Need some help here, cant get my ecu into open loop... - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 06:10 PM   #1
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Need some help here, cant get my ecu into open loop...

I called my SCT dealer but theyre closed for the day and searched in the sct forums just to find out im doing things right so, figured i'd make a post because i am clueless.

The problem is quite simple, I am commanding open loop but my open loop flag stays at 0 and my stft's are all over the place (not just showing back the base table). This is at idle up to about 20 counts of throttle from start all the way until i turn off the motor (so, all conditions). Since the afr sits around 16 the longest ive gone is about 30-40 seconds like this, scared to go any longer. The stft slowly drops down until it pegs at .75, and at that point afr goes to 13.5. If I tap the throttle stft goes back to 1 and it starts over again.

I have the front o2 unplugged and the heater turned off so I could put my wideband in the stock front o2 location (to make OL tuning easier and more accurate). The idea was to just force open loop and tune off the wideband. But i cant force open loop

Things I have done in the tune:

heater switch for bank 1 sensor 1 o2 - changed to 0

TP for WOT table - all set to 0

Fuel Open Loop TP table - all set to 0

Time to Delay Open Loop (for the ECT and RPM conditions) - set to 0.125

Adaptive control switch - changed to 0

(EVAP canister) switch to allow open loop purge - changed to 1

switch to force open loop fuel - changed to 1

HELP please!


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2009, 07:41 PM   #2
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
fwiw I also cannot find the DMR for knock sensor retard.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 08:09 PM   #3
gokart2
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31234
Location: Fowlerville, MI
What I Drive: 2006 Silver ST w/SAP#1

Posts: 1,078
FF Reputation: 14 gokart2 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Almost 100% positive because your control hego is unplugged. Reinstall your "front 02" sensor and see what it does. If you have enough wire, throw your wideband in the end of your tailpipe about a foot. Thats what alot of dyno shops do, my be off if you have a leak though.
__________________
ST Crew #90
My wife---><----Me
gokart2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 08:32 PM   #4
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
if I wanted to use my tailpipe I would just use my rear o2 location

i need to get o2 before the cat thats all there is to that argument.


Now, as far as just plugging in the hego, I will give that a try tomorrow. it's raining, and the only way to do it right now is go under the car and get really really wet.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:12 PM   #5
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,981
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
There is no issues with installing the o2 in the rear o2 , But you reading your books im sure you know better then me

You need the front o2 to work the closed loop why on earth would you want to force open loop ? To force open loop there is a setting in the software in 2 places that will keep your Focus in open loop all the time

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:26 PM   #6
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
im forcing open loop so I can tune off of my wideband instead of the crappy inaccurate narrowband signal

because of egt changes and many many other variables the rear o2 will read anywhere from .02-.1 lambda lean, this has been proven many times over ON THE DYNO by tuners across the country

If you read my first post you would know that I already changed both those things in my tune.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:01 PM   #7
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,981
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You shouldnt be trying to tune the idle from the wide band , the " crappy inaccurate narrowband signal" If your talking about the stock o2 is what the ECU uses to adjust the fuel trims and what you should also be using to get yours right as well

As for the .1 to .2 Dif in the before and after of the CAT a good tuner would know what the Diff is and allow for it in the tune , as rich as your going to be running that book of yours didnt tell you that the Focus CAT design will stop up and cause engine failure if used with the target AF you will have to be using , it has a very limited life with boost

Tom

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:23 PM   #8
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Not boosting yet.

I'm also NOT going straight by "my book", I bought the book as a reference not as a teacher. I learn form many sources, your past posts included. It takes a lot to put all of the information available together and on top of that I learn something new every day that I can apply to my tune.

So tomorrow I guess by your advice I will just throw it together and assume some sort of lambda difference after my cat, hopefully it goes into OL when I tell it to at higher TP...

Everyone starts somewhere Tom you gotta realize that we cant all be you on day 1


and for the record i'm not tuning a/f directly with the wideband im tuning the MTF (which as a result tunes a/f). Setting a lambda in the base table and forcing open loop then comparing the wideband output to the base table.... then apply changes to the MTF... that's tuning 101 for 99% of cars on the road that use MAF's and as far as I remember you yourself recommended we should do it that way in antoher thread... I can dig it up if you want.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:30 PM   #9
gokart2
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31234
Location: Fowlerville, MI
What I Drive: 2006 Silver ST w/SAP#1

Posts: 1,078
FF Reputation: 14 gokart2 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fueling is based off the mass air flow reading, and the conrol hego readings from what i remember. Correct?
__________________
ST Crew #90
My wife---><----Me
gokart2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:32 PM   #10
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
I'm not going to answer that since apparnetly I know absofrikenloutely nothing about tuning
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Driver's door wont open island_boy49 General Technical Chat 10 04-23-2008 07:13 PM
SVT ECU removal help ExitLeft SVT Performance (2002-2004) 6 03-29-2006 07:20 PM
Xcal 2 And ECU Code djmtrain SVT Performance (2002-2004) 3 03-08-2006 06:10 PM
Trunk won't open. King_of_squirrels General Technical Chat 2 02-04-2006 05:36 PM
Passenger Door Wont Open From Outside ouikikazz General Technical Chat 0 10-22-2005 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.