Installing sub and amp to stock SYNC headunit - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2014, 12:32 PM   #1
Nijmatic
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 181753
Location: Surrey, Canada
What I Drive: Gunmetal Grey 2011 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 Nijmatic Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Installing sub and amp to stock SYNC headunit

I've just recently bought a 2011 Focus SES with SYNC, just wondering how I would go about installing an Alpine amp and sub to the stock head unit . Any help would be appreciated.


Nijmatic is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2014, 03:04 AM   #2
mechanizeddeath
Focus Enthusiast
 
mechanizeddeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 135913
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Ingot Silver Metallic SE

Posts: 180
Points 1,641, Level 23
Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23
Level Up 41% Completed
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 mechanizeddeath Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I don't know about the specifics of that year, but in general when adding an amp and sub to a stock head unit, you'll need to tap into at least one pair of speaker outputs and feed that to a line output converter which then goes to your amp.

Some amps have speaker inputs built in, but the general consensus seems to be that these integrated inputs are only marginally better than a cheapo passive line output converter, and an active converter, such as an AudioControl LC2i, is a much better option.

As far as tapping into the speaker outputs, that can be either easy or hard depending on your skill level. I generally don't recommend cutting up the factory wiring unless there's no other choice, and absolutely don't recommend using wire tap connectors! What I've always done is purchased a regular harness intended for installing an aftermarket car stereo, and a "reverse" harness, which is intended for repairing a damaged stock harness. Connect the two together and you have an inline connection that you can splice into that isn't part of the actual vehicle and can be removed if needed.
mechanizeddeath is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.