new 07 MTX, Wait wheres the Tach - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2007, 11:12 PM   #1
focuz
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 43055
Location: Detroit, MI
What I Drive: 2007, Screamin Yellow, ZX3

Posts: 42
Points 353, Level 7
Points: 353, Level: 7 Points: 353, Level: 7 Points: 353, Level: 7
Level Up 6% Completed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 focuz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
new 07 MTX, Wait wheres the Tach

OK, so I got a new manual base model. My only complaints is that you needed to buy the SES model in order to get a tach even when getting a manual tranmission.

Can you buy a cluster from the SES models and stick it into the SE models for the tach and have it be a direct clipin or do you have to splice some wires and harnesses for this to work.

Has anyone tried this?


focuz is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2007, 11:22 PM   #2
zekester
Focus Addict
 
zekester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 871
Location: Northwestern CT
What I Drive: '04 CD Silver ZX3, 2.3L Duratec w/

Posts: 722
FF Reputation: 8 zekester Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
This probaly should be in the "Interior Mods" forum. But to answer your question you should be able to swap out a cluster from an SES, ('05 - '07) with no problems. You can troll eBay to try & find one with with hopefully around the same mileage as yours, (milegage is stored in the clusters) or you can buy one from Ford. They are a bit pricey plus there is a "core" charge I believe....
__________________
New Whip" '09 Scion xB "Release Series 6.0"
Old Whip" '04 ZX3, 2.3 Duratec, CD Silver w/ some stuff....
zekester is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:23 PM   #3
Klondike
GreyRice WOoT!
 
Klondike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25991
Location: Tempe, AZ
What I Drive: GI, '07 zx3 LG

Posts: 10,786
Points 33,091, Level 100
Points: 33,091, Level: 100 Points: 33,091, Level: 100 Points: 33,091, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 53 Klondike Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
you need to get a new cluster from ford, and the milage is stored on the cluster, im about to order one froma guy on the site and see what happens, but i need to wait til i hit 6k miles in order to put mine in

yea its kinda dumb, all mtx fofos should have the tach
__________________
Focus Nation
Focus Revolution
Chrenron 1 of 3
Velveeta Lover Shell#1
LOTH 00!
Klondike is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:48 PM   #4
silfocus84
Focus Enthusiast
 
silfocus84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 40506
Location: New Jersey, NJ
What I Drive: 2009 Cobalt SS Turbo back to STOCK

Posts: 357
Points 2,268, Level 28
Points: 2,268, Level: 28 Points: 2,268, Level: 28 Points: 2,268, Level: 28
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 silfocus84 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
haha..no way, it's fun drivin' without a tach.. .keeps ya guessin...j/k.. you could do that thing i saw in another forum where ya hold down the reset button on the odometer when you start the car and when it says test..you push the button 16 times and it shows your rpms
__________________
Feeling manic for a day, Depends on the trend, Depends on the surface, If the sun never sets
silfocus84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:49 PM   #5
Klondike
GreyRice WOoT!
 
Klondike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25991
Location: Tempe, AZ
What I Drive: GI, '07 zx3 LG

Posts: 10,786
Points 33,091, Level 100
Points: 33,091, Level: 100 Points: 33,091, Level: 100 Points: 33,091, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 53 Klondike Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
who wants to do that everytime you artart the car tho
__________________
Focus Nation
Focus Revolution
Chrenron 1 of 3
Velveeta Lover Shell#1
LOTH 00!
Klondike is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:53 PM   #6
silfocus84
Focus Enthusiast
 
silfocus84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 40506
Location: New Jersey, NJ
What I Drive: 2009 Cobalt SS Turbo back to STOCK

Posts: 357
Points 2,268, Level 28
Points: 2,268, Level: 28 Points: 2,268, Level: 28 Points: 2,268, Level: 28
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 silfocus84 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
people who really want to know their rpms?
__________________
Feeling manic for a day, Depends on the trend, Depends on the surface, If the sun never sets
silfocus84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:01 AM   #7
wickedgreyzx3
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34204
Location: Cleveland, OH, IN
What I Drive: 2006 ZX3 Liquid Grey

Posts: 2,589
FF Reputation: 17 wickedgreyzx3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
if you need to know your rpm's while driving a manual, you should drive an automatic
__________________
Modifying cars is retarded. Buy a bike instead.
wickedgreyzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:09 AM   #8
silfocus84
Focus Enthusiast
 
silfocus84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 40506
Location: New Jersey, NJ
What I Drive: 2009 Cobalt SS Turbo back to STOCK

Posts: 357
Points 2,268, Level 28
Points: 2,268, Level: 28 Points: 2,268, Level: 28 Points: 2,268, Level: 28
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 silfocus84 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
jeez...that was harsh... but yeah, your engine does kind of let ya know where ya stand...plus you can use the speedometer.... if you are doin' 40 in 2nd...probably time to shift....15-20mph ago
__________________
Feeling manic for a day, Depends on the trend, Depends on the surface, If the sun never sets
silfocus84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:19 AM   #9
wickedgreyzx3
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34204
Location: Cleveland, OH, IN
What I Drive: 2006 ZX3 Liquid Grey

Posts: 2,589
FF Reputation: 17 wickedgreyzx3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
there is also a shift light for refereance :lol:
__________________
Modifying cars is retarded. Buy a bike instead.
wickedgreyzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 04:13 AM   #10
Slo_Focus
AKA Fast_Focus
 
Slo_Focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 17238
Location: Burleson (DFW), Texas, TX
What I Drive: 2007 LG ZX4, 2007 Yamaha Blue R6

Posts: 6,078
FF Reputation: 14 Slo_Focus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I have an SE and I have a tach see....

__________________
R6 runs 10s in 1/4 mile
FOCUS runs 10s in 1/8 mile
LOLZ!
Slo_Focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install a Aftermarket Tach on a 2.0Duratec honhon MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 73 11-24-2009 03:36 PM
Opinions on tach re-install nstiesi MK1 Focus 0 01-13-2006 02:40 PM
For Sale: Autometer Tach and Tach adapter tension001 Archive 2 07-30-2005 09:21 AM
Wiring up a Tach smokez01 General Technical Chat 3 06-08-2005 05:19 PM
Carlisle Preparation Vassili95 Mid Atlantic Fanatics 243 05-07-2005 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.