ATX to MTX swap...gonna do it myself - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Engine & Transmission Swap

Engine & Transmission Swap The place to chat about any engine and transmission swap.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2007, 06:29 PM   #1
gold_zx3
Focus Addict
 
gold_zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 26015
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 2005 Black WRX Sport Wagon

Posts: 841
FF Reputation: 1 gold_zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
bump
anything i need to watch out for or have trouble with?


__________________
"Dude your bed is a car." "Yeah but it's a f[:)ing sweet car!"
gold_zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2007, 06:55 PM   #2
turboed00focuszx3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 17952
Location: Granby, CT
What I Drive: 2002 Pitch Black SVT

Posts: 77
FF Reputation: 1 turboed00focuszx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
I have most of the parts you will need to do this swap.
turboed00focuszx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 11:37 PM   #3
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
the hardest part about pulling the atx out is the driver side axle. look for my howto in the howto section, i think theres like 100 pics or so... very thorough... it was my first time taking a trans out, so if I can do it, you can too.

The hardest part about the swap is the wiring. Apparently its much much easier to just mod the one you have. And if you have an xcal2 you can use it to change you r ecu to a manul and not have to worry about PATS or dealing with Ford.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 02:50 PM   #4
gold_zx3
Focus Addict
 
gold_zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 26015
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 2005 Black WRX Sport Wagon

Posts: 841
FF Reputation: 1 gold_zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yeah, I just checked that how to out...good stuff! I've noticed that the difficulty of the wiring seems to be unanimous. What do I need to mod on the original wiring and what is PATS?
__________________
"Dude your bed is a car." "Yeah but it's a f[:)ing sweet car!"
gold_zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 02:56 PM   #5
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
PATS is the security system that doesnt allow the engine to start unless the correct transmitter is near the steering column. If you change to a manual ECU, you have to get it flashed toyour PATS keys. If you instead just use the xcal2 to change your current ECU, then you dont have to worry about PATS. I believe Ford cahrges $150 to change the PATS on your computer, so you might as well get an xcal for just a little bit more...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:47 PM   #6
Impaled
Raise the stakes
 
Impaled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46117
Location: Lake Worth, FL
What I Drive: 2001 ZX3, 1998 ZX2

Posts: 1,609
FF Reputation: 4 Impaled Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yeah screw that, don't change the ECU's. As far as wiring goes, all you need to do is splice the OSS to the VSS so your speedo will work. isn't THAT much of a big deal. If you think you've got the know how and capability to drop the tranny and get the new one in there then i'd say by all means go for the swap, the rest of it is just minor details.

Just make sure you've got a spare car and alot of time on your hands, I'll be doing this swap shortly, parts should run me no more then $200, so i don't see how people can tell you to sell your car and get a manual when you'd take such a bigger monetary (and sentimental) loss.
Impaled is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 07:09 PM   #7
gold_zx3
Focus Addict
 
gold_zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 26015
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 2005 Black WRX Sport Wagon

Posts: 841
FF Reputation: 1 gold_zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Ok so all I will need to do is splice the OSS to the VSS (what do these stand for by the way?) for the speedo. Then instead of replacing the ECU to a manual one, I can get an Xcal2 and reprogram my current ECU?

Only $200 for all the parts? Nice! I'll have access to one of my dads old work vehicles, and I'll be doing this on the weekends. Hopefully it won't take more than a couple weekends to do this. Anyways Impaled, keep me posted on your progress with your swap!
__________________
"Dude your bed is a car." "Yeah but it's a f[:)ing sweet car!"
gold_zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 08:09 PM   #8
Impaled
Raise the stakes
 
Impaled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46117
Location: Lake Worth, FL
What I Drive: 2001 ZX3, 1998 ZX2

Posts: 1,609
FF Reputation: 4 Impaled Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yeah as soon as my ZX2 sells i'll be buying what's needed for the swap. I've got a doner car sitting in the junkyard waiting for me to get some monies (Someone buy my car please :D)

The OSS is outside speed sensor, it's what the auto tranny uses to figure out how fast you're going, the manual uses vss or vehical speed sensor, sends speed signal to the ECU, and the wiring is a bit different for the two sensors, nothing some crimps and electrical tape won't fix.

And yeah as far as i know you can just tune out the sensors that are on the auto tranny that'll throw CELs...cause they're missing. Car should work ok without tuning em out, you'll just be throwing a ton of codes.

I'll have xp0sed helping me out with the swap and he's actually done one before so i'm fairly confident it will be relatively painless. I'd very much like to do a FULL write up on the swap so that it can become more then just a pipe dream for a bunch of envious ATX owners.

I'd recommend throwing an aftermarket flywheel and clutch in there while you're doing it...and hell an LSD too if you've got the means...will be glad you did when it's time for the big ponies.

PS Grandma's Boy is the shit, many a smokey nights spent watching that again and again.
Impaled is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 08:37 PM   #9
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Dont forget to fandangle something up for the clutch engaged sensor, otherwise the engine wont start.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 08:53 PM   #10
Impaled
Raise the stakes
 
Impaled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46117
Location: Lake Worth, FL
What I Drive: 2001 ZX3, 1998 ZX2

Posts: 1,609
FF Reputation: 4 Impaled Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
You don't need a clutch engage sensor. Just there for safety issues (IE you dont turn her over in gear and hop into whatevers infront of you) I've disabled em on all MTX cars i've owned. If you can't remember to make sure you're in neutral when you go to start the car you'd be better off with an automatic!

But i'll worry about that when i get there, good reminder though.
Impaled is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2001 MTX to 2002 MTX Swap tension001 General Technical Chat 10 01-14-2006 11:27 PM
ATX to MTX convo good or bad? Tetsuo SPI Performance (2000-2004) 15 08-13-2005 08:10 PM
ATX to MTX svtguy88 ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 22 07-16-2005 10:21 AM
Modified ATX vs. MTX blackandgold Ford Focus & General Car Chat 9 12-07-2003 08:05 PM
ATX to MTX conversion Red Baron ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 15 10-23-2003 09:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.