Adding glovebox light. - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2010, 06:00 AM   #1
kaptajnen
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
kaptajnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56626
Location: Lyngby, Denmark
What I Drive: 2000, Moondust Silver, 1,8 Focus

Posts: 33
FF Reputation: 1 kaptajnen Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Adding glovebox light - FINISHED.

Hi all.

Have bought a bulb holder/swith for the glove compartment in my 2000 focus.

I had the impression that a wire was to be found somewhere behind the glovebox, but i cant seem to find it.

Have anyone done this mod and can tell me if there is a wire or not.? or am i just to fix som +/- for the switch.

Thanks a lot.


__________________
It's A Ford.
Damn right it's fast.!

Last edited by kaptajnen; 04-28-2010 at 03:45 PM. Reason: Problem solved - title changed.
kaptajnen is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2010, 10:14 AM   #2
puppetman
rawr
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65577
Location: chicago suburbs, IL
What I Drive: 07 ZX3, 86 honda vf500f, 81 Vespa

Posts: 3,233
Points 3,421, Level 36
Points: 3,421, Level: 36 Points: 3,421, Level: 36 Points: 3,421, Level: 36
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 puppetman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
im not aware of any wire behind the glove box. i would suggest wiring your bulb and switch to the fusebox using an add-a-fuse. you can search for how to on the add a fuse
__________________
in illinois there are 4 seasons....almost winter, winter, still winter, and construction

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackoutSVT View Post
hey man don't hate, it cost alot of money to look that cheap...
puppetman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 06:16 PM   #3
andrewsfm
Focus Enthusiast
 
andrewsfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Fan#: 70099
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2008 Ebony ATX SES w/ Leather & Sun

Posts: 387
FF Reputation: 5 andrewsfm Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What did you have in mind for a switch?
__________________
DEI 2-way Alarm & Start / DDM Ballasts + CAP 6000k 55w HIDs in Eagle Eyes Projectors / 6000k 55w HID Fogs / All INT+EXT LEDs+7W LED Reverse / K&N Air Filter / Kumho Ecsta 4X Tires / 35%/20% Tint / Black Grille / Maxxsonics MX-1 + 2500W Stereo
andrewsfm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:53 PM   #4
kjsoccerdude
Too old for this...
 
kjsoccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61490
Location: Mankato, MN
What I Drive: 2004 Silver Mazda6 S

Posts: 2,253
FF Reputation: 9 kjsoccerdude Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
I have LED's in my air vents so I tapped into those and just put a few spare LED's in my glove box. But like somebody already said. Just get an add-a-fuse and tap into your fuse box.
__________________
2004 Silver Mazda6 S
kjsoccerdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:09 PM   #5
norcalfocus01
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55603
Location: Manteca, Nor*Cal!, United States
What I Drive: White N Gold 2001 Sedan

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 132 norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsfm View Post
What did you have in mind for a switch?
x2 is this bulb going to be on at all times?


I just thought of this though, the Focus glovebox swings open to far for a light to cast light into it.
norcalfocus01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:12 PM   #6
2wheeladict
Focus Fanatic
 
2wheeladict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69029
Location: winter haven, fl, FL
What I Drive: 2005 focus zx4, 2003 cbr f4i

Posts: 1,612
FF Reputation: 8 2wheeladict Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
could use an alarm swith for a hood, itd turn the light on when open
__________________
2005 ZX4: CAI, FRPP, eibach sportlines, hids
1983 kawasaki KZ550 cafe project
4 wheels move the body, 2 wheels move the SOUL
2wheeladict is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 01:54 AM   #7
kjsoccerdude
Too old for this...
 
kjsoccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61490
Location: Mankato, MN
What I Drive: 2004 Silver Mazda6 S

Posts: 2,253
FF Reputation: 9 kjsoccerdude Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalfocus01 View Post
x2 is this bulb going to be on at all times?


I just thought of this though, the Focus glovebox swings open to far for a light to cast light into it.
I have 5mm LED's in mine pointed in different directions. It lights it up quite well.
__________________
2004 Silver Mazda6 S
kjsoccerdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 04:02 AM   #8
Kauai Guy
/人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\
 
Kauai Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58297
Location: Hawaii, HI
What I Drive: Car

Posts: 3,316
FF Reputation: 17 Kauai Guy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)


Wired mine to my cigarette lighter light.
__________________
Sedan Revolution #150 Hatch Nation #26

Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalfocus01 View Post
Because I'm on a boat and I just had sex
Kauai Guy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 04:44 AM   #9
kaptajnen
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
kaptajnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56626
Location: Lyngby, Denmark
What I Drive: 2000, Moondust Silver, 1,8 Focus

Posts: 33
FF Reputation: 1 kaptajnen Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Attached is available from ford, you have to drill a small hole in the top of the dash, in the edge were the glovebox closes.

As you can see there isnt much room for the wires, why the plug designed for it would be prefered.



__________________
It's A Ford.
Damn right it's fast.!
kaptajnen is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 03:43 PM   #10
kaptajnen
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
kaptajnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56626
Location: Lyngby, Denmark
What I Drive: 2000, Moondust Silver, 1,8 Focus

Posts: 33
FF Reputation: 1 kaptajnen Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Just finished up the light today.
I wrote to a guy who also installed it, and he said that the wire was there, but i have almost disassembled the dash twice without finding anything, and the dude apearently didnt want to let me know where it was.

But after giving up i found a plug from a computer that fitted, and wired it into the cigarette lighter.

Im quite happy with the result.
__________________
It's A Ford.
Damn right it's fast.!
kaptajnen is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.