Is my wideband sensor starting to go out? or did it already? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 02:06 AM   #1
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Is my wideband sensor starting to go out? or did it already?

Its never looked like this before, i changed fuel for about a tank to a different station i dont normally use.

Ever since my wideband has been going nuts. Nothing seems to help, i havnt unplugged it from the battery yet but i think the power to it goes out when i turn the car off.

It doesnt seem to be driving any different


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wideband.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	226.6 KB
ID:	45634  

__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-08-2014, 10:54 AM   #2
qweesy
Focus Addict
 
qweesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12042
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2004 focus Duratec 2.3 RS (DEAD)

Posts: 1,154
FF Reputation: 3 qweesy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
I know wide-bands dont last nowhere near as long as a narrow bands...... wide bands sensors usually last to 40,000 - 50,000 miles then they need changing ........ race car got to pay 2 play.

How many miles on the sensor and you may have just got some bunk gas
qweesy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:44 AM   #3
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Ide say about 30k on this wideband its been a few years.

Ill give it some more time with the good gas back in it see if it works itself out.

I normally use BP 92 octane, last tank i used Shell 91 octane
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:18 AM   #4
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,033
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
yeah you may have gotten a bad batch of gas. I would run through that tank before you start throwing money into a new sensor.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 11:05 PM   #5
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Im thinking the wideband is still working but its my upstream 02 sensor thats flaking out causing the ECU to try and correct by throwing more fuel because the 02 is showing lean?

The upstream has 75k on it if its the stock 02 sensor.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 09:35 AM   #6
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Shoot me the datalog and let me see whats going on

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 04:24 PM   #7
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Can i add the upstream 02 to the list and record what its doing?

Its front sensor B1 right?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20 log list.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	145.1 KB
ID:	48786  

__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 08:28 PM   #8
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The list I made you is all I need to see

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:45 PM   #9
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Just a thought, a dirty fuel filter?

can the data logs show if there is to much load on the fuel pump? or can the logs see if say the fuel pump is pushing one amount of fuel but its not getting that amount?

none the less its got about 80k on it so it should of been changed long ago any how.

Since they are only $15. ill start there then start throwing parts at it till i narrow it down haha!

fuel filter i should of replaced about 40-50k ago, upstream 02 is due and why wouldnt it hurt to replace the wideband sensor?
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:59 AM   #10
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Never hurts to check the fuel filter , you should be able to blow through it hard with little resistance , if its hard to blow through then its bad

I looked at your log and gave you my opinion of what the problem is and its an easy fix , is there another problem now ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.