New Rear Strut Bar Option! BRP - Page 8 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2008, 05:21 PM   #71
NemesisEnforcer
Force-Powered Focus
 
NemesisEnforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48598
Location: New England, Afghanistan
What I Drive: LIQUID GRAY 2005 ST

Posts: 6,874
FF Reputation: 352 NemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
just sent u the money.
__________________
GIVE DUE REP!! ST Crew #78 /Duratec Crew #91
Go Pats!! Go Green!! Go Sox!! Go B's!
Seeker of Wisdom, LG Crew #1
Resident Sith Lord & Jedi Master, MMA
Thx to those in the military.
NemesisEnforcer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 07:35 PM   #72
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,094
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I hate to bring an old thread back up but today I installed my top strut tower brace and decided to take the FOFO down a windy mountain road to test out my sway bars and suspension .
I got to the bottom of the mountain turned around and started back up it an heard a pop and I thought no big deal got up the mountain a little further and it started popping louder . I got to the top of the mountain pulled over out of the way and got under the rear of the car and was looking for something and all of the sudden I noticed that my bushing's had popped out of the sway bar c clamps ..(Some that I had to open up wider to make them fit )
I ordered a set of Ford C Clamps to replace those that I stretched open to make fit and now the FACTORY C Clamps will not line up with the holes on the aftermarket brackets .

Me and Lolly from the gump crew messed with it for almost an hour trying to get it back together and we finally gave up as to nothing would work....

I have the aftermarket brackets that go around the frame and then a plate and then the bushing and then the factory C clamp that goes over it ...

Any suggestions on what I should do about this ?
I was planning on drilling another hole in the aftermarket brackets in hopes it would line up but I'm not gonna have enough room to get a bolt or anything in it .
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 07:40 PM   #73
focusboy5
Focus Fanatic
 
focusboy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50002
Location: Wichita, Kansas, United States
What I Drive: Four Wheels

Posts: 2,859
FF Reputation: 31 focusboy5 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
You should just make a new thread...Do you even have a rear brp strut bar?
focusboy5 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 09:47 PM   #74
NemesisEnforcer
Force-Powered Focus
 
NemesisEnforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48598
Location: New England, Afghanistan
What I Drive: LIQUID GRAY 2005 ST

Posts: 6,874
FF Reputation: 352 NemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
so slayer, are you saying your brp bar caused your sway bar to come apart?
__________________
GIVE DUE REP!! ST Crew #78 /Duratec Crew #91
Go Pats!! Go Green!! Go Sox!! Go B's!
Seeker of Wisdom, LG Crew #1
Resident Sith Lord & Jedi Master, MMA
Thx to those in the military.
NemesisEnforcer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 10:33 AM   #75
OandAWOW
Focus Addict
 
OandAWOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 8384
Location: Doylestown, PA
What I Drive: 2013 Tangerine Scream ST

Posts: 921
FF Reputation: 14 OandAWOW Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I think he is confusing the strut bar with the sway bar. Sounds like a problem that needs a new thread.
__________________
04 Pitch Black ZX5 Sold 4/22/13|RT Tuning - Lansdale, PA|JSC Speed - Doylestown, PA
OandAWOW is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:21 AM   #76
pistolgripbmx
Focus Fanatic
 
pistolgripbmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49331
Location: Lorain, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 86 ranger, 2007 focus zx3 s

Posts: 1,928
FF Reputation: 38 pistolgripbmx Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FocusedSlayer View Post
I hate to bring an old thread back up but today I installed my top strut tower brace and decided to take the FOFO down a windy mountain road to test out my sway bars and suspension .
I got to the bottom of the mountain turned around and started back up it an heard a pop and I thought no big deal got up the mountain a little further and it started popping louder . I got to the top of the mountain pulled over out of the way and got under the rear of the car and was looking for something and all of the sudden I noticed that my bushing's had popped out of the sway bar c clamps ..(Some that I had to open up wider to make them fit )
I ordered a set of Ford C Clamps to replace those that I stretched open to make fit and now the FACTORY C Clamps will not line up with the holes on the aftermarket brackets .

