foam piece in air box - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2007, 02:00 AM   #1
Crakaveli
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46106
Location: Nashville, United States
What I Drive: 2002 Liquid Gray ZX5

Posts: 466
Points 1,153, Level 18
Points: 1,153, Level: 18 Points: 1,153, Level: 18 Points: 1,153, Level: 18
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 Crakaveli Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
foam piece in air box

is this piece essential? i tried cleaning the one i had in there but it just fell apart. it was really dirty anyways. will my EaA air filter be enough?


Crakaveli is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2007, 02:05 AM   #2
SkaAddict
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1690
Posts: 8,262
FF Reputation: 69 SkaAddict Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Its there to catch any incoming oil from the valvetrain breather tube. I have a Volant intake and the breather tube just plugs right in without any kind of filter, you should be fine without it.
SkaAddict is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2007, 03:17 AM   #3
loudfocus01
Focus Fanatic
 
loudfocus01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 26006
Location: Bates City, MO
What I Drive: 2001 White LX 2002 Infra-Red Svt

Posts: 7,250
FF Reputation: 107 loudfocus01 Excellent Standing Member loudfocus01 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
I always wondered this also when I installed my volant intake. I just ditched the foam piece.....good to hear that I did the right thing.
__________________
O'Reilly Auto Parts
Store Manager
Oak Grove, MO
loudfocus01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2007, 10:26 AM   #4
viney266
Focus Fanatic
 
viney266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 93
Location: westminster, maryland, MD
What I Drive: focus ztw ,zx3,mustang, motorcycles

Posts: 25,586
Points 230,345, Level 100
Points: 230,345, Level: 100 Points: 230,345, Level: 100 Points: 230,345, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 112 viney266 Excellent Standing Member viney266 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkaAddict View Post
Its there to catch any incoming oil from the valvetrain breather tube. I have a Volant intake and the breather tube just plugs right in without any kind of filter, you should be fine without it.
^^ True, it also acts as a crude filter element for the breather tube going in as well. If you run an aftermarket filter and it is "breathing" down stream from the filter element it is already getting "clean" air, so yes you are just fine.
__________________
Speed is only a matter of money; how fast do you want to go?
viney266 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2007, 10:12 PM   #5
Captain Moonpie
Focus "Sleeper"
 
Captain Moonpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 41715
Location: Yakima, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 2003 Focus ZX3 deep red

Posts: 1,619
FF Reputation: 13 Captain Moonpie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Uhh, you REALLY want to put some sort of foam on there, pronto. THat is conected to the valvecover and is a strait access to your oil. I dont know if you ever noticed but it is really dirty underneath the filter, and that is where this valvetrain breather hose is connected. So without that little foam piece, what is going to keep your oil from getting nasty? With the volant its okay because the breather hose is connected to the intake AFTER the air filter (if connected at all, if it isnt then it has a little filter on the breather). Stock location is BEFORE the filter.
__________________
DRIVE IT LIKE YOU STOLE IT!!!!
WAY too many performance mods to list. Check profile if you wanna know. And yes, I installed all my mods myself in my garage. No special tools.

GET NITROUS PEOPLE!!
Captain Moonpie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2007, 10:49 PM   #6
SkaAddict
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1690
Posts: 8,262
FF Reputation: 69 SkaAddict Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Moonpie View Post
Uhh, you REALLY want to put some sort of foam on there, pronto. THat is conected to the valvecover and is a strait access to your oil. I dont know if you ever noticed but it is really dirty underneath the filter, and that is where this valvetrain breather hose is connected. So without that little foam piece, what is going to keep your oil from getting nasty? With the volant its okay because the breather hose is connected to the intake AFTER the air filter (if connected at all, if it isnt then it has a little filter on the breather). Stock location is BEFORE the filter.
I don't think you quite understand what the breather tube is for...the air isn't traveling into the crank case, its coming from the crank case. Ford had it run to the airbox for emissions reasons (so any oil vapors get burned when they're recirculated into the engine.) And on the stock airbox, its connected before the air filter...on the bottom of the airbox. The bottom of the airbox is the dirty side, the air is then pulled through the filter and on into the engine.
SkaAddict is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2007, 12:46 AM   #7
Captain Moonpie
Focus "Sleeper"
 
Captain Moonpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 41715
Location: Yakima, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 2003 Focus ZX3 deep red

Posts: 1,619
FF Reputation: 13 Captain Moonpie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkaAddict View Post
I don't think you quite understand what the breather tube is for...the air isn't traveling into the crank case, its coming from the crank case. Ford had it run to the airbox for emissions reasons (so any oil vapors get burned when they're recirculated into the engine.) And on the stock airbox, its connected before the air filter...on the bottom of the airbox. The bottom of the airbox is the dirty side, the air is then pulled through the filter and on into the engine.
Still, I dont want ANY route for dirt to get into the oil. I live by murphy's law, I have to be carefull what I do lol. But seriously, I would much rather have all oil passages completly safe from incoming dirt.
__________________
DRIVE IT LIKE YOU STOLE IT!!!!
WAY too many performance mods to list. Check profile if you wanna know. And yes, I installed all my mods myself in my garage. No special tools.

GET NITROUS PEOPLE!!
Captain Moonpie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2007, 02:53 AM   #8
Crakaveli
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46106
Location: Nashville, United States
What I Drive: 2002 Liquid Gray ZX5

Posts: 466
Points 1,153, Level 18
Points: 1,153, Level: 18 Points: 1,153, Level: 18 Points: 1,153, Level: 18
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 Crakaveli Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i think my EaA will do just fine.
Crakaveli is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2007, 03:04 AM   #9
SkaAddict
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1690
Posts: 8,262
FF Reputation: 69 SkaAddict Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Moonpie View Post
Still, I dont want ANY route for dirt to get into the oil. I live by murphy's law, I have to be carefull what I do lol. But seriously, I would much rather have all oil passages completly safe from incoming dirt.
How are you going to get dirt into the valvetrain...?

The breather tube is under vaccum with the stock airbox configuration. Which means any air that travels through it is being sucked out of the top of the head. Aside from which, the space below the valve cover generates its own positive pressure, between the spinning cams and higher temperature than the air outside. That piece of foam is there to stop any excessive oil from collecting inside the airbox, it has nothing to do with keeping the valvetrain clean.
SkaAddict is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2007, 11:44 AM   #10
dumbfounded17
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 45860
Location: NoVa
What I Drive: 2000 Subaru Outback

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 dumbfounded17 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ITS A BREATHER FILTER...duh...if it was THAT dirty when u took it out u should replace it with a new one, i paid like $1.50 for a universal one u cut to fit which is large enough to be cut into 2 pieces...if it was there to begin with it is for a reason, take no risks
dumbfounded17 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diameter of MAF going into stock air box? the01cav SPI Performance (2000-2004) 7 03-02-2006 10:18 PM
SVTF Air Box JK03SVT Archive 5 01-29-2006 10:04 PM
Needed: Stock air box 04 2.3l Fordfocus5 Archive 0 08-09-2005 10:22 PM
WTB Factory Air Box 02SVTsilverstreak Archive 2 07-12-2005 01:27 PM
Low End Torque - UPDATE RB SVT Performance (2002-2004) 11 06-14-2004 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.