use my 500GB portable HD in my car! Sweeeeet.
i0ta is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:56 PM   #3
three_X_Z
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 883
Location: Sonora
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3

Posts: 159
Points 819, Level 15
Points: 819, Level: 15 Points: 819, Level: 15 Points: 819, Level: 15
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 three_X_Z Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Did you run into issues with the size? I know that fat32 has size limitations but I dont remember what they are. It would just suck if you could only format your 500gig hard drive as a 32gig fat32.
three_X_Z is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:04 AM   #4
dcorwin822
Focus Enthusiast
 
dcorwin822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Fan#: 53054
Location: Binghamton, NY
What I Drive: 2008 Vermillion Red SES

Posts: 173
FF Reputation: 11 dcorwin822 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by three_X_Z View Post
Did you run into issues with the size? I know that fat32 has size limitations but I dont remember what they are. It would just suck if you could only format your 500gig hard drive as a 32gig fat32.
google search: The maximum disk size for fat 32 is approximately 8 terabytes.
dcorwin822 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:21 AM   #5
cmmike1
Focus Enthusiast
 
cmmike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63736
Location: Morris County, NJ
What I Drive: 2008 Silver Coupe SES

Posts: 454
Points 1,044, Level 17
Points: 1,044, Level: 17 Points: 1,044, Level: 17 Points: 1,044, Level: 17
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 cmmike1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
i have a 160gb drive in my car but i kept on running into problems with it constantly needing to be re-indexed. it could have been from the cold weather effecting the drive but i eventually lost all voice commands for any device i plugged into the port. The way i fixed it was to update sync just so you know. now it has been working very nicely. btw i have almost 10k songs so that could have been a reason too.
cmmike1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:09 PM   #6
i0ta
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62271
Location: San Diego (North County), CA
What I Drive: 2008 Black Ford Focus

Posts: 26
FF Reputation: 1 i0ta Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When I formatted it stayed at the full capacity, so size isn't an issue. And as far as voice commands and indexing, no issues so far. The only thing is a *slight* delay when first starting the engine until music starts playing. Maybe like 5 seconds. Only at like 1500 songs though, maybe more would cause indexing issues.

But I've also updated my Sync prior to trying this, so maybe it's just older versions that have that indexing problem. My friend's Sync has voice command problems, but it's just the version that came with the car, without any updates.
i0ta is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SYNC SYSTEM USB devices konami Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 25 04-01-2008 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.