Stock Gauge Replacement with Aftermarket Gauges!! (wiring gurus please!) - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2007, 10:05 PM   #1
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
Stock Gauge Replacement with Aftermarket Gauges!! (wiring gurus please!)

well... lets start off by saying... im calling speedhut tomorrow and demanding a refund. their gauge overlay shorted out on me while installed and trying to recalibrated... made nice sparks inside my 2007...

so i ripped it out... gave a few m-f's and put the stock one back together half way... as in i only recal the tach needle... i didnt feal like driving... to recal the speedo... but ill probably do that tomorrow in the day time...


BUT anyways... some of you may know... i have an autometer cobalt oil pressure and water temp guage in a pillar pod, and i just recently installed the cobalt wideband a/f ratio gauge on the steering column...

also i might add that'll help... i plan on keeping my 07 for awhile... i mean AWHILE as in... my car is a DD now... when it finally goes to the junkyard it'll be dead from racing..

but anyways... i am wanting to carry the cobalt gauges to my stock instrument..... prices arent too bad... to start i want the cobalt indash, speed and tach... then for a need... the fuel level gauge... then the volt meter... sinse i already have a water temp and oil pressure on my pillar...

im very capable of installing a nice looking panel for the gauges to rest in, in the stock surround..

but my question... will the haynes manual or whatever book be best to look at for wiring some of the idiot lights?

all for the idiot lights i think ill want are.... CEL... fuel tank light.... blinkers... high beam light... E-brake light... and maybe door light... i saw the plastic pieces on the stock cluster... so i was thinkin of cuttin the little symbols and sticking them over the lights i install so i wont have to label them...

but i should be able to get the signals out of the harness from the back correct? i.e. the harness?

also another question for wiring peoples... could i possibly find the sender wires for the fuel sender and the speedo sender? autometer claims the fuel can be used with stock sender(just have to get the correct resistance gauge) and the speedo works with most speed sensors...

im good at wiring 12v, so please dont doubt capabilites here... im just asking a few questions to get all my ducks in a row... this'll be the last big project before i start heading towards s/c(f2) or turbo(fs)...


if this happens... which i am 99.9% sure it will i will definately be sure to post pictures...

but please post any information you have or point me in the correct direction for the information i need...

thanks!


__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2007, 11:34 PM   #2
killer ZETEC
GL1TCH
 
killer ZETEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 44757
Location: wisconsin
What I Drive: advance trac french blue 03 zx3

Posts: 3,560
FF Reputation: 42 killer ZETEC Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
maybe.. i don't know. i am want ing to do the same with speed hut ones (a little cheaper for me) my guess is to pull the cluster out and turn the key to acc when all the idiot lights come on. then take a bulb and fid out by inserting wire into the ends that go in which wire run which. or call ford up for a diagram
__________________
focus owner whos runnin with the hatchet
zc187 focus nation and fvscc's car 343
still getting part and things for this turbo.
will it run soon?? who knows.
killer ZETEC is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 12:28 AM   #3
Blackcatn2o
soon to be turbo!
 
Blackcatn2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 48278
Location: Brandon, FL
What I Drive: 06 silver ZX4 ST

Posts: 5,728
FF Reputation: 48 Blackcatn2o Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
hahahahaha
Blackcatn2o is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 08:25 AM   #4
SilverDuratecZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
SilverDuratecZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Fan#: 10220
Location: St. Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2004 CD Silver ZX3, 2.3L

Posts: 174
FF Reputation: 4 SilverDuratecZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Would it be easier to find a gauge face that would match the Cobalts? True, they would only be as accurate as the factory ones, but it would be a lot less work.
__________________
-Scott

"No meat on Fridays? What do they eat? Light Bulbs?"
-Homer Simpson on Catholics & their "crazy rules"
SilverDuratecZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 12:07 PM   #5
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
thats what i tried to do... i got a speedhut face to match as close to the cobalts as much as possible... BUT during the install it shorted out... and plus coupled with the fact that speedhut just plain forgot about my order made me mad in the first place...

autometer hasnt let me down yet.... so i am talking with them now to see what i need to do....
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 03:42 PM   #6
killer ZETEC
GL1TCH
 
killer ZETEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 44757
Location: wisconsin
What I Drive: advance trac french blue 03 zx3

Posts: 3,560
FF Reputation: 42 killer ZETEC Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
shouldn't be that hard. my guess is the most dificult thing would be making the mount for all the gauges (what do you have in mind? my ideas kinda suck right now, lol)
__________________
focus owner whos runnin with the hatchet
zc187 focus nation and fvscc's car 343
still getting part and things for this turbo.
will it run soon?? who knows.
killer ZETEC is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 04:37 PM   #7
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
welll i have 2 big sheets of 1/8 alluminum in my locker at work... im sure with some flat black paint i could make it look good...

my guess for my gauges... i should be able to get all my signals at the ECU harness... sinse everything does go to it... even the speed

sensors...


this may happen rather quickly also... as in the next 2 weeks... my g/f may get me early b-day presents which will consist of 2 of the 3 guages i need and ill be purchasing the 3rd gauge
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 07:59 PM   #8
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
i just got a good e-mail from autometer... they said their service department will "add" miles to the speedometer's odometer... sooooo if i park my car for a few days while i send my auto meter speedometer to them i can actually have the same exact mileage shown! so it wont start at 0...

so its lookin better everyday... i reassembled my stock cluster today... recald the last 2 needles when i got home from work just for temperoary usage until this project is done... i cant wait! first thing i need to get is a haynes manual or schematics of the wires going to the ecu...
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 08:05 PM   #9
HaveBlue83
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1358
Location: Southeast, PA
What I Drive: a car

Posts: 9,476
FF Reputation: 70 HaveBlue83 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
dude...autometer has been at this for how long??? they are the masters...I have my oil and water temp in Autometer NV's.......LOVE THEM......

I'd stick with autometer. it's the standard........... PICTS when you do it!!!!
HaveBlue83 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2007, 10:44 PM   #10
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
yeah... tomorrow im gonna give speedhut a call and try and start the refund process... that'll be money for the tach driver...
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual gauge pod with 3 gauges for sale Boostedfoci88 Archive 13 08-06-2007 07:17 PM
For Sale: Stock Intake, Attenna, Gauge Pod, Manifold/Cat, Low mileage MTX75 tranny turboed00focuszx3 Archive 8 03-21-2006 03:33 PM
HOW TO: Install Glow Gauges (6 color) Ripped ST 151 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 3 11-30-2005 04:00 PM
HOW TO: Install Glow Gauges (6 color) pzevfloord140 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 6 11-25-2005 02:19 PM
Dimmer mod for aftermarket gauge gibsontaylor MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 1 11-27-2003 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat