Instrument cluster ?'s - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Discussions > Ford Focus & General Car Chat

Ford Focus & General Car Chat Discussion Forum relating to nonspecific Ford Focus models, car purchasing, auto industry news and any car talk.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 06:11 PM   #1
wesleyn
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62141
Location: Indiana, IN
What I Drive: 2004 Gray SE Sedan

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 wesleyn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Instrument cluster ?'s

Hey all. I have an 04 Ford Focus SE sedan that had an instrument cluster that is going bad. I have random lights on, that blink and flicker, but no codes are thrown. Also, the gas guage is off in it. I heared that there are issues with these. Are there? My question is this...Can I use a cluster that has a tachometer when my current one does not? Also, in my mustang, I was able to swap the control board to the new cluster and my mileage and passlock setting went with to the new cluster. Is this the same for the Focus? I have searched, but am not finding the specific answers I am looking for. Thanks in advance guys!


wesleyn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2009, 11:53 PM   #2
Feral
Focus Addict
 
Feral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58350
Location: G-Town, Ontario (Canada), Canada
What I Drive: 1 2002 / 2 2001 Wagons

Posts: 1,199
FF Reputation: 53 Feral Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
im sure any cluster will work but there is a known issue with the connectors on these clusters getting loose before you up and replace your cluster remove the cluster and unplug it (theres a little black lever that in the down position pop that up carefully ( don;t pry it you may break one of the pegs that lock it in) and lever it in and out a few times there maybe oxidization on the pins aswell as mentioned they do come loose on there own

my cluster had the SAME symptoms and it turned out to be just a loose connector

as for the control board the WHOLE board is the control board this board controls absolutly everything from the lights to the gauges

yes you can install a cluster with a tach no problem all the focuses are prewired for the tachs, even the tachless cluster has the tach wired in

as for the mileage thats locked in an encrypted chip and cannot be transplanted between the boards unless you remove all the surface mount chips and relocate to the new board.. problem is if you do the tach gauge may not work... best bet of your swapping clusters find one with close mileage and document the mileage of the old and the mileage of the new so it can be tracked
__________________
Wagon Partout - http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=212282

My Wagon Rebuild - http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=217009
Feral is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 12:23 AM   #3
WRCwannabe
Wings & Teeth
 
WRCwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48696
Location: Arlington, TX, United States
What I Drive: a wide svt

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 7 WRCwannabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
wheres this control board at?

my CEL is supposed to be on, and it doesnt work.
(wont light up at all, even when battery is on)

i need to get this fixed to get my inspection sticker
__________________
Wings & Teeth
Whatever I say is royal ocean
("I'm U.S. with a little bit of U.K. swagger" )
Jeremy Clarkson on the MK1 Focus RS "The reason it was so quick round our track is simple: this car handles like it's in a cartoon."
WRCwannabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument cluster Dealer Test Mode dustinkimble General Technical Chat 27 08-23-2014 02:53 AM
How To: 2005 Instrument Cluster Removal BiggTigger78 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 20 06-30-2014 12:05 PM
Want to buy tach / need help with tach cookiemonster52 DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 19 08-23-2013 02:27 PM
Instrument cluster swap whirlwind MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 14 05-05-2004 11:39 PM
Instrument Cluster Swap hendu33 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 6 09-10-2003 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.