Focus Key - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Discussions > Ford Focus & General Car Chat

Ford Focus & General Car Chat Discussion Forum relating to nonspecific Ford Focus models, car purchasing, auto industry news and any car talk.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 03-06-2008, 11:54 AM   #1
SVT_BMXer
Focus Fanatic

Fan#: 11226
What I Drive: 1991 BMW 318is

FF Reputation: 20 SVT_BMXer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Focus Key

I know this may sound like a complete noob question. But I need to get an extra key made for my car. When I first bought the car I went to have one made and the dealership told me it was $95 to have one made. Said it was a transponder key. Now I know they make keys like that but does a Focus really have one? The guy said if I had regular key made and used it in the ignition it would mess up the ECU. This sounds like alittle fishy to me but wanted to make sure before I get one made.

Current:1991 BMW 318is: Bilstein sports, H&R springs, TMS chip, UUC short shifter, dyna-max muffler
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-06-2008, 12:03 PM   #2
faster_than_u
anti svt

Fan#: 41017
What I Drive: focus

FF Reputation: 12 faster_than_u Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
your car wont start with a regular key. it has to have the pats chip in it and be programed
ZC#200
Old 03-06-2008, 12:05 PM   #3
blackSVT04
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 48184
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black SVT ZX3

FF Reputation: 1 blackSVT04 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)