Me and Lolly from the gump crew messed with it for almost an hour trying to get it back together and we finally gave up as to nothing would work....

I have the aftermarket brackets that go around the frame and then a plate and then the bushing and then the factory C clamp that goes over it ...

Any suggestions on what I should do about this ?
I was planning on drilling another hole in the aftermarket brackets in hopes it would line up but I'm not gonna have enough room to get a bolt or anything in it .
Pretty much, those brackets suck. Mine have been poppin and cracking since I put them in. I'm taking them out in the spring until I get a sub-frame with mounts already in place. Unless you can weld the plates to the frame don't expect the popping to go away.

How long have you had the retro-fit kit on?


Edit: If you're set on keeping it the way it is, you can buy some energy suspension poly bushings, they sell some with a c-bracket with slots. They fit better than the stock ford c-clamps
__________________
teamduratec #143!
focus sport cool-flo, f2 v.3 header, trubendz 2.5 SS, frpp 1.5" front sportline rear, vf rear engine mount, 93oct Focus Power tune
pistolgripbmx is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 12:06 PM   #77
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,094
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pistolgripbmx View Post
Pretty much, those brackets suck. Mine have been poppin and cracking since I put them in. I'm taking them out in the spring until I get a sub-frame with mounts already in place. Unless you can weld the plates to the frame don't expect the popping to go away.

How long have you had the retro-fit kit on?


Edit: If you're set on keeping it the way it is, you can buy some energy suspension poly bushings, they sell some with a c-bracket with slots. They fit better than the stock ford c-clamps
I've had it on a few months but I had to stretch out an old pair of oem Ford C clamp brackets that fit over the bushing to fit the after market bracket. I just looked at Steeda where I got the aftermarket bracket at and their rear sway bar comes with a different set of c clamp brackets so I'm calling them tomorrow and see if I can get a set of those .

thanks for everyone's help here
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 12:10 PM   #78
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,094
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OandAWOW View Post
I think he is confusing the strut bar with the sway bar. Sounds like a problem that needs a new thread.
No buddy sorry for the confusion going on here , I installed my tower strut brace and me and Lolly wanted to take the FOFO down some windy mountain roads to test my suspension and sway bars out .. And coming back up I had popped the bushing's out of the oem stretched Ford mounts for my rear sway bar that I was using with an after market mounting bracket for my rear sway bar ...
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 01:32 PM   #79
NemesisEnforcer
Force-Powered Focus
 
NemesisEnforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48598
Location: New England, Afghanistan
What I Drive: LIQUID GRAY 2005 ST

Posts: 6,874
FF Reputation: 352 NemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
so then the rear bar had nothing to do with the situation, right?
__________________
GIVE DUE REP!! ST Crew #78 /Duratec Crew #91
Go Pats!! Go Green!! Go Sox!! Go B's!
Seeker of Wisdom, LG Crew #1
Resident Sith Lord & Jedi Master, MMA
Thx to those in the military.
NemesisEnforcer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 07:09 AM   #80
HaveBlue83
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1358
Location: Southeast, PA
What I Drive: a car

Posts: 9,476
FF Reputation: 70 HaveBlue83 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
yeah, this kind of confusion is never good. You had used oem stuff and an aftermarket bar and mix-matched and then everyone on here is gonna think the bar made theis happen by the way you said it.

I don't think this bar would have that effect on a proper setup.

I will know after I get mine on next month.
HaveBlue83 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BRP Rear Strut bar (got another) Roushturboedzx3 Archive 7 08-03-2008 08:34 PM
front sway bar, strut tower brace, stress bars...huh?! stoopidsteve87 Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack 3 10-19-2007 04:43 PM
New Volkswagen Rabbit!! nomoreavril Ford Focus & General Car Chat 30 06-29-2006 11:55 AM
rear strut bar ???? focuskid5456 Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack 6 04-13-2005 07:33 PM
Rear strut Bar FOCUSHERE Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack 3 04-02-2005 08:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.