MAF tube - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2008, 02:41 PM   #1
focusR
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 41818
Location: kitchener
Posts: 9
FF Reputation: 1 focusR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
MAF tube

quick question. I am building my own intake for my 07 2.0 duratech.I am wanting to change all the plumbing to 3'' but i am wondering, will that screw up the MAF readings. Should i just leave the MAF tube as is or will i be ok incorperating the sensor into a 3'' tube. thanks for the help in advance.


focusR is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2008, 03:06 PM   #2
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,497
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
keep the stock MAF tube... if you put the maf inside a larger INside diameter tube than stock, it'll run lean, because the MAF doesnt see the extra air thats passing it.
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 03:22 PM   #3
07FocusST
Focus Addict
 
07FocusST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49661
Location: Bremerton, WA
What I Drive: 2007 Focus ST

Posts: 798
FF Reputation: 2 07FocusST Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I made my own CIA and just cut the ends of my MAF housing to make it work
__________________
Turbo ST (Soon Again)
Boosted Crew Member #115
SAP Crew Member #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypnoticracing View Post
foci's came without rear brakes? i guess mine is special with its drums
07FocusST is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 03:42 PM   #4
focusboy5
Focus Fanatic
 
focusboy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50002
Location: Wichita, Kansas, United States
What I Drive: Four Wheels

Posts: 2,859
FF Reputation: 31 focusboy5 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Yea like honhon said leave the stock tube. If you use a bigger diameter tube, it will allow unmetered air go into engine, and that is no good.
focusboy5 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 05:19 PM   #5
HTP Designer
Focus Addict
 
HTP Designer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Fan#: 34811
Location: Bridgewater, Ma, MA
What I Drive: '01 Ugly Betty, '06 Yel 2.5L RWD RS

Posts: 750
FF Reputation: 19 HTP Designer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by focusR View Post
quick question. I am building my own intake for my 07 2.0 duratech.I am wanting to change all the plumbing to 3'' but i am wondering, will that screw up the MAF readings. Should i just leave the MAF tube as is or will i be ok incorperating the sensor into a 3'' tube. thanks for the help in advance.
A 3" intake is your best option but the car will needed to be retuned after to get the maf reading the correct amount of air. We are working on this right now and should be going to the dyno with in the next couple of weeks to check on our progress.

We do have 3" maf tubes in stock for the duratec right now if would like to go the route mentioned above. Click the link below to check them out.

HTPerformance.net
HTP Designer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:53 PM   #6
warneej
BodyKits=PantiesDrop
 
warneej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20372
Location: Bradenton, FL
What I Drive: 04 ZX3 D23E-10SES Sedan-12 Ti Hatch

Posts: 13,167
FF Reputation: 200 warneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
^^even if you buy that tube it will need to be tuned to work properly

when i made my own custom CAI i kept the stock MAF tube, you will have to as well
__________________
Disciple of the "Push harder, suck less" school of autocross.

173.4whp
gump
crew #6
warneej is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:51 PM   #7
NemesisEnforcer
Force-Powered Focus
 
NemesisEnforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48598
Location: New England, Afghanistan
What I Drive: LIQUID GRAY 2005 ST

Posts: 6,874
FF Reputation: 352 NemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
u need to keep the stock maf tue, or get it retuned. thats all there is to it. u can buy whatever tube u want, but it needs to be tuned for that, or u will not run right.
__________________
GIVE DUE REP!! ST Crew #78 /Duratec Crew #91
Go Pats!! Go Green!! Go Sox!! Go B's!
Seeker of Wisdom, LG Crew #1
Resident Sith Lord & Jedi Master, MMA
Thx to those in the military.
NemesisEnforcer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 02:14 PM   #8
hatchesrock1989
Focus Addict
 
hatchesrock1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57449
Location: MIami
What I Drive: 2007 ford focus zx3 2.0L all white

Posts: 773
FF Reputation: 6 hatchesrock1989 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
my intake from hps is 3inch but keeps the stock maf housing if not would be to much air passing through and you would need a tune becuase the car would not know what to do with the extra air
also ? for the mechnically intelligent people lol
i installed the hps intake and now i noticed that when i hit the gas fast sound like a little whistle for a split second of what sound to be air like only when i step on it or press the gas faster than usual also i got a check engine light now i think the air sensor moved or something what can this be car runs great
__________________
Stangtune Peformance Lighting:
We are currently selling H.I.D Kits covered with a Lifetime Warranty 100$ shipped !!
Satisfaction Guaranteed !!
Check us Out in the Vendor Group Buys and Specials Contact Us: 305 877-2063
Jonathan
hatchesrock1989 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 05:35 PM   #9
NemesisEnforcer
Force-Powered Focus
 
NemesisEnforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48598
Location: New England, Afghanistan
What I Drive: LIQUID GRAY 2005 ST

Posts: 6,874
FF Reputation: 352 NemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing MemberNemesisEnforcer Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
make sure u unplug the battery to reset the ecu, but also, that whistle is normal. i dont know y u have a cel tho.
__________________
GIVE DUE REP!! ST Crew #78 /Duratec Crew #91
Go Pats!! Go Green!! Go Sox!! Go B's!
Seeker of Wisdom, LG Crew #1
Resident Sith Lord & Jedi Master, MMA
Thx to those in the military.
NemesisEnforcer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 05:42 PM   #10
dirtbkr100
Focus Enthusiast
 
dirtbkr100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Fan#: 53435
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
What I Drive: Black '05 ZX4 ST-TURBO

Posts: 174
FF Reputation: 7 dirtbkr100 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchesrock1989 View Post
my intake from hps is 3inch but keeps the stock maf housing if not would be to much air passing through and you would need a tune becuase the car would not know what to do with the extra air
also ? for the mechnically intelligent people lol
i installed the hps intake and now i noticed that when i hit the gas fast sound like a little whistle for a split second of what sound to be air like only when i step on it or press the gas faster than usual also i got a check engine light now i think the air sensor moved or something what can this be car runs great
yea mine whistles also. I'm pretty sure this is normal, and to be honest I really prefer it.

Lol as a side note hatches.....periods and punctuation help a TON
dirtbkr100 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will an 05-07 MAF tube fit an 08 MAF sensor? theWorst General Technical Chat 4 07-28-2008 11:59 AM
bigger maf tube.. long_sought DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 4 02-23-2008 06:23 AM
FS CAI, replace MAF tube? rednecklimo85 DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 6 01-20-2008 08:24 AM
WTB: Duratec MAF tube or Intake GearDriven Archive 3 04-14-2007 01:09 PM
WTB: Duratec MAF tube or Intake GearDriven Archive 1 04-05-2007 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.