Does MK2 have a timing belt, or chain? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2014, 08:02 AM   #1
chrisinraleigh
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Fan#: 143873
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2009 light blue stripper S

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 chrisinraleigh Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Does MK2 have a timing belt, or chain?

I tried to find this by searching with no luck.

If it is a timing belt, what is the recommended mileage to replace it? Has anyone done it, how big a pain? Other things to replace at the same time, such as water pump or seals?

Thanks, all!!


chrisinraleigh is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2014, 09:07 AM   #2
BLÜE_BÄLZ
TWISVT
 
BLÜE_BÄLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fan#: 65778
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
What I Drive: '02 Twilight Blue ZX3, '94 Ranger

Posts: 6,975
FF Reputation: 14 BLÜE_BÄLZ Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
You have a duratec. Its a timing chain, no belt to worry about
__________________
OEM+ / UNDER CONSTRUCTION /
BLÜE_BÄLZ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:08 AM   #3
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,044
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
No need to worry about it the DURATEC uses a chain.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:15 AM   #4
Miller88
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73790
Location: Syracuse, NY
What I Drive: 2011 Focus SE 5 Speed

Posts: 812
FF Reputation: 5 Miller88 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Chain. I wouldn't own one with a belt. Timing belts are just asinine. Lets save $20 manufacturing the car so we can cost the owners multiple thousands of dollars over the lifetime of the car.
__________________
2011 Focus SE 5 Speed 36k - Blue Flame Metallic - Added Rear Swaybar
2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 115k - Lifted with mud tires.
Miller88 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:15 AM   #5
chrisinraleigh
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Fan#: 143873
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2009 light blue stripper S

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 chrisinraleigh Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the responses! I'm glad to hear about the chain.

I'm with you, Miller88, I see no reason for any manufacturer to use a belt. However, even though I've only owned this car 3 days, everywhere I look I see where Ford scrimped every chance they could! I know a lot of it is because mine is a stripper model, but they took it to extremes. I'm happy enough with it, it was cheap. But, for example, they could have given mine cruise control and a folding back seat for maybe $5 per car, and they didn't.

But, hey, it does have a tach, a temp gauge, and a rear window defroster, so it could have been worse...

Thanks again- love the forum!
chrisinraleigh is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 01:52 AM   #6
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 12,587
FF Reputation: 64 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
With an electronic throttle, only a new steering wheel with the right switches is needed to add Cruise AFAIK, check for old threads on this mod..

Seat backs had limited adjustment for safety rules, but if you look in the old How To listings you'll find some instruction on how others got around this...
__________________
"Rubber Side Down"

S.R. #275
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:31 AM   #7
Miller88
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73790
Location: Syracuse, NY
What I Drive: 2011 Focus SE 5 Speed

Posts: 812
FF Reputation: 5 Miller88 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you get the cruise steering wheel, you will need it activated by a willing dealer.
__________________
2011 Focus SE 5 Speed 36k - Blue Flame Metallic - Added Rear Swaybar
2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 115k - Lifted with mud tires.
Miller88 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 07:04 AM   #8
komoto123
Focus Enthusiast
 
komoto123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Fan#: 119636
Location: Lexington, KY
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus lx (Sangria Red)

Posts: 85
FF Reputation: 1 komoto123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The owners manual should give recommended change intervals if said vehicle has timing belt.
komoto123 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.