I cant get my stock head unit out at all. Please help - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2007, 06:44 PM   #1
NintendoSkater
Focus Addict
 
NintendoSkater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 43536
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: '07 Scion tc coupe

Posts: 710
Points 2,845, Level 32
Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 NintendoSkater Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I cant get my stock head unit out at all. Please help

I dont get it. I've got the right removal tool and I push them in pretty hard then spread them away from each other and try to wiggle it out. It doesn't seem to budge at all.

How did you guys get it out? How long did it take? Any tips are welcome. Thanks in advance.


__________________
2007 Scion TC coupe
NintendoSkater is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2007, 06:49 PM   #2
nickl16
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49446
Location: Lowell, IN
What I Drive: 2002 Pitch Black SVT

Posts: 131
FF Reputation: 5 nickl16 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
if it is like the svt headunit you mainly need to jam the din removal tools into the stock unit, at first mine wouldn't budge but the removal tools would come right out but i just had to jam the tools in and it popped and came right out.
nickl16 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 06:56 PM   #3
BeeFzX3
Focus Addict
 
BeeFzX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 46655
Location: San Carlos, CA, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Focus ST

Posts: 1,191
Points 5,963, Level 50
Points: 5,963, Level: 50 Points: 5,963, Level: 50 Points: 5,963, Level: 50
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 40 BeeFzX3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
just pry out the gray part surrounding the HU, unscrew 4 bolts and you're done. Time: 5-10min
__________________
BeeFzX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 07:09 PM   #4
NintendoSkater
Focus Addict
 
NintendoSkater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 43536
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: '07 Scion tc coupe

Posts: 710
Points 2,845, Level 32
Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 NintendoSkater Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok I got it out (thanks to the people at Autozone). What in the world kind of screwdriver do I need to unscrew it? Torx T-5?
__________________
2007 Scion TC coupe
NintendoSkater is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 07:18 PM   #5
SuperFocusMan
Focus Fanatic
 
SuperFocusMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20307
Location: Albuquerque, NM
What I Drive: 12 Cloud 9 White SEL

Posts: 1,948
Points 3,053, Level 34
Points: 3,053, Level: 34 Points: 3,053, Level: 34 Points: 3,053, Level: 34
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 3 SuperFocusMan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
If it is for the 4 screws holding the bezel in then 7mm nut driver will do the trick. Get a magnet or something to get the screws out or they will fall behind the whole dash board.
__________________
N/A Crew #2
SuperFocusMan is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 08:49 PM   #6
NintendoSkater
Focus Addict
 
NintendoSkater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 43536
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: '07 Scion tc coupe

Posts: 710
Points 2,845, Level 32
Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 NintendoSkater Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Okay I got the screws out, then got my cds out and connected everything and tried to use it and still got an error. I'm mad cause the dealer said they can't fix it and some bs.
__________________
2007 Scion TC coupe
NintendoSkater is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 09:04 PM   #7
BeeFzX3
Focus Addict
 
BeeFzX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 46655
Location: San Carlos, CA, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Focus ST

Posts: 1,191
Points 5,963, Level 50
Points: 5,963, Level: 50 Points: 5,963, Level: 50 Points: 5,963, Level: 50
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 40 BeeFzX3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
they don't need to fix it, they need to replace it. Why did you need to take it out in the first place?
__________________
BeeFzX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 09:09 PM   #8
NintendoSkater
Focus Addict
 
NintendoSkater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 43536
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: '07 Scion tc coupe

Posts: 710
Points 2,845, Level 32
Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32 Points: 2,845, Level: 32
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 NintendoSkater Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It ate 2 CD's like 5-6 months ago and I finally decided to do something about it. Yeah I guess it does need to be replaced.
__________________
2007 Scion TC coupe
NintendoSkater is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2007, 10:57 PM   #9
killer ZETEC
GL1TCH
 
killer ZETEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 44757
Location: wisconsin
What I Drive: advance trac french blue 03 zx3

Posts: 3,560
FF Reputation: 42 killer ZETEC Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
i say fix it with a hammer! the only and final solution
__________________
focus owner whos runnin with the hatchet
zc187 focus nation and fvscc's car 343
still getting part and things for this turbo.
will it run soon?? who knows.
killer ZETEC is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: A whole buttload of stock parts BlackJack03 Archive 11 08-18-2007 08:26 PM
For Sale: 2007 Stock Head Unit MP3 Slo_Focus Archive 2 05-05-2007 09:50 PM
Wanted: '05 Stock Head Unit altoc18 Archive 3 08-20-2006 12:46 AM
Head Unit... not sure... Nightm4re Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 8 07-03-2006 11:39 AM
Wiring an amp from stock head unit, with LOC, but cant power on lead to amp! PhilMayfield Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 1 05-13-2006 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat