can a 180 degree thermostat Decrease performance? - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > ZETEC Performance (2000-2004)

ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 04-26-2009, 04:39 PM   #1
ab0ybrush3dr3d
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 60222
What I Drive: 2001 Metallic Blue Zx3

FF Reputation: 2 ab0ybrush3dr3d Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
can a 180 degree thermostat Decrease performance?

i got a 180 degree thermostat to run it a little cooler, it gives me slightly better throttle response because its running a little richer, but can this decrease performance?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2009, 05:16 PM   #2
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd

Fan#: 37693
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
where did you get the idea that a thermostat causes it to run richer?

cooler temps can improve your knock threshold but you cant take advantage of this unless you have a custom tune. without a tune the 180 doesnt really do anything. also your fans still wont turn on until the same temps as when you had the 192 so you really arent going to run any cooler.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
Old 04-26-2009, 05:24 PM   #3
ab0ybrush3dr3d
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 60222
What I Drive: 2001 Metallic Blue Zx3

FF Reputation: 2 ab0ybrush3dr3d Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)