cluster swap info - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2009, 07:43 PM   #1
mantoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Fan#: 53223
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '07 C9 zx3

Posts: 219
FF Reputation: 1 mantoe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Question cluster swap info

I have a '07 zx3 and i'm getting an '07 cluster with a tach for my car and i know some of you have done this already so, after i make the swap do i have to do anything as far as upgrading the memory of my car or anything else. would really appreciate some feed back thanks


mantoe is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2009, 08:00 PM   #2
faster_than_u
anti svt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Fan#: 41017
Location: hell., United States
What I Drive: focus

Posts: 2,731
FF Reputation: 12 faster_than_u Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
you dont have to do anything to the car. the milage is stored in the cluster itself so it will read whatever is on the new cluster.
__________________
ZC#200
faster_than_u is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2009, 08:06 PM   #3
focusboy5
Focus Fanatic
 
focusboy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50002
Location: Wichita, Kansas, United States
What I Drive: Four Wheels

Posts: 2,859
Points 8,173, Level 61
Points: 8,173, Level: 61 Points: 8,173, Level: 61 Points: 8,173, Level: 61
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 31 focusboy5 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Yea it is simple plug and play. You will just want to find a cluster with as close to the same milage.
focusboy5 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2009, 08:15 PM   #4
mantoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Fan#: 53223
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '07 C9 zx3

Posts: 219
FF Reputation: 1 mantoe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
ok thanks because someone told me that when i put it in there might be some light on in error and i might have to get it updated.
mantoe is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2009, 08:50 PM   #5
FX4BAJA
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49285
Location: none, Not Listed
What I Drive: SKATEBOARD

Posts: 656
FF Reputation: 10 FX4BAJA Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantoe View Post
ok thanks because someone told me that when i put it in there might be some light on in error and i might have to get it updated.
If you get a used cluster that came from a car with a auto trans and install it in a focus that has a manual trans the brake light will stay on.There may be some other lights that stay on are want work at all depending on if one car had options the other didnt.The dealer can flash the info from your current cluster to the replacement to fix all that except for incorrect mileage reading are you can remove the cluster face and tape over the lights so they want stay on all the time.The speedo,tach,fuel and temp gauges will work regardless plug and play.
FX4BAJA is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2009, 12:30 AM   #6
faster_than_u
anti svt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Fan#: 41017
Location: hell., United States
What I Drive: focus

Posts: 2,731
FF Reputation: 12 faster_than_u Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
someone posted awhile ago that for the dealer to do a flash its something like 500 $$
__________________
ZC#200
faster_than_u is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2009, 12:54 AM   #7
norcalfocus01
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55603
Location: Manteca, Nor*Cal!, United States
What I Drive: White N Gold 2001 Sedan

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 132 norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
^^^sounds about right. idk about the auto to manueal with the brake light. that make no sence to me at all. why would what type of tranny you have make a defferance on the brake light?

i have a 01 and the swap ws plug n play with no lights or anything going off. what i did was right down your current milage and when you plug the new one in write that down too. now you can keep track of the milage on your car.
norcalfocus01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2009, 01:39 AM   #8
FX4BAJA
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49285
Location: none, Not Listed
What I Drive: SKATEBOARD

Posts: 656
FF Reputation: 10 FX4BAJA Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
I tried two different clusters from automatic cars and the brake light stayed lit on both.I put a cluster in from a manual trans ST and it works perfect so it must make a difference.
FX4BAJA is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2009, 06:24 AM   #9
mantoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Fan#: 53223
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '07 C9 zx3

Posts: 219
FF Reputation: 1 mantoe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
that is some important info because now i'll have to ask if the cluster they have is auto or man. thanks again guys, i know i could always count on you guys.
mantoe is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2009, 01:19 PM   #10
andrewjay84
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61141
Location: N/A, WI
What I Drive: 2012 RAM 1500 Sport

Posts: 259
FF Reputation: 6 andrewjay84 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
i would relate it to whether or not the vehicle had abs for the brake light to be on instead of the tranny. weird. traction control is another light that will light up if your car doesnt have it and the cluster does. but do the tape thing if you have any lights, takes 5 minutes. dealer would charge at least 40.
andrewjay84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My SVT Brake Swap (w/Rear Discs) is Done! l88m22vette Brakes, Suspension & Body Chassis 17 07-27-2007 09:35 AM
Instrument Cluster Swap saves th3 day SPI Performance (2000-2004) 24 11-16-2006 08:51 PM
Need Info On Trans Swap focusrcng7 ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 11 06-14-2005 12:43 AM
Looking for info on a engine swap tzedek General Technical Chat 6 03-21-2005 08:50 AM
instrument cluster swap toms'04se General Technical Chat 4 03-14-2005 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat