Passenger Side Motor Mount (Duratec) [pics] - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Focus

MK1 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the first generation 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 07:12 PM   #1
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 421
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Passenger Side Motor Mount (Duratec) [pics]

I'd like to start by saying Holy Shhh!!! What a night-and-day-difference!!!!
So anyway. .....

SYMPTOMS: Above average rough idle and vibrating. (I say above average 'cause pcv needs changing). Vents tick away due to vibrating. Steering wheel vibrating. In a nutshell; lots and lots of Vibrating :)

Culprit:




Replacement:




Tools used: (not pictured; jack w/ wood, & WD40)



__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2013, 08:42 PM   #2
GreySkorpion
saved from the grave
 
GreySkorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94674
Location: B'game, KS
What I Drive: 2004 LG ZX5 2.3D

Posts: 6,079
FF Reputation: 11 GreySkorpion Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I said the same when I did mine, so much smoother!
GreySkorpion is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,362
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Holy bajezzus!! That one was worse than mine, and I got t boned!!! Lol. I'm sure its a thousand times smoother now! Pretty easy to swap out for such an important part, huh?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:59 AM   #4
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 421
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Stupidly easy to swap. I was Really surprised I had all the necessary tools. Up til I thought I wouldn't be able to get to the Rear Bolt. To my surprise, it came out smoothly with the hand tool in the picture, not very much muscle needed. I was so excited to put it in, that I didn't wait for the engine to cool, so I'm sure warm bolts helped. But even with that said, the time between the first picture and the picture with the new one in, took only 31 minutes.
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:58 PM   #5
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,362
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yep! Sounds about right! lol. Nice man!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:42 AM   #6
euro-bred
Focus Addict
 
euro-bred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30047
Location: independence, MO
What I Drive: 04 2.3 zx3

Posts: 1,095
FF Reputation: 10 euro-bred Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Hmm, mine didn't come with the new bracket, I had to reuse my old one and that was a total PITA to get the new mount in there! Makes a big difference though
__________________
Yeah, I's gots me some mods.
euro-bred is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:49 AM   #7
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 421
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oh wow. I can't imagine having to do that extra step, no thanx.
I got mine from Lakeland, (I'm kinda iffy over whether I'd recommend them, but at least I got the entire part.)
Part Info:
BRACKET - INSULATOR M - 5S4Z6038CB
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:18 AM   #8
focus_wagon05
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Fan#: 178953
Location: Ford, Canada
What I Drive: Focus Wagon 2005

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 focus_wagon05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadabout View Post
Tools used: (not pictured; jack w/ wood, & WD40)


Just curious, I was going to take this job on myself - but saw that there are some torque requirements for the engine mount bolts.

Did you just tighten it and were OK or did you use a torque wrench?
focus_wagon05 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:47 AM   #9
goingtoscotland
Focus Addict
 
goingtoscotland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Fan#: 132001
Location: Hull, IA
What I Drive: '14 Tuxedo Black HB, 05 Kawi ZX-10R

Posts: 748
FF Reputation: 6 goingtoscotland Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by focus_wagon05 View Post
Just curious, I was going to take this job on myself - but saw that there are some torque requirements for the engine mount bolts.

Did you just tighten it and were OK or did you use a torque wrench?
Uh... who doesn't own a torque wrench.

ALWAYS use a torque wrench.
__________________
Dawkins....Dennett....Harris....Hitchens

Hatch Nation #46
goingtoscotland is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:22 AM   #10
focus_wagon05
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Fan#: 178953
Location: Ford, Canada
What I Drive: Focus Wagon 2005

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 focus_wagon05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I figured as much - thank you :)

it wasn't pictured so I wanted to be absolutely sure.
focus_wagon05 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.