Help wiring pioneer appradio - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2013, 11:11 AM   #1
Jayx21
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 112991
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: Mk1 focus

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 Jayx21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Help wiring pioneer appradio

Okay so im gonna be getting an app radio in my focus

There is currently a sub wired into the stock head unit

If i were to get the wiring harness from ebay which includes fascia plate wiring harness and steering stalk controls would it just be a case of plug and play?

my subs wired by splicing into certain speaker wires on the stock unit but all the different colours of the wiring harness, the back of the stock stereo and the appradio is just confusing

manual is no help...


Jayx21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2013, 11:18 AM   #2
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
More than likely the speaker wires that were being spliced were for a line out converter which turns speaker wire to RCA outputs for your amp. If this is what it is just use the preout for subs on the app radio and take the line out converter out hope this helps
jayboe123 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Jayx21
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 112991
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: Mk1 focus

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 Jayx21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)




Judging by what im seeing it seems theres nothing inputted into my amp via rca it seems to come from the "HIGh" plug which is carrying the signal for the sub
Jayx21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:37 PM   #4
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
That's the high input via speaker wire for I'm guessing a powered subwoofer so you will need to use the left and right rear speaker wires from the after market harness on the app radio should be the set of purple and green wires make your connections like normal to the harness adapter for the car. Just run your speaker wire input to your sub like it is normally and you should be able to control the volume of the sub by fading the volume to the front speakers.
jayboe123 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:08 PM   #5
Jayx21
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 112991
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: Mk1 focus

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 Jayx21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Right so it would work if i just plugged it all in as it is but for the sake of getting the most out of my sub it'd be best to go

Factory wires>wiring harness>app radio

Then on the outputs do i take out the spliced wires & high input on the sub & use the app radios sub output wire that to the boot and plug that into the rca of the sub? Or for saving a bit of time splice an rca onto the ends of the cables that were spliced in the first place?

Is that right?
Jayx21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:22 PM   #6
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
As an installer I would unplug the high input speaker wires and undo the connections that were spliced get a set of twisted RCA cables and plug them into the sub preout on the pioneer deck and the other end to the low level input for your sub you'll be able to set crossovers and control the volume without fading. You don't need the speaker wire connections at all. Just remember if you have a high or low pass filter or both use either the one on the amp or the one on the deck not both
jayboe123 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:43 PM   #7
Jayx21
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 112991
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: Mk1 focus

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 Jayx21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Okay sounds about right. Obviously if my stock unit had an rca output for a sub in the first place it would just be a case of swapping it over..

But can i ask where do the wires that were spliced together go to because they're different wires that go into the high input of the sub amp?

If it possible to locate these would it be aceptable to just splice rca males onto the ends of it to save taking the car apart again to wire it from the deck to the sub amp in the boot?
Jayx21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:43 PM   #8
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I would check and see where the wires go because someone could have possibly just butt connected another set of wires to the ones you see going to the sub and you can't splice into speaker wire to make it RCA output because it is an ac output you'll need a line out converter to do it and truthfully RCAs aren't too bad to run it'll take you maybe 20 minutes and would be the best choice
jayboe123 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:14 AM   #9
Jayx21
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 112991
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: Mk1 focus

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 Jayx21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Alright that will be the plan then!

Also does the wiring harness just plug straight into the pioneer decks wires or will it need crimping together?
Jayx21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:42 PM   #10
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The pioneer harness should be small and black and will need a wiring harness adapter for the factory radio. If you want to do the bypass you'll need a relay and a toggle switch in order to watch movies due to pioneer upping their game so grounding the parking brake alone won't work. A few google searches will get you set.. Or Just be a law abiding citizen and do it legally lol
jayboe123 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.