instrument cluster wiring - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2008, 04:27 PM   #1
Aaronsfocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47624
Location: Victoria, B.C.
What I Drive: 2005 Silver ZX4 5Speed

Posts: 142
FF Reputation: 1 Aaronsfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
instrument cluster wiring

Hey guys,

im trying to get a cluster with tacho for my 05 focus S but they ask me if it is already wired for the tacho such that i would only need to replace the cluster unit.

I hope Ford wired them all for tach's...

cheers


__________________
If your car feels like its on rails.. you're going too slow.
__________________________________________
ZX4 5spd, MBRP 2.5" cat-back, shorty antenna, STEEDA SRI w/ heatshield + K&N cone filter, painted grille, painted truck lid, painted mirrors.
Aaronsfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2008, 05:59 PM   #2
Egz
Sückn' n Blown
 
Egz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 442
Location: Tappahannock, VA
What I Drive: 2003 2.3l ZX3

Posts: 7,742
FF Reputation: 111 Egz Excellent Standing Member Egz Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
They are all plug and play. Thing is the mileage is stored on the cluster, so you'll need to get the cluster updated, or find one with similar miles to you.
Egz is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2008, 08:12 PM   #3
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
yes all cars are "wired" for the tach... the instrument cluster gets it's signal via a Data Link + and Data link - wires that go to the PCM.
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2008, 08:53 PM   #4
Aaronsfocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47624
Location: Victoria, B.C.
What I Drive: 2005 Silver ZX4 5Speed

Posts: 142
FF Reputation: 1 Aaronsfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thanks guys..

sorry Honhon i asked you all this a while ago, but now my wrecker contacts have all asked to check to wiring if it's setup for it... just made me confused again :)

Tach is coming :):)
__________________
If your car feels like its on rails.. you're going too slow.
__________________________________________
ZX4 5spd, MBRP 2.5" cat-back, shorty antenna, STEEDA SRI w/ heatshield + K&N cone filter, painted grille, painted truck lid, painted mirrors.
Aaronsfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2008, 08:56 PM   #5
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
honestly i dont remember you asking me lol
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 04:23 PM   #6
focus 4x4
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88036
Location: london, United Kingdom
What I Drive: ford focus

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 focus 4x4 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Anyone know what wire or wires from the ecu go to the tacho?

thanks in advance
focus 4x4 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2011, 08:12 PM   #7
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,379
Points 11,745, Level 71
Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71 Points: 11,745, Level: 71
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egz View Post
They are all plug and play. Thing is the mileage is stored on the cluster, so you'll need to get the cluster updated, or find one with similar miles to you.
Are you sure about that?

I believe some use a white plug and some use a gray one. I dont believe they are interchangable. Ive seen very few with a tack that will just plug right into an 05-07 with a tach.

Unless im missing something.?

__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2014, 10:09 PM   #8
ztsjohn
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Fan#: 167442
Location: monroe, MI
What I Drive: 2004 zts silver

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 ztsjohn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post
Are you sure about that?

I believe some use a white plug and some use a gray one. I dont believe they are interchangable. Ive seen very few with a tack that will just plug right into an 05-07 with a tach.

Unless im missing something.?

Anybody know the wiring here so I can hardwire a white plug cluster into a grey plug car
ztsjohn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument cluster Dealer Test Mode dustinkimble General Technical Chat 27 08-23-2014 03:53 AM
How To: 2005 Instrument Cluster Removal BiggTigger78 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 20 06-30-2014 01:05 PM
Want to buy tach / need help with tach cookiemonster52 DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 19 08-23-2013 03:27 PM
Instrument cluster swap whirlwind MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 14 05-06-2004 12:39 AM
Instrument Cluster Swap hendu33 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 6 09-11-2003 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat