Sun Hyper Ground Kit Installed - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Second Generation > DURATEC Performance (2008-2011)

DURATEC Performance (2008-2011) The place to chat about any Duratec 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 09:14 AM   #11
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,497
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
i can get free battery cable and shrink wrap at work, i need to make some cables so i can make my own ground kit... and it'll be all black so you cant see it lol

and brad, move that one cable underneath the fuse box, and the cable going to the TB, go underneath it, instead of on top.
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2008, 09:21 AM   #12
Buickboy
br/o/stang
 
Buickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Fan#: 28542
Location: Stratford, CT
What I Drive: 72 Skylark, '12 Mustang

Posts: 5,243
FF Reputation: 39 Buickboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
Cool idea, while i dont believe the HP gains from that website Im sure it helps with the drive by wire TB. Heard a ground wire does good things for mazda 3's.

3mpg does sound good though
__________________
==2012 Kona Blue Mustang V6==
==1995 Light Iris Neon Coupe==
==1972 Skylark==
Buickboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:38 AM   #13
PZEV20
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24512
Location: Nashua, NH
What I Drive: 2005 Sangria Red ZX5

Posts: 85
FF Reputation: 1 PZEV20 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This is similar to "The Big Three" often cited in ICE forums on several sites, and people swear by it.

http://www.focuscanada.net/forum/ind...showtopic=8122
PZEV20 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 11:58 AM   #14
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing MemberBradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by honhon View Post
i can get free battery cable and shrink wrap at work, i need to make some cables so i can make my own ground kit... and it'll be all black so you cant see it lol
I'm sure "battery cable" will suffice. But you'd really have to see and feel the cables in this kit to appreciate the difference between them and normal battery cable.

I'd really like to see someone else do this with normal battery cable on an '08. Then we could compare results and perhaps figure out if the cost of these cables is really worth it or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by honhon View Post
and brad, move that one cable underneath the fuse box, and the cable going to the TB, go underneath it, instead of on top.
You are a hard man to please. It's Father's day, can I have the day off (please).
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:37 PM   #15
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,497
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
just helpful info to make it a cleaner install lol...


and how do the cables feal? are they really flexible>? and soft?
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:31 PM   #16
bdnld4482
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46063
Location: St. Charles IL, IL
What I Drive: 2012 black focus titanium

Posts: 2,334
FF Reputation: 37 bdnld4482 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
so , let me get this right. the stock ground cables are crap? just replace the cables and the car overall performs much better. WOW i might just have to do some homework and do this one.
bdnld4482 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:48 PM   #17
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing MemberBradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by honhon View Post
just helpful info to make it a cleaner install lol...


and how do the cables feal? are they really flexible>? and soft?
Yes, they are extremely flexible. Wrap one in a circle and pick it up and it will just fall back straight again. There's no way I could have accomplished your first suggestion to run the cable under the Fuel Rail with regular cable. With these cables I was able to run the cable along the Fuel Rail, go under the end of the rail, up through the hole in the bolt mount and bolt it in place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdnld4482 View Post
so , let me get this right. the stock ground cables are crap? just replace the cables and the car overall performs much better. WOW i might just have to do some homework and do this one.
Yea, the stock ground cables are not the best quality you can find. Why would they be when they can save money on each and every car they produce. But more important, to me at least, is getting good grounds in more appropriate locations. In particular, the throttle body on the 08', which Ford does not ground. But any car should benefit from better and more grounds. It's just a fact of life with all the electronics controlling everything today that a more reliable path for the signals to follow can't help but improve things overall. Just my opinion, for whatever it's worth.

I'm not an automobile wiring expert by any means. I make my living with computers and there's no way I will use cheap cables for anything I'm doing with those. I've learned the hard way that quality can make all the difference.
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6

Last edited by Lil_RedZX3; 02-14-2009 at 09:35 PM.
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:42 PM   #18
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,497
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
the 2ought cable we have is like the cable you have, it basically has really fine copper inside of it... basically the more copper strands in it the more flexible it is...

i gotta swipe some supplies and do this... i did it before with my 05... i made a 2ought engine ground, and a 6gauge fuel rail and battery ground...

if you go to oznium.com and look under the wiring, you can purchase wire like you have, i believe they call it wet noodle wire or something...
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 11:23 PM   #19
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing MemberBradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yep, that sounds like it exactly. I posted this early but Sun describes their cable as 99.99% pure copper, with 1,477 strands and multi-layered shielding. Now I'm going to just take their word on that, I'm far to lazy to cut one open and count that high.

And that's how I compare them - to spaghetti noodles - cooked they're soft and flexible (Sun wire), uncooked they're hard and stiff (auto-parts store wire).

I'll definitely check out oznium.com, I'd like to get some more Sun wire but it's expensive in individual pieces (well the kit weren't cheap neither).
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:33 AM   #20
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,248
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
FYI, shielding on a ground wire does absolutely nothing, and is a 100% false statement. To "shield" a wire you have to have a way of grounding stray current (in the simplest of terms). Being it is a ground, where would you ground the shield to? Get my point.


The wire is very flexible for 3 reasons,
1. Jacket material, they are probably using Silicon for the jacket of the wire (just like a spark plug wire)
2. Strand count/diameter, the thinner the individual strand and the higher the count the more flexible the cable is
3. overall diameter, I'd guess its a 8AWG wire which in normal quality battery cable is still workable (though I always recommend welding cable over battery cable, high strand count and usually cheaper)




Brad,
Do me a favor. Go to a run that is about a foot long and measure the resistance in Ohms. Most likely if you test what you have and various other brands they will be fairly close, as in close enough to not register as different on a normal DVOM.

A good article on the different methods of making copper wire, http://www.monstercable.com/RobertHarley/ch11_p09.asp




Part of the reason these grounding kits work for some and don't for others is the locations they ground and the amperages near those locations.
As electrons move through the wire and the amperage is increased the electrons are forced to the edge of the wire, or inward for negative charges. With enough amperage they can ride the edge of the wire and cause interference with near by devices. A great example of this is when you drive under high wire power lines or near a power sub-station, you will get poor cell phone reception and radio reception. Basically with any electric charge there is some degree of magnetism, which if strong enough can disrupt nearby devices.
You can read more here,
http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu...elefie.html#c1 (and that site is a good bookmark to keep handy)
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Ground Kit Problem RedZx3 ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 11 07-06-2008 02:07 PM
installed ground wire kit... Spec3VR6 SVT Performance (2002-2004) 8 06-15-2008 11:29 PM
Installed my new dash kit tonight--what do you think? Campbell1971 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 19 05-27-2007 06:28 PM
ground clearance on kaminari lip kit greddyct MK1 Focus 4 11-09-2005 09:07 PM
LiteGlow 7 Color LED underbody kit installed Seashrimp MK1 Focus 4 07-13-2004 10:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.