2005 oem stereo and sub quandries... - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 04:09 PM   #1
MandoboyF12
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Fan#: 123105
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2005 grey zx4

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 MandoboyF12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2005 oem stereo and sub quandries...

Howdy!

So, I'm a newbie here (though I've had the car since new)...I recently changed out the original 6CD non-audiophile out with an audiophile...sub out is on the back. Of course, the car has no sub, yet there is a plug in the harness behind the unit. Digging around in the trunk, for the life of me, I can't find the other end...if in fact there is one? Is it cut short somewhere? I'd like to put a sub in. The audiophile sounds great...may be wrong, but I can tell it's missing the sub in the mix. I don't really want to change everthing out with a new unit, amps, big rattling sub boxes, etc....would even consider using a used factory if the connection can be found.

How about a small unit in the trunk (or under the seat)? Can I use an adapter from the head's sub out? I see this Metra harness out there...

Advice is most appreciated, though I know this stuff has been covered somewhere or another here.


MandoboyF12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2013, 06:58 AM   #2
02fordsvt
Meh.
 
02fordsvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84654
Location: Lowville, NY
What I Drive: 2002 SVT, 2001 SE (Rusty)

Posts: 9,597
FF Reputation: 49 02fordsvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
I don't know if all cars were wired for the sub, but if so, the plug should be behind the cloth trim piece over the DS wheel well in the trunk. There's a large wiring harness that run along there and contains the plug for the subwoofer.
__________________
Hatch Nation #13 : Rally Revolution #13 : ROTM Jan '13
It's Bryan, not Brian
RSVT-170 Build in Progress
Derusting Rusty Build in Progress
02fordsvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 08:13 AM   #3
MandoboyF12
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Fan#: 123105
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2005 grey zx4

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 MandoboyF12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the reply! I've looked back there, and found some wiring and connections, but no obvious connector hanging or taped up. The couple connectors there are connected...looks like mostly for the lights.
MandoboyF12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
ferret15
Focus Enthusiast
 
ferret15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83494
Location: RFD, IL
What I Drive: 03 zx3 and a screeming yellow eap

Posts: 484
FF Reputation: 2 ferret15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When you plugged in the radio did you have enough connectors? Also do you have the OEM sub? If not I'd advise you just to pick up a powered sub, they are similarly powered. It sounds like you have to run wires anyway. Most non sub cars didn't have the wiring for it.
ferret15 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 01:06 PM   #5
MandoboyF12
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Fan#: 123105
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2005 grey zx4

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 MandoboyF12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes! There are three connections, and then the antenna. I'm positive the sub connector is at the back of the head, from the harness to the radio, I plugged it in. I unplugged it before closing up, I do not have a sub, stock or new...yet...I'm looking at one of these little micro jobs, powered and ready. I'm not looking to ratlle teeth..just solid sound, top to bottom. I'm pretty sure I can use that Metra harness (70-5521)? Just the sub connector, from head out to RCA's. Sounds simple enough, but I've learned to never count on anything to be simple.
MandoboyF12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:06 PM   #6
02fordsvt
Meh.
 
02fordsvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84654
Location: Lowville, NY
What I Drive: 2002 SVT, 2001 SE (Rusty)

Posts: 9,597
FF Reputation: 49 02fordsvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
The plug for the woofer is a foot or two back from the plugs you saw. At least on Zx3
's and 5's
__________________
Hatch Nation #13 : Rally Revolution #13 : ROTM Jan '13
It's Bryan, not Brian
RSVT-170 Build in Progress
Derusting Rusty Build in Progress
02fordsvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:22 PM   #7
MandoboyF12
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Fan#: 123105
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2005 grey zx4

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 MandoboyF12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Interesting. On the back of the head, the plug beside the radio plug is the sub, yes? If so, the plug is there. I plugged it up...now where it is in the trunk? Go fish.
MandoboyF12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:34 PM   #8
mainest
Focus Addict
 
mainest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 60163
Location: DownEast, ME
What I Drive: '04 Red Euro SVT

Posts: 1,100
FF Reputation: 7 mainest Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
My '05 ST had the harness and plug on the driver side in the trunk, as well as all of the mounting points for the Audiophile sub/amp brackets, etc. However, when I added an SVT sub/amp and plugged it in, I got no sound. My guess is that Ford rewired the sub harness/ connector for the Mk1.5 Foci. I still have that sub/amp, as well as (I think) the mounting hardware and carpet (for a ZX3) if you are interested. Here are links to several threads with photos of the plug and pin out for the sub/amp. http://forums.focaljet.com/ice-car-e...-amp-help.html
http://forums.focaljet.com/ice-car-e...p-install.html
Good luck.
mainest is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:42 PM   #9
MandoboyF12
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Fan#: 123105
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2005 grey zx4

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 MandoboyF12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks!

I think I'm gonna get the Metra harness, use the sub plug (head unit to RCA's), and try a different powered sub. May try an under-seat piece. I know those are sorta frowned on, but I don't need anything to make the car rattle.
MandoboyF12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.