2007 zx3 Tach Gauge Install - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > MK1 Focus > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2007, 03:27 AM   #1
bevelbibble
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 51943
Location: Pa
What I Drive: 2007 Silver ZX3

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 bevelbibble Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question 2007 zx3 Tach Gauge Install

hey everyone, first post on the forums so don't go too hard on me =P. Just recently bought a 2007 ZX3, (no badges, but it is a 3 door) completley bare bone stock. The car is awesome but the only problem I have with it right now is there is no Tach gauge =(. I can drive fine without it but it would be nice to see my rpm's. Ive read some of the sticky posts about it, but the majority of them are installs on '05's. I need to know what would be a good tach to purchase, compatible with my 07', and if i can get away with just a tach and avoid replacing the entire dash. Any information on installing would be great also, thanks.


bevelbibble is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2007, 09:48 AM   #2
scrammer
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Memberscrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
i wouldnt suggest you get an aftermarket Tach. they are not appealing compared to an OEM.
i would definetly do a swap instead. it will look much better. its not a hard install.

and btw, to FF.com!!
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:32 AM   #3
slickzx3
Focus Enthusiast
 
slickzx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 40686
Location: Irmo, SC
What I Drive: 2007 Ford mustang GT/CS

Posts: 403
FF Reputation: 5 slickzx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
think about it this way it will cost just as much to buy a new one from ford as long as YOU take apart and reinstall,and your car would sit there for aweek,and if you let them take it apart it will cost alot more,they are 260 new from the dealer with a tach,they will have to program the mileage,if you went with a tach install you would spend just as much on a tach and tachdriver,then you will have to cut into wires and drill into your dash, or u can look through a junk yard or ebay to find a 05 and up instrument cluster with tach,but the mileage will be different and you may have a brake light show up, any 05 to 07 tach cluster will fit your car,they are the same,
slickzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 11:54 AM   #4
BeeFzX3
Focus Addict
 
BeeFzX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 46655
Location: San Carlos, CA, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Focus ST

Posts: 1,191
FF Reputation: 40 BeeFzX3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickzx3 View Post
if you went with a tach install you would spend just as much on a tach and tachdriver

thats just not true. Tach is around $50 max, Tachdriver $60 max. Toatal with shipping $120.

Install time:~30min

Compared to getting one from ford, taking it apart/reprogramming. ($400 just for cluster with tach and reprograming)
You would have to take your cluster out, bring it to ford. Who knows how long it would take them to reprogram... Then they will add a record that the cluster was changed. Might cause problems when selling the car... If I see a record on CARFAX saying cluster was swapped, I wouldn't risk and buy that car.(but thats just me)
Or getting some other tach with miles on it. But again it could cause problems when selling the car...

My setup: Tach $40 shipped +tachdriver $60 Shipped $100.

If you decide to add tach as per How-to on this site let me know. I could send you some pics and info.
__________________
BeeFzX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 01:19 PM   #5
Buickboy
br/o/stang
 
Buickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Fan#: 28542
Location: Stratford, CT
What I Drive: 72 Skylark, '12 Mustang

Posts: 5,197
FF Reputation: 39 Buickboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
I had the same problem with my 07. Couldnt decide if I wanted an oem cluster or aftermarket tach. After a month or two of trying to find a cluster I went to summit and bought the ford racing tach driver and this tach:
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku

Install was pretty easy for a first timer like me and it works very well. Im really happy with this set-up!

BTW, there was no way in hell I was going to slap it on the dash (you have to drill two holes), so steering column worked out well. I can still see the temp gauge too.


__________________
==2012 Kona Blue Mustang V6==
==1995 Light Iris Neon Coupe==
==1972 Skylark==
Buickboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 01:00 AM   #6
Roland07
Focus Addict
 
Roland07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Fan#: 51147
Location: Littleton, CO
What I Drive: 2007 Pitch Black ZX3

Posts: 1,110
FF Reputation: 51 Roland07 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Don't do an aftermarket. It requires drilling, and looks tacky. The '05 OEM swap sticky applies to '07s too. I just swapped my stock tachless in my '07 ZX3 for a tach one from an '06 SES, wrecked at a yard. Total cost = $100. Find a notary to write you up an odometer statement; any notary will know what they're doing and it'll hold up in court.
__________________
Goal: To have as much fun building the car as I do driving it.
Phase: Drivetrain
L.O.T.H. #9
Roland07 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:25 AM   #7
Khanaar
Focus Addict
 
Khanaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 49147
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 Sangria Red Fusion S

Posts: 569
FF Reputation: 8 Khanaar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
aftermarket tachs look like absolute crap, they stick out like sore thumbs, like an aluminum wing on a green honda civic

best bet definately is an OEM tach, but 05-07 cars can only accept 05-07 clusters, i read that 00-04 tach clusters are totally different internally despite being the same housing
__________________
2010 Ford Fusion S 2.5l 4cyl 6MT
Khanaar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:35 PM   #8
Wodan23
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46243
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
What I Drive: 2005 Reflex Silver GTI

Posts: 401
FF Reputation: 42 Wodan23 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the dealr told me $600 for a new cluster after the reprogram! 300 for the cluster and another 300 for the reprogram so im looking for an aftermarket because there are no wrecked foci in any local junkyards anywhere!!!!
__________________
2006 Sonic Blue ZX4 SE 5-speed
Purchased at 4:20 PM on 4/20/07 :)
Wodan23 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:59 PM   #9
zx360
Sticker Whore
 
zx360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fan#: 32439
Location: Waukesha, WI
What I Drive: 2005 black zx3 ses

Posts: 18,598
FF Reputation: 44 zx360 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaar View Post
aftermarket tachs look like absolute crap, they stick out like sore thumbs, like an aluminum wing on a green honda civic

best bet definately is an OEM tach, but 05-07 cars can only accept 05-07 clusters, i read that 00-04 tach clusters are totally different internally despite being the same housing
whooo calm down on your aftermarket tach bashing... sometimes its what some people like, ive seen many tastefully done aftermarket tachs its just about placement and how its done... i agree just slapping it to the dash is kinda lame... but there are ways without replacing the cluster to do a tach and make it look good...
__________________
FocusFest 11' "Best in class" Oct'11 HOTM FITF'12 "Best Show & Shine" July 12 ROTM

instagram @360DSGNS
zx360 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 09:22 PM   #10
N3M3S1SFOCI
Focus Enthusiast
 
N3M3S1SFOCI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49684
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2007 Pitch Black ZX3 MTX-75

Posts: 216
FF Reputation: 1 N3M3S1SFOCI Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you decide to go the OEM route, follow these instructions. 05-07 are the same
__________________
Last of the Hatches #25
Team Duratec #116
N3M3S1SFOCI is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Belt Info Spanky6935 General Technical Chat 13 09-30-2011 10:54 PM
05 gauge cluster no tach swap to 04 with tach??? kiwanoron General Technical Chat 2 10-06-2005 12:22 PM
Gauge install?? FociFreak Ford Focus & General Car Chat 5 11-10-2004 10:20 AM
installing an aftermarket tach on manual zx3 richiejerzee4lfe ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 5 03-30-2004 09:18 AM
will ford install the mach hids on my car? 2001 zx3 CyByte MK1 Focus 0 11-27-2003 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.