2007 zx3 Tach Gauge Install - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2007, 08:41 PM   #11
red&blkzx3
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Fan#: 35187
Location: lubbock
Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 red&blkzx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Id Number?

Some of the tach clusters on EBAY say the are for a certain ID # and that the info is needed to make sure it will work. Where can I find the numbers? and NO NOT VIN
red&blkzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2007, 12:12 PM   #12
Roland07
Focus Addict
 
Roland07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Fan#: 51147
Location: Littleton, CO
What I Drive: 2007 Pitch Black ZX3

Posts: 1,138
Points 5,378, Level 47
Points: 5,378, Level: 47 Points: 5,378, Level: 47 Points: 5,378, Level: 47
Level Up 14% Completed
Level up: 14% Level up: 14% Level up: 14%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 51 Roland07 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Those ID numbers are referring to different builds. If you can find one that matches your build, (all the same options like TC, ABS, rear Discs,) then you might only have the mileage discrepancy to deal with. If you get the wrong ID number, all the gauges will still work, but you'll get warning lights all the time. I got mine from an '06 SES and put it in my '07 S... since the SES had rear discs and I have rear drums it tells me my parking brake is always on. Disassembled the cluster and electric taped it behind the lens, looks fine and no light, but no functionality now.
__________________
Goal: To have as much fun building the car as I do driving it.
Phase: Drivetrain
L.O.T.H. #9
Roland07 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:16 PM   #13
biscuit1414
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Fan#: 119605
Location: attica, IN
What I Drive: 07 zx3

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 biscuit1414 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
just got 07 zx3. i have 5 speed no tach. does it matter if new cluster with tach comes from auto trans or a sedan?
biscuit1414 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 12:46 PM   #14
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,382
Points 7,367, Level 57
Points: 7,367, Level: 57 Points: 7,367, Level: 57 Points: 7,367, Level: 57
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by biscuit1414 View Post
just got 07 zx3. i have 5 speed no tach. does it matter if new cluster with tach comes from auto trans or a sedan?
It does not, just make sure it is from an 05-07. Be warned that the miles are stored on the actual cluster, so if your car has 80k and you find a used one with 30k, it will read 30k unless you have it reset by ford. I found one with a couple thousand more miles than my car and swapped them over when they matched up (if you go this way, install when you get it to make sure everything works!)

Also, if your car does not have abs but the new one does, the brake light will be on. Otherwise, its a pretty straight forward swap and great mod, i was really annoyed not having one myself on my '07.
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 01:36 PM   #15
drewts86
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Fan#: 72974
Location: san jose, CA
What I Drive: 2004 Burgundy ZX3

Posts: 121
Points 468, Level 9
Points: 468, Level: 9 Points: 468, Level: 9 Points: 468, Level: 9
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 drewts86 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
...or you could just listen to what your engine is doing and negate the tach altogether.
drewts86 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Belt Info Spanky6935 General Technical Chat 13 09-30-2011 10:54 PM
05 gauge cluster no tach swap to 04 with tach??? kiwanoron General Technical Chat 2 10-06-2005 12:22 PM
Gauge install?? FociFreak Ford Focus & General Car Chat 5 11-10-2004 10:20 AM
installing an aftermarket tach on manual zx3 richiejerzee4lfe ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 5 03-30-2004 09:18 AM
will ford install the mach hids on my car? 2001 zx3 CyByte MK1 Focus 0 11-27-2003 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.