04 Zx3 Trunk Trigger - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2014, 12:45 PM   #1
knight2000
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 183337
Location: Hayward, CA
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus ZX3, 05 WRX Sti

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 knight2000 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
04 Zx3 Trunk Trigger

Hello

I have searched over the weekend regarding this subject but cant seem to find a definite answer.

My question is, do i have to run a cable all the way to the Trunk light in order to tap into the trunk trigger at the latch? or is there a location up front where i could find that wire.

Also my car doesnt have power anything nor factory alarm, is there a trigger at the hood latch as well? if so , does anybody know where does it come to?


Thank you.


knight2000 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2014, 12:12 PM   #2
knight2000
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 183337
Location: Hayward, CA
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus ZX3, 05 WRX Sti

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 knight2000 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Nobody knows? :(

Thank you.
knight2000 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 12:23 PM   #3
Humphrey
Focus Enthusiast
 
Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91540
Location: Texarkana, AR
What I Drive: 05 Ford Focus ZX3 w/ 2.0 Duratec

Posts: 325
FF Reputation: 3 Humphrey Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not sure what it is that your asking.

Are you trying to install a custom button so that you can pop the trunk without pressing the button on the dash? The hatch door doesn't use a metal "cable" AFAIK and if it does, its extremely short and localized to the latch.

No hoods a electric button to pop it AFAIK as all the ones I have seen are cables.
Humphrey is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 12:43 PM   #4
knight2000
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 183337
Location: Hayward, CA
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus ZX3, 05 WRX Sti

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 knight2000 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for replying.

I'm trying to wire the Trunk trigger to the alarm system i just installed and i just wanted to know if i need to run a wire to the trunk or not. I'm hoping i can find the right wire somewhere up front.
knight2000 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 12:46 PM   #5
Humphrey
Focus Enthusiast
 
Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91540
Location: Texarkana, AR
What I Drive: 05 Ford Focus ZX3 w/ 2.0 Duratec

Posts: 325
FF Reputation: 3 Humphrey Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If the alarm system has a key fob that has the option to open the trunk then id just tap into the wires that are running to the trunk button on the dash.
Humphrey is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 12:52 PM   #6
knight2000
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 183337
Location: Hayward, CA
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus ZX3, 05 WRX Sti

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 knight2000 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Its not the trunk release i'm trying to wire its the trigger so if the trunk opens the alarm will get triggered.
knight2000 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 01:10 PM   #7
Humphrey
Focus Enthusiast
 
Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91540
Location: Texarkana, AR
What I Drive: 05 Ford Focus ZX3 w/ 2.0 Duratec

Posts: 325
FF Reputation: 3 Humphrey Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You will have to locate the button/switch (if any) that depresses when the hatch door opens. Probably in the Hatch door latch somewhere. I've not played in this area of my car so I don't have first hand knowledge but I am certain there is a button cause the interior lights activate when hatch I opened (read your first post again and i see what you're talking about now about tying into the light. All you can do is test, not sure how the alarm works but don't think you'd want to have power feedback). At a meeting right now but will look into it when I get home. As for the hood, I was under mine yesterday and there is a plunger ttype device which could JUST be for "popping" the hood but it could be a switch.
Humphrey is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.