2001 Instrument Cluster swap - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2008, 05:19 PM   #1
kmv2
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59782
Location: Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Amazon Green SE

Posts: 21
FF Reputation: 1 kmv2 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2001 Instrument Cluster swap

Hey, just bought my first FORD PRODUCT (I've been a GM fanboi for like 10 years). 2001 SE Focus sedan.

Now I used the search function and read about gauge cluster swapping, and seems straightforward. I have done them before on other cars, but only with analogue odometers.

This Focus has a digital one, so I thought if I swap my non-tach cluster for a tach cluster that the odometer reading would stay the same.

Why would it not? Is the data stored in the cluster itself, and not in the cars ECU? If I get a tach cluster and put it in, is there anyway to reset my mileage to what it should be? With the digital output, I assume there must be some kind of way to do it.

Sorry if I couldn't find this answer on forum search, but I tried many different terms.

Oh, and are they the same for Automatic/manual trans?


kmv2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2008, 06:13 PM   #2
captcurt_18
Freeskiing Fanatic!
 
captcurt_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49565
Location: Missoula, MT
What I Drive: 2005 Light Tundra ZX4

Posts: 5,455
FF Reputation: 26 captcurt_18 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
The data is stored in the cluster. You cold get the cluster reprogrammed, but thats pretty spendy (like +/-$300.) Most people who do a cluster swap buy a cluster with a bit more miles on it than on their cluster, so when they reach that mileage, they just swap them, and keep going.
__________________
2005 Light Tundra ZX4 2002 BMW 325xi
Sedan Revolution Member #120
University of Montana
Photoshop Guru! PM me if you need something chopped up
Give me rep if im helpful!
captcurt_18 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument cluster Dealer Test Mode dustinkimble General Technical Chat 27 08-23-2014 02:53 AM
Cluster swap question saves th3 day MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 9 04-12-2007 08:47 AM
instrument cluster swap GreyMatter General Technical Chat 2 03-04-2007 11:50 PM
can you sync an instrument cluster yourself? bo_bert25 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 14 11-13-2003 02:06 PM
Instrument Cluster Swap hendu33 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 6 09-10-2003 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.