will an 05-07 MAF tube fit an 08 MAF sensor? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2008, 10:52 AM   #1
theWorst
Focus Addict
 
theWorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 55690
Location: Hoodbridge, VA, United States
What I Drive: 2008 Edge SEL

Posts: 664
FF Reputation: 6 theWorst Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Exclamation will an 05-07 MAF tube fit an 08 MAF sensor?

will a 05-07 (or any duratec) MAF tube fit the 08 Maf sensor?


why?> the MAF sensor mount is connected to the stock air box... which would mean having to have one custom made if i want to make my own intake.. which defeats the purpose of trying to save money with a custom intake.. lol.

does anyone know.. do i need to take pics? ... ok.. i'll go take pics of the MAF after i get back from Quizno's..


__________________
why didn't anyone tell me turning off traction control gave me faster launches and better gas mileage...
theWorst is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2008, 03:18 PM   #2
theWorst
Focus Addict
 
theWorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 55690
Location: Hoodbridge, VA, United States
What I Drive: 2008 Edge SEL

Posts: 664
FF Reputation: 6 theWorst Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
arggh camera phone not working...

anybody want to chime in?

can you post a pic of any other duratec MAF tubes ?
__________________
why didn't anyone tell me turning off traction control gave me faster launches and better gas mileage...
theWorst is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 03:36 PM   #3
JRODSVT
Dragon Warrior
 
JRODSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15362
Location: West Frankfort, IL
What I Drive: 03 SVT ZX5

Posts: 308
FF Reputation: 97 JRODSVT Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
i thought the intake system on the 08's was different than the 06-07.

if that is true then I venture a no. without switching to the old setup completely.
__________________
J-RAWK!!!
FocusFests best of sound 2008
(Oo> (SVT) <oO)
o xxxxxxxxxxxx o
JRODSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 06:30 PM   #4
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,087
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
^^ And even then, you'd need to do more research to see if the signal and wiring are the same. If the wiring is different, even if it plugs in, you could end up grounding the lead from the ECU or sending higher voltage than normal through the data wire.

Then again, it could be configured the same way and just designed internally to compensate for the shorter distance from air cleaner to the TB.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:59 AM   #5
theWorst
Focus Addict
 
theWorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 55690
Location: Hoodbridge, VA, United States
What I Drive: 2008 Edge SEL

Posts: 664
FF Reputation: 6 theWorst Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the only thing i want is the tube to mount it in...

the FS and steeda CAI's for teh 05-07 keep it in stock location..

from pictures it looks like if i can just attach it to the rubber elbow on the 08 tb it'll be pretty much the same position.. might look awkward.. but i can live with that. so it'll be

TB<Rubber Elbow<08 MAF in an 07 MAF Tube< CAI ...................

i'm going to be using the stock '08 MAF... the only problem is the mounting tube is part of the air box. .. if the 05-07 tube mounds an '08 MAF.. i don't see an issue.. ID should be similar...
__________________
why didn't anyone tell me turning off traction control gave me faster launches and better gas mileage...
theWorst is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS 3" maf tube turbozetec Archive 9 04-12-2008 09:49 PM
MAF Sensor question... mwkaraf General Technical Chat 2 12-09-2007 05:48 PM
Pinpointing an O2 Sensor problem DerekNJND General Technical Chat 17 03-16-2007 10:07 AM
MAF sensor bracket Gothy SPI Performance (2000-2004) 3 05-26-2005 08:16 PM
how does the FS intake connect to the bottom of the MAF tube? all motor DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 7 09-13-2004 10:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.