Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Going to be needing a new catback. Suggestions?

11K views 46 replies 17 participants last post by  all4focus 
#1 ·
The stock exhaust on my 2001 ZX3 does not have many days left. The whole thing from the cat to the tip is rotting here and there along the way. I figure I might as well put in an aftermarket stainless catback. I'm a college student, so money is short, very short. Thus, I really want to spend as little as possible on the new exhaust. I don't want to have a junky sounding "fart cannon" exhaust though. So what are my best options to save money without sacrificing performance and sound? My local O'Reilly carries the Magnaflow (http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/d...=Search_03387_1372621_1528&pt=03387&ppt=C0022) and Flowmaster (http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/d...=Search_03387_1372621_1528&pt=03387&ppt=C0022) systems. From the sound of videos, they seem too harsh, lacking a rich tone like the borla system for the SVT. The magnaflow sounds pretty good, much better than the Flowmaster imo. I'm worried about the noise level though. You can get a ticket for making too much noise where I live.

#2 ·
run 2 mufflers with 2.5 inch piping. i suggest dynomax. i think it was advanced or autozone that carries that brand muffler. nice sounding 3 chamber muffler. i only ran 1 dynomax and 1 thrush resonator in my setup because i like it a little louder. ignore the weird vibrating/buzzing sound at idle. i dont know what the heck that is but i can only pick up that sound on my camera and not in person.

it cost me $175 grand total. $50 for the dynomax $25 for the thrush and $100 for a local shop to fabricate my flexpipe back 2.5 inch exhaust.

#4 ·