Help - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
focuswagon01
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 118712
Location: Jamestown, RI
What I Drive: 2001 silver wagon

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 focuswagon01 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Help

I couldn't find another thread that addresses this problem, so here goes:

I got an aftermarket single-din headunit I want to install in my 01 focus. I have everything needed including an aftermarket harness that the stock wiring should plug into, except only one of the connecters fit. This is the wiring harness I bought: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 which is advertised as compatible with my model/year focus. Apparently I have a different stock wiring setup than other people's 2001 ford focus's

Pictured to the left is the aftermarket wiring harness that I bought:

https://picasaweb.google.com/1131432...88547547226466

Closer look at the wiring I have:

https://picasaweb.google.com/1131432...88148546213138

Any help/input is much appreciated. Thanks


focuswagon01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2013, 02:46 PM   #2
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 437
Points 1,000, Level 16
Points: 1,000, Level: 16 Points: 1,000, Level: 16 Points: 1,000, Level: 16
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I recently did an install into an '02, I ran into a similar issue (I think). The best way to know which harness is for which, is counting the wires. That is, assuming you have a standard 4 speaker system, the Speaker harness will have 8 wires. The other will be less (powers, ground, ant, remote, etc..) Also, the little third one is Not used. I hope that helps.
Verify you have the correct harness at www.metraonline.com
Assuming you have the correct one, it's supposed to snap right in.
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 08:19 AM   #3
focuswagon01
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 118712
Location: Jamestown, RI
What I Drive: 2001 silver wagon

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 focuswagon01 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Only one of the connecters fit, the other one is too small and has different pins. I looked on that website and it listed the same adapter I already have and another one. I guess I'll have to try the other one and hope it fits

Do you think I have a premium sound system and that's why it doesn't fit? I know the harness' packaging says "for non-premium sound"
focuswagon01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:12 PM   #4
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 437
Points 1,000, Level 16
Points: 1,000, Level: 16 Points: 1,000, Level: 16 Points: 1,000, Level: 16
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I checked my resources at work, and I didn't find a different harness.
Based on your pics, I doubt its a premium audio. The factory plugs look very typical. I think ford premium had a Square amp/speaker plug.
I highly recommend calling metra and/or scosche.com .
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.