Autometer Wideband Datalogger wiring ? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 03:20 AM   #1
BMARTIN03ZX3
Focus Addict
 
BMARTIN03ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 23931
Location: Everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004, Infra-red EAP SVT Turbo

Posts: 1,036
FF Reputation: 2 BMARTIN03ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Autometer Wideband Datalogger wiring ?

I searched the SCT forums and can't get a straight answer. Do do I wire up the data logging inputs from my autometer wideband to the 9-pin mini-din connector? Is it wired up the same as a Innovative wideband, and also which wires go to which pins? Thank for the help in advance.


__________________
Auto-X enthusiast.
Turbo build being tuned as we speak
BMARTIN03ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2009, 06:35 AM   #2
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing MemberBlivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMARTIN03ZX3 View Post
I searched the SCT forums and can't get a straight answer. Do do I wire up the data logging inputs from my autometer wideband to the 9-pin mini-din connector? Is it wired up the same as a Innovative wideband, and also which wires go to which pins? Thank for the help in advance.
You connect the OUTPUTS of your autometer to the INPUTS which would be on the 9 pin cable (you do have an X2 correct? The X3 uses a different cable)

The autometer should have 1-2 signal wires and then 1 or more grounds. Connect all of the grounds together then connect to one of the ground pins of the 9 pin cable. Connect the signal from the autometer to one of the signal pins of the 9 pin. The pin out should have come with the cable if you bought it from us. If not, you may need to pin it out yourself.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:13 PM   #3
BMARTIN03ZX3
Focus Addict
 
BMARTIN03ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 23931
Location: Everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004, Infra-red EAP SVT Turbo

Posts: 1,036
FF Reputation: 2 BMARTIN03ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
I do have the xcal 2. So the pins that come out of the wideband are blue wire + signal input and blue/black - signal input and so do i wire them into the xcal and make a ground from the connector to chassis? A diagram of some sort would be nice thanks.
__________________
Auto-X enthusiast.
Turbo build being tuned as we speak
BMARTIN03ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:43 PM   #4
Wagamos
Stock
 
Wagamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 21396
Location: Hudsonville, MI
What I Drive: 2001 Malibu Blue ZX3; 03 ZX3 PZEV

Posts: 5,021
FF Reputation: 13 Wagamos Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I did a how to on wiring it up widebands, its just little different b/c yours is a 9 pin and mine is xcal3 so its 6pin. The wire colors might be a little different on yours too. It'll at least get you started. The wideband should have instructions/manual that tells you what your wires are for, my innovate did.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177202
__________________
Bone Stock
223whp/218wtq
Wagamos is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 12:12 AM   #5
BMARTIN03ZX3
Focus Addict
 
BMARTIN03ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 23931
Location: Everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004, Infra-red EAP SVT Turbo

Posts: 1,036
FF Reputation: 2 BMARTIN03ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wagamos View Post
I did a how to on wiring it up widebands, its just little different b/c yours is a 9 pin and mine is xcal3 so its 6pin. The wire colors might be a little different on yours too. It'll at least get you started. The wideband should have instructions/manual that tells you what your wires are for, my innovate did.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177202
Yes the Autometer has instructions that tell you what the wires go to http://www.autometer.com/download_instruction/1143.pdf
I wanna do this right cuz I don't want to fry something, and yours has 2 analog pins and mine only has 1 pin and two grounds but I don't know if the ble/black gets a pin ground or chassis ground. Thanks
__________________
Auto-X enthusiast.
Turbo build being tuned as we speak
BMARTIN03ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 06:44 AM   #6
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing MemberBlivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMARTIN03ZX3 View Post
Yes the Autometer has instructions that tell you what the wires go to http://www.autometer.com/download_instruction/1143.pdf
I wanna do this right cuz I don't want to fry something, and yours has 2 analog pins and mine only has 1 pin and two grounds but I don't know if the ble/black gets a pin ground or chassis ground. Thanks
It doesn't really matter on the ground; It is a 0-5v signal. Because it goes through the obdII port it is technically a chassis ground though.

Connect your two grounds from the autometer together then connect both to one of the grounds on the 9 pin. Connect your signal to one of the signal pins on the 9 pin and you are done.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 10:06 PM   #7
BMARTIN03ZX3
Focus Addict
 
BMARTIN03ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 23931
Location: Everett, WA
What I Drive: 2004, Infra-red EAP SVT Turbo

Posts: 1,036
FF Reputation: 2 BMARTIN03ZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
LOL OK. Sounds simple when you put it that way everything I've read has been more technical for some reason. Thanks.
__________________
Auto-X enthusiast.
Turbo build being tuned as we speak
BMARTIN03ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:28 PM   #8
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
more info on Autometer wideband -> XCAL2 here
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=207339
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:16 AM   #9
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Definitely be careful which pins youre using on the 9-pin, friend of mine fried my wideband by putting it in the 12V LCD power source that "never materialized" but for some reason still puts out 12V

If you look at the top of the x2 with the screen facing you, the correct pins are all the rightmost of each row. top right is ground, middle right is analog 1, bottom right is analog 2. So just match those up to your cable, use an ohmmeter to figure out which wires those are, and hook it up.


edit, or look at this fancy pic. FINALLY someone else posted one on the web, lol. The one correct pic on the SCT forum is hard to find, and there is an incorrect one in the sticky!

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need wiring help...European sedan tails. loudfocus01 MK1 Focus 21 07-18-2008 03:46 PM
Stock Gauge Replacement with Aftermarket Gauges!! (wiring gurus please!) honhon MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 114 04-10-2008 09:17 AM
Need Wiring Loom/ECU Advice! the_rainman ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 0 06-06-2007 11:10 PM
autometer tach wiring Question Stolle MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 0 08-12-2006 12:27 AM
wiring guide needed help sskable Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 1 01-07-2006 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.