Voltage Surge 2000 Ford Focus - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2013, 11:44 AM   #1
sucof22
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119316
Location: Hull, IA
What I Drive: 2000 Ford Focus

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 sucof22 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Voltage Surge 2000 Ford Focus

We have recently been experiencing the Brake, ABS and Battery lights randomly flashing on the instrument panel. Also the lights will get notably brighter. I tested the voltage at the battery and noted surges near 18v. I don't have anything sophisticated...just a dial voltage meter. I figured the voltage regulator was bad and purchased a used alternator. I still have the same symptoms. I have a hard time believing that both alternators have a bad regulator. Not sure what else it could be.


sucof22 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2013, 10:08 PM   #2
zetecDon
Where am I?
 
zetecDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62506
Location: east of Cincinnati, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 02 ZX3, 02 MX-5

Posts: 6,851
FF Reputation: 28 zetecDon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (44)
Moved to "General Technical Chat".
zetecDon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 01:48 AM   #3
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 3,525
FF Reputation: 19 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question your volt meter used there..............
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 09:13 AM   #4
CotyM
Focus Addict
 
CotyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85558
Location: woodsfield, OH
What I Drive: blue, y2k, 5spd ZX3, zetec inside

Posts: 744
FF Reputation: 3 CotyM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Defenently, test the multimeter with a few stable known sources (Like a new 9v or a few new AA's... Also check it's batteries. My digital mulitimeter will give me absurd readings when the batteries are low.

Also if it defalts to automatic (detects AC and DC voltage automatically) be sure that it is set manually for more accurate readings...
__________________
Hatch Nation #32

I'm mad! Your mad! We're all mad here!
CotyM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 10:21 AM   #5
mikeeshaq
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72526
Location: Sugar Land,TX ex MN, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Transit Connect

Posts: 1,017
FF Reputation: 15 mikeeshaq Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I bet the multimeter is OK...

sucof22 this is what I want you to do:
Go right on the battery posts NOT the battery clamps measure the voltage
NOW go on the battery clamps and measure the voltage there

Your battery clamps have to be perfect! no corrosion and TIGHT!
Twist sideways the clamps must NOT move
Is there any wire insulation that is melted by the clamps? If so, then it must be corrected.

Report back
mikeeshaq is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:31 AM   #6
xFOCIx
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 23553
Location: Oregon, OR
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3 5spd

Posts: 526
FF Reputation: 15 xFOCIx Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When everything is right, the voltage difference between alternator and corresponding battery terminals should be 0.0x volts. (measure B+ at alternator to + on battery, alternator case to negative on battery)

Any deviation from this means you have a resistance due to poor connection which is usually from loose connection, corrosion at connection or terminal crimping.

Re-make all connections. Sand down and WD-40 before assembly if it looks corroded/rusted. If the corrosion is inside the crimping that attaches to wire, you may have to replace that cable if there's not enough length to cut off the terminal and put a new one.
xFOCIx is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.