Where can I buy a ITB? - Page 6 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > ZETEC Performance (2000-2004)

ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2013, 07:16 PM   #51
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 349
Points 315, Level 6
Points: 315, Level: 6 Points: 315, Level: 6 Points: 315, Level: 6
Level Up 30% Completed
Level up: 30% Level up: 30% Level up: 30%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
LOL LOL

Tom
Care to share what you find so funny?
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2013, 07:44 PM   #52
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,205
Points 51,320, Level 100
Points: 51,320, Level: 100 Points: 51,320, Level: 100 Points: 51,320, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 32%
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Sure face in palm post by iminhell

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2013, 07:54 PM   #53
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 349
Points 315, Level 6
Points: 315, Level: 6 Points: 315, Level: 6 Points: 315, Level: 6
Level Up 30% Completed
Level up: 30% Level up: 30% Level up: 30%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oh.....IC Great feed back, thanks!

So anyone else have any input?
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2013, 12:00 AM   #54
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,715
Points 18,426, Level 86
Points: 18,426, Level: 86 Points: 18,426, Level: 86 Points: 18,426, Level: 86
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostTribute View Post
Here are a couple shoots of the live data on my scan tool.... No CEL... however it will come on for the DPFE and EGR as they have both been removed. For those who say that the stock ECU will not idle over 700-850RPM... here it is @ 1200 RPM. The IAC is hooked up and running. In case anyone is wondering, the IAC valve is pretty much completely closed at idle @ these RPMs.
I don't believe anyone ever said the stock ECU won't idle over 700-850rpm. In fact I know no one ever has.
Personally I idle at ~900rpm because I have to, vacuum fluctuates too much if I go lower.
To add to that, the IAC can control up to near 3,000rpm idle if desired.

Speaking of, if the IAC is not open at idle, your throttle stop is set wrong or you have a vacuum leak.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostTribute View Post



As you can see it is running a bit on the warm side and the ECU is really attacking the fuel trims....



19.2% throttle and a really good IAT and flow reading from the MAF. It's quite obvious that the 4 throttles suck air much faster than a single throttle body. The 65mm throttle body @ 1000RPM was reading @ 2.8 g/s.
At what load/ignition timing?

To say that they suck more is a conundrum.
If they actually did, you'd see it reflected by load and spark. Calculated load is based off both and to increase one will reflect on the other.
Simply reading air flow #'s will get you nowhere and without inclusive data is meaningless. It also does not reflect any aspect of air moving faster.




Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostTribute View Post
I will also try and see what I can do to keep the ECU from trimming so much fuel on the ST & LTFT.

Maybe reading the MAFS might help that?
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2013, 12:43 AM   #55
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 349
Points 315, Level 6
Points: 315, Level: 6 Points: 315, Level: 6 Points: 315, Level: 6
Level Up 30% Completed
Level up: 30% Level up: 30% Level up: 30%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
I don't believe anyone ever said the stock ECU won't idle over 700-850rpm. In fact I know no one ever has.
Personally I idle at ~900rpm because I have to, vacuum fluctuates too much if I go lower.
To add to that, the IAC can control up to near 3,000rpm idle if desired.

Speaking of, if the IAC is not open at idle, your throttle stop is set wrong or you have a vacuum