How-To Datalog Wideband On XCAL 3 - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 07:24 PM   #21
HaveBlue83
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1358
Location: Southeast, PA
What I Drive: a car

Posts: 9,476
FF Reputation: 70 HaveBlue83 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
just try till you get a reading. thats all u can do. it's a fun lil process.

look up the glowshift specs and see if it has an analog output. If it does start hooking up wires
HaveBlue83 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2010, 08:27 PM   #22
xy0s08
Focus Addict
 
xy0s08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65298
Location: United States of Surveillance, KS
What I Drive: 00 ZX3 Kona, 00 ZX3, 04 SVTF

Posts: 587
Points 4,386, Level 42
Points: 4,386, Level: 42 Points: 4,386, Level: 42 Points: 4,386, Level: 42
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 7 xy0s08 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
okay well the only problem that i run into is that these are the choices of wires i have because it only has 4.
red wire to a constant positive 12 volt (+) source.
Connect the white wire to a switched positive 12 volt (+) source (ex. ignition switch). Connect the black wire to an engine ground source (-).
The orange wire is an optional dimmer control wire that dims 30% in brightness when supplied with a positive 12 volt (+) source (ex headlamps).

So there for none of them are an output just all power sources.
xy0s08 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 08:32 PM   #23
HaveBlue83
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1358
Location: Southeast, PA
What I Drive: a car

Posts: 9,476
FF Reputation: 70 HaveBlue83 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
then no, you cannot datalog with that one.

AEM UEGO for the win.....
HaveBlue83 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 08:36 PM   #24
xy0s08
Focus Addict
 
xy0s08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65298
Location: United States of Surveillance, KS
What I Drive: 00 ZX3 Kona, 00 ZX3, 04 SVTF

Posts: 587
Points 4,386, Level 42
Points: 4,386, Level: 42 Points: 4,386, Level: 42 Points: 4,386, Level: 42
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 7 xy0s08 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
damnit that sucks!!!!
xy0s08 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 08:58 PM   #25
kjsoccerdude
Too old for this...
 
kjsoccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61490
Location: Mankato, MN
What I Drive: 2004 Silver Mazda6 S

Posts: 2,253
FF Reputation: 9 kjsoccerdude Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
So wait a tick. To datalog at all with a Wideband you have to hack into the wires and reconnect some of them? It's not just plug and play? That kinda sucks. But glad this thread is here to show how to do it.
__________________
2004 Silver Mazda6 S
kjsoccerdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 09:01 PM   #26
bmylez
Focus Fanatic
 
bmylez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Fan#: 64637
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2003 350Z Track

Posts: 3,450
FF Reputation: 23 bmylez Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
No. All widebands come with an Analog output that is unconnected. There is no hacking into it.

What requires hacking is a Firewire cable if you have an X3 or a 9-pin mini DIN cable if you have an X2.
__________________
1992 Eagle Talon TSi - sold (POS)
2002 Mustang GT - sold
2002 SVTF - sold
2008.5 Mazdaspeed3 GT - cursed
2003 350Z Track - basically stock, and it runs
bmylez is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 09:17 PM   #27
kjsoccerdude
Too old for this...
 
kjsoccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61490
Location: Mankato, MN
What I Drive: 2004 Silver Mazda6 S

Posts: 2,253
FF Reputation: 9 kjsoccerdude Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
So if I'll be using an AEM wideband and an XCAL 3 with whatever they come with new will I need to hack it at all or just plug and play?
__________________
2004 Silver Mazda6 S
kjsoccerdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 10:09 PM   #28
bmylez
Focus Fanatic
 
bmylez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Fan#: 64637
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2003 350Z Track

Posts: 3,450
FF Reputation: 23 bmylez Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I didn't say it was plug n' play. I said you don't have to hack up the wideband. The AEM wideband will have a white wire that is sticking out of the wire loom, ready to be connected to a cut up Firewire. If you get an Apple Firewire, for example, look up the pinout for an input wire and ground. Hook the input wire up to the white AEM wire and hook the ground up to...well, ground.

Then datalog away! Oh, and remember to select the correct analog equation for the AEM. It's under the "Commands" menu in the Livewire software.
__________________
1992 Eagle Talon TSi - sold (POS)
2002 Mustang GT - sold
2002 SVTF - sold
2008.5 Mazdaspeed3 GT - cursed
2003 350Z Track - basically stock, and it runs
bmylez is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 10:19 PM   #29
kjsoccerdude
Too old for this...
 
kjsoccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61490
Location: Mankato, MN
What I Drive: 2004 Silver Mazda6 S

Posts: 2,253
FF Reputation: 9 kjsoccerdude Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
Ok, so I'll be buying an Apple Firewire and that's what I'll be hacking up. (No objection from me hacking up and Apple product haha jk.) Thanks for the answers.
__________________
2004 Silver Mazda6 S
kjsoccerdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2011, 02:34 AM   #30
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,379
Points 11,745, Level 71
Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
The wideband is one unit, the datalogger/tunner is another unit.

You hack a cable to tie the 2 together so you can log 1 file that combines all the data the datalogger/tunner logs with the wideband.

The datalogger already records ALOT of stuff the wideband just makes it that much more precise to tune with.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCT Strategy flash vs xcal 2/3 R3d_RovrZX3 ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 0 01-13-2008 08:15 PM
SCT XCal I vs. SCT XCal II Josh912 SPI Performance (2000-2004) 1 08-24-2007 04:37 PM
SVT XCAL 2 question- Extracting a tune onto your PC itbparada General Forced Induction 3 06-06-2007 03:03 AM
Sct Xcal Socal SVT SVT Performance (2002-2004) 11 04-03-2007 10:15 PM
For Sale: Hypnotics Tuned XCal II *SOLD* Charged SVTF Archive 15 08-03-2006 10:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat