New Radio in 2002 Focus - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2013, 01:54 PM   #1
cntrstrk14
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119379
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2002 Silver SE

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 cntrstrk14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
New Radio in 2002 Focus

Hey, new to the forum, just purchased a 2002 Silver SE. It had the stock radio in it and the first thing I wanted to do was replace the radio with something that can do bluetooth. I'm new to car modification and wiring, but I've studied up a lot. I have one worry though- When talking to a local radio installation place they mentioned that they would need to do an amp bypass on the car for any after market radios. Other shops in the area said that this is not needed. Nothing online I've read has mentioned an amp bypass when just replacing just the deck.

If I am going from the stock radio to my first after market radio, do I need to do an amp bypass? Or can I just do the wiring with the connectors available from the stock radio?

Here is the deck I am installing.
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-DEH-X6...ords=car+radio

I already got a harness, a dash kit and an antenna adapter as well. My last hesitation is really just what this one mechanic mentioned about doing an amp bypass because I am not sure that as a noob that I am comfortable doing that.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to this forum!


cntrstrk14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2013, 02:50 PM   #2
johnwbr
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83135
Location: roswell, GA
What I Drive: 2005 Gold se wagon

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 johnwbr Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have installed aftermarket radios in 00,05 and 07 Focus and never had to do anything called an amp bypass. If you have a harness with the proper connector on it and wire it correctly, you should be ok.
johnwbr is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 03:38 PM   #3
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 395
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
^^This. Even with Premium Audio (factory amp), as long as you have the proper harness you'll be ok.
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 07:37 PM   #4
calebstubstad
Chef Boyardee
 
calebstubstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103240
Location: Fargo, ND
What I Drive: 2000 Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 2,702
FF Reputation: 4 calebstubstad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
You should be fine with the wiring kit, it's how mine was done. I have the same radio just without bluetooth. Really boosts the sound of the stock speakers, it's nice.
__________________
Rally Revolution #43
[HOONIGAN]
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
Not the bear the zoo deserves, but the bear the zoo needs.
calebstubstad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:34 AM   #5
02fordsvt
Meh.
 
02fordsvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84654
Location: Lowville, NY
What I Drive: 2002 SVT, 2001 SE (Rusty)

Posts: 9,533
FF Reputation: 49 02fordsvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
The amps on stock radios are all internal. In other words, when you remove the stock radio headunit, your also removing the stock amp, and hence, there is no need to bypass it.

Some cars have the amp separate from the headunits, but Foci, at least the early generations, never had this.
__________________
Hatch Nation #13 : Rally Revolution #13 : ROTM Jan '13
It's Bryan, not Brian
RSVT-170 Build in Progress
Derusting Rusty Build in Progress
02fordsvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:16 PM   #6
cntrstrk14
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119379
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2002 Silver SE

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 cntrstrk14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks! This is exactly the kind of information I was looking for, thanks for the help.
cntrstrk14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 12:53 AM   #7
ZeeXfive
Focus Enthusiast
 
ZeeXfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99314
Location: Spokane, WA
What I Drive: 2002 Malibu Blue Metallic ZX5

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 ZeeXfive Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Careful at audio shops. If you seem like you haven't done your homework they might add something you don't need, so nice catch!


Sent from my iPad using FF Mobile now Free
ZeeXfive is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.