MAF Setup Options? - Page 3 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 09:45 AM   #21
SaleenT121
Focus Addict
 
SaleenT121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57997
Location: Birmingham, AL
What I Drive: 05 Saleen Focus

Posts: 561
FF Reputation: 3 SaleenT121 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I cant find any specific code or numbers on the MAF either.
__________________
Saleen Focus #74
-Carbon Hood and trunk
-SVT rear Disc brake conversion
-Custom fab turbo kit
-Built 2.0L by Turbo Turtle
SaleenT121 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2013, 10:44 AM   #22
Turbo Turtle
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: Miata, STi, GSXR1k

Posts: 4,741
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
i just talked to james. he said the meter is not calibrated for range or any thing. it is a factory style sensor that is plug and play for a slot style like the duratec. it has been out for about 4 years and is capable of 1000whp in a 3" tube and 1300 in a 4". it required no modification or other devices. it simply plugs into the factory connector and all injector and maf adjustments are done on sct. there is also a pig tail connector to convert a zetec style maf connector to the duratec slot style so the pro-m can be used. you would just need the duratec flange welded on.

he said in the case of a failure there is no change needed to a tune and that all the maf's are like replacing a factory sensor. just plug a new one in. and also that any changes in boost or air flow will not affect the a/f which is why ash was able to switch from a 15g to a 28rs and nothing change on the a/f

like i said i was very impressed with this maf and how well ash's car runs with it. james stands behind it 100% and said that nearly all the boosted mustang guys are using these now. he said less than 5 mustangs in the last year he has tuned were using a mafia and he does A LOT of mustangs lol

Tim
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Mig and Tig fabrication, engine building


facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #23
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,980
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Ok something is wrong , you cannot say it is a stock MAF for a duratec Focus and then say is has enough range for 1000 HP , the stock MAF will not make 1000 HP in a 5 inch tube

I agree it may be a factory style sensor but the calibration in the sensor has to be changed from stock , for that sensor to make 1000hp in a 3 inch tube and only run 300HP max voltage would only be about 2.9 to 3.2 volts which should be 5 volts or close to it

Whats the part # for this part # curious to look into it more , UPDATE : I just found this link to a 3 inch tube with the slot that will go to 800HP
http://www.promracing.com/mass-air-m...-pro-tube.html If this is the one then this is 100% a recalibrated MAF

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:30 PM   #24
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,980
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
PLEASE , I am in no way trying to argue with anyone or say anyone is wrong , if this is what Tim says it is I will be more then willing to try it

I would love to see a 3rd gear pull with one of my datalog list to see where the MAF counts are load is with this mass air and a part # where I can look into this more , I am very open mined to test new things and why I have tested so much over the years , I didnt know pro-m may have something new , more info and a log PLEASE

tOM
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:20 PM   #25
Turbo Turtle
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: Miata, STi, GSXR1k

Posts: 4,741
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
i wasnt saying it wasnt different than stock i was just saying that it is not calibrated to a specific injector or range.

i don't know much about this sensor and i'm just as curious about it and its capability as you Tom. that is why i posted it. im simply being a middle man. i'll pm you James Henson's phone number. i talked to him today about it but like i said im not a tuner...

Tim
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Mig and Tig fabrication, engine building


facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:06 AM   #26
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 20,980
FF Reputation: 152 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
After a long talk with a sales / tech guy at pro-m it turns out that the 800hp pro tube slot style wouldnt be the best for the Focus (his words) and going to one of there 375hp range calibrated square meters would put me in full range of the 5 volts

He said the 800hp with a lot of trickery and messing with the ECU / tuning could be made to work but you had to fool a lot of things ??????

My next question to him was what will his meter do for me that the Diablosport MAFia wouldnt do , his answer was the MAFia didnt do anything but fool the ECU into what the voltage was and about 50% of the time the ECU would figure it out and fail and go to failed MAF
He is so full of it and trying to sell pro-m product , The man doesnt have a clue what he is talking about or flat out lying to people , There is NO WAY for the ECU to figure out or know there is a MAFia connected to the car , there is no way for the car because of a MAFia to go to a failed MAF setting as long as you stay with its 5 volt / 1000 counts and a proper tune

I am going to 100% stay with the Diablosport MAFia , I have tuned hundreds of Boosted Foci with this product and know it works well , from what I got from pro-m there is nothing new out and there still just recalibrating the MAF for more room or for the amount of room needed mostly judging from Injector size and or HP target which is what they have been doing for years , they even have a spec sheet to fill out asking you these things

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:57 AM   #27
Turbo Turtle
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: Miata, STi, GSXR1k

Posts: 4,741
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
hmm. pretty much the opposite of what i was told by james. no idea lol

ash doesnt have a lap top to do a log with. i will at least get you one in a couple weeks when were on the dyno

Tim
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Mig and Tig fabrication, engine building


facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.