How To: Remove the 05+ Speedometer Cluster - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK2 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2007, 06:53 PM   #1
myfocusrocks
Focus Addict
 
myfocusrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46135
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 2014 Ingot Silver ST3

Posts: 1,105
Points 5,223, Level 46
Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46
Level Up 37% Completed
Level up: 37% Level up: 37% Level up: 37%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 myfocusrocks Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
How To: Remove the 05+ Speedometer Cluster

Sorry this is my first How To... I havent come across one for the 05+ Focus, so I decided to do it myslef. Im in the market for a full cluster, and wanted to make sure I could get it out before I bought it.... So here goes...

Step one... You must remove these four screws. In doing this, the entire light grey piece will be freed, allowing for access to the screw behind it. I just let it sit on the floor and didn't bother taking the plugs out of the back of it.. (ex.. the engine diagnostic plug, and hood latch) Just be warned that there is a little metal clip right below the headlight switch that fell on the floor when i first removed it... that took me a little bit to figure out where it came off of.



Step two... This is the easy step. Just remove that one screw, and the whole speedometer surround is now free.



Step three... Be warned when doing this step, the speedometer surround is pretty straight forward to remove... It just pops right out (I would start at the left corner by the headlight switch, that went the easiest) However, there are little metal clips that are holding the surround to the rest of the dash, and when you remove it, if your not paying attention, the clips will scratch the front of your cluster up (I was lucky that it only did it at the bottom where it cant be seen) The whole section in the picture comes out, except for the actual headlight switch. There is one wire though that you have to unplug, and that is the trunk release. (Its just a small plug that comes right out)



Step four... Here is another straight forward step. Just remove the four screws that are pointed out, and the cluster is free. The bottom two screws are a little tricky to get out, but it shouldn't be too bad. Then just unplug the cluster, and pop the new one in. (When you do unplug it, if your battery is hooked up, your emergency flashers will come on)



Then when putting it all back together, just reverse these steps. The whole thing shouldn't take more than 45 minutes.

I hope this will help some people out. Like I said, I hadn't seen one on here, so I decided to make one as best as I could. I didn't put in a new cluster yet, again like I said, I just wanted to be sure I could get it out with no problems.

-Dennis


myfocusrocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2007, 07:09 PM   #2
miniboon
Dehawkified
 
miniboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Fan#: 35233
Location: Long Island Ny
What I Drive: 2005 Impreza 2.5 RS

Posts: 2,150
FF Reputation: 42 miniboon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
nice write up!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by viney266 View Post
I think miniboon is right on the money.
miniboon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2007, 07:13 PM   #3
myfocusrocks
Focus Addict
 
myfocusrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46135
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 2014 Ingot Silver ST3

Posts: 1,105
Points 5,223, Level 46
Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46
Level Up 37% Completed
Level up: 37% Level up: 37% Level up: 37%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 myfocusrocks Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Fixed it, Thanks :p
myfocusrocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2007, 12:31 PM   #4
Nightm4re
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34407
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
What I Drive: 2006 Athens blue G35 sports coupe

Posts: 573
FF Reputation: 1 Nightm4re Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
When you put a new cluster in there, does it mess up the needles? Id hate to have to try to find a place to get the needles re-calibrated.
Nightm4re is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2007, 05:06 PM   #5
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightm4re View Post
When you put a new cluster in there, does it mess up the needles? Id hate to have to try to find a place to get the needles re-calibrated.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/needlecalibration/
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2007, 05:40 PM   #6
myfocusrocks
Focus Addict
 
myfocusrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46135
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 2014 Ingot Silver ST3

Posts: 1,105
Points 5,223, Level 46
Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46
Level Up 37% Completed
Level up: 37% Level up: 37% Level up: 37%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 myfocusrocks Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Does this happen when you put in a new set of gauges? Or can it go as a direct swap, and still work normally?
myfocusrocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2007, 06:04 PM   #7
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
you can swap... the needlerecal only needs to be done when you physically take the needles off the gauge face.
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2007, 07:12 PM   #8
myfocusrocks
Focus Addict
 
myfocusrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46135
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 2014 Ingot Silver ST3

Posts: 1,105
Points 5,223, Level 46
Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46 Points: 5,223, Level: 46
Level Up 37% Completed
Level up: 37% Level up: 37% Level up: 37%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 myfocusrocks Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
ok, well i wont be doing that :p
myfocusrocks is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2010, 01:09 PM   #9
RLKnecht
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80336
Location: Temecula, CA
What I Drive: 05, Pearl Tan Focus

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 RLKnecht Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Dennis,
When you replaced your cluster with a salvage cluster did it keep your mileage on the odometer, or did it now dispaly the salvage cars mileage? I was told by the dealer that I needed to replace it with a NEW one from them so they could transfer info to the new cluster. THey also told me that the PATS keys would all need to be reprogrammed and the car would no longer start. did you have these issues or is the dealer just trying to get $350 for a new cluster plus 375 for labor?
Thanks
Rick
RLKnecht is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 09:13 PM   #10
kevins7189
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78726
Location: Bellevue, NE
What I Drive: '08 Slvr SE + '10 Blk SES

Posts: 29
FF Reputation: 1 kevins7189 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
well, funny while i was searching for this answer. I got a 2009 focus "SE" dash with the info display on it to replace the gauges on my "S" model. Display worked, but car didn't start, PATS error.
kevins7189 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to buy tach / need help with tach cookiemonster52 DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 19 08-23-2013 03:27 PM
Timing Belt Info Spanky6935 General Technical Chat 13 09-30-2011 11:54 PM
how to remove hatch tail light cluster? adrian_chrome General Technical Chat 5 10-09-2005 05:30 PM
Speedometer Cluster w/ Tach 00-04 *SOLD* focuSE Archive 8 04-05-2005 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat