Subwoofers cutting out... - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2014, 06:58 PM   #21
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,635
Points 6,573, Level 53
Points: 6,573, Level: 53 Points: 6,573, Level: 53 Points: 6,573, Level: 53
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 24 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
Set the amp gains correctly as ferret says.
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-12-2014, 08:22 PM   #22
Techno101
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 132930
Location: Leesville, LA
What I Drive: 2005 zx4

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 Techno101 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Even with the gain set at less than half way, it still cuts out.
Techno101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2014, 08:34 PM   #23
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 130
Points 2,639, Level 31
Points: 2,639, Level: 31 Points: 2,639, Level: 31 Points: 2,639, Level: 31
Level Up 26% Completed
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What kind of amp? Because if all connections are good, ground is to the chassis, gain and bass boost are turned down, subs are wired correctly, sounds like the amp is going into protection mode and could be toast...
jayboe123 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2014, 08:36 PM   #24
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,635
Points 6,573, Level 53
Points: 6,573, Level: 53 Points: 6,573, Level: 53 Points: 6,573, Level: 53
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 24 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
Where is the amp grounded? What size are the power and ground wires? Are the wires crimped? Solidly?

Do you have access to another amp?
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2014, 09:18 PM   #25
Techno101
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 132930
Location: Leesville, LA
What I Drive: 2005 zx4

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 Techno101 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The amp is grounded to the side of the trunk wall, underneath the carpet/ trunk bottom. The ground wire is 4 ga. And it's only about 16 inches long. It's not loose, it is a self tapping screw though, but it's tight, doesn't wiggle. The power wire is 4 ga. As well.
Techno101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2014, 09:22 PM   #26
Techno101
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 132930
Location: Leesville, LA
What I Drive: 2005 zx4

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 Techno101 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The amp is a pioneer GM-D9601
Techno101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2014, 12:56 AM   #27
ferret15
Focus Enthusiast
 
ferret15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83494
Location: RFD, IL
What I Drive: 03 zx3 and a screeming yellow eap

Posts: 505
Points 605, Level 12
Points: 605, Level: 12 Points: 605, Level: 12 Points: 605, Level: 12
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 ferret15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The fuses on your amp add up to 120amps, your pushing 800rms worth of subs... and you have 4 guage wire. You NEED bigger wire, 2guage might work better but just get the 0/1 gauge and be done with it. Which was the first thing I said. Now yes I know 4 guage is like the bare minimum, but when you do this and use what I assume might be wire its going to get hot and you lose some voltage. That is probably why its cutting out in the first place.
ferret15 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2014, 03:23 PM   #28
Techno101
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 132930
Location: Leesville, LA
What I Drive: 2005 zx4

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 Techno101 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ferret, hey that's a simple place to start, I can do a wire swap, no big deal. So both power and ground wires for the amp need to be larger, correct?
Techno101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2014, 04:38 PM   #29
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,635
Points 6,573, Level 53
Points: 6,573, Level: 53 Points: 6,573, Level: 53 Points: 6,573, Level: 53
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 24 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
Ground it to the seatbelt bolt or, to the bracket that the spare tire bolts to. Make sure that any grounding point is sanded down bare metal.
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2014, 08:23 PM   #30
ferret15
Focus Enthusiast
 
ferret15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83494
Location: RFD, IL
What I Drive: 03 zx3 and a screeming yellow eap

Posts: 505
Points 605, Level 12
Points: 605, Level: 12 Points: 605, Level: 12 Points: 605, Level: 12
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 ferret15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techno101 View Post
Ferret, hey that's a simple place to start, I can do a wire swap, no big deal. So both power and ground wires for the amp need to be larger, correct?
That is correct, should be this simple.

get some high strand, tinned copper is best for car audio application. KnuKonceptz is a good example of quality car audio wire, but 0/1 gauge is like $5/foot, if that is too much people have been using similar marine,rv and welding cables that are typically cheaper, but harder to work with. The "oxygen free" doesn't always mean its tinned, if you get just normal copper (non tinned) keep in mind it corrodes (turns green) which at some point makes the wire useless.


Quote:
Originally Posted by freemind View Post
Ground it to the seatbelt bolt or, to the bracket that the spare tire bolts to. Make sure that any grounding point is sanded down bare metal.
Always a safe route to take to be sure your system is 100% grounded to your chassis. I typically just look for unpainted bolts and threads, which is all bare metal without having to sand the paint off. I'm not sure how the seat belt points look but i've been using the rear seat mounting hole for years and they work great. Sometimes I clean out the the threads with my dremel wire wheel, but its very noninvasive. Right now my 900watt class D 5channel is happy with that this time around.
ferret15 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat