2012 installing amP help - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2014, 01:47 PM   #21
h4ck3d
Focus Rookie
 
h4ck3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Fan#: 131929
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 12' Focus Titanium 5dr Tuxedo Black

Posts: 18
FF Reputation: 1 h4ck3d Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleonjones View Post
I used a fuse for my radio I can't remember exactly which but I also put a switch in near my fuse panel to turn my amp on and off. I've had it in for a few years now and still working fine.

There may be a better solution but I like being able to turn it on and off as I want.
yah that is what i have done in my previous cars, was just run a remote wire from the battery to a fused switch, and then to the amp. I was just hoping to get around that by splicing into the remote antenna wire.
__________________
2014 Focus ST - Tuxedo Black - COBB Stage 1
h4ck3d is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2014, 03:07 PM   #22
smallblockfever
Focus Enthusiast
 
smallblockfever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
What I Drive: 2002 Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 210
Points 2,229, Level 28
Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 smallblockfever Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
As long as the remote wire gets a voltage potential across it the amp will turn on. Doesn't have to be 12v, but its nice.



When the remote wire gets a voltage, the amp turns on. That's all it is.

You can tap the remote wire into anything. When that "anything" turns on (gets a voltage) then so will your amp.

Choose where your remote wire taps in by when you want it on.

Want it on with the head unit? Tap into the stereo.

With the ignition? Tap into that



I'd stay away from the power antenna because that only turns on if your radio (fm/am tuner) is on.



An easy way to make this circuit is to buy an add-a-circuit fuse. Its a fuse replacement that you put into the fuse box on the circuit you want to tap into and it runs another circuit off of that.
__________________
"Never miss a good chance to shut up."
smallblockfever is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2014, 03:08 PM   #23
smallblockfever
Focus Enthusiast
 
smallblockfever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
What I Drive: 2002 Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 210
Points 2,229, Level 28
Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 smallblockfever Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Here is a link to an add a fuse.

You can get them at any parts store.

http://m.ebay.com/itm/261414361917?nav=SEARCH
__________________
"Never miss a good chance to shut up."
smallblockfever is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2014, 05:08 PM   #24
cleonjones
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81265
Location: Garland, TX
What I Drive: 2008 Red SES

Posts: 47
FF Reputation: 1 cleonjones Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallblockfever View Post
Here is a link to an add a fuse.

You can get them at any parts store.

http://m.ebay.com/itm/261414361917?nav=SEARCH
This is what I have. Sorry that's what I meant by my fuse, just wire into that and stick a fuse in and wire your switch between the add a fuse thing and the amp. No remote wire coming from my battery.
cleonjones is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2014, 03:47 AM   #25
edco76
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Fan#: 153602
Location: Talladega, AL
What I Drive: 2012 Focus White Titanium SEL

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 edco76 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I used the add-a-fuse and tapped my sunroof fuse in the trunk.
edco76 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2014, 10:52 PM   #26
DustyAlex
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107712
Location: Burlington, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue SE

Posts: 202
Points 740, Level 14
Points: 740, Level: 14 Points: 740, Level: 14 Points: 740, Level: 14
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 1 DustyAlex Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm in the same boat as Dansae, I had a reputable company install my amp/sub and it still sounds incomplete.... Also my steering wheel control for back, and fm/am switch is inop now.
__________________
Labour rate is $60 an hour, if you already tried to fix it $80 an hour, and if you want to help me $100 an hour
DustyAlex is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2014, 09:58 AM   #27
smallblockfever
Focus Enthusiast
 
smallblockfever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
What I Drive: 2002 Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 210
Points 2,229, Level 28
Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 smallblockfever Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyAlex View Post
I'm in the same boat as Dansae, I had a reputable company install my amp/sub and it still sounds incomplete.... Also my steering wheel control for back, and fm/am switch is inop now.





what exactly do you mean by "incomplete"? That could mean a lot of things haha



Did you specifically have them install a harness for the steering wheel controls? The only reason you should have lost any control over that is if you got a new head unit and didn't install an adapter harness. Installing a sub/amp combo into a stock system should not have affected the steering controls whatsoever.
__________________
"Never miss a good chance to shut up."
smallblockfever is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2014, 09:32 PM   #28
DustyAlex
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107712
Location: Burlington, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue SE

Posts: 202
Points 740, Level 14
Points: 740, Level: 14 Points: 740, Level: 14 Points: 740, Level: 14
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 1 DustyAlex Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
They've installed something behind the head unit, I've fixed the incomplete sound today. I moved the wire running from the sub to the amp next to the other one (I'm assuming it's the in/out) Still no previous, or am/fm function on the steering wheel though. They did a complete sub/amp install including a inline converter
__________________
Labour rate is $60 an hour, if you already tried to fix it $80 an hour, and if you want to help me $100 an hour
DustyAlex is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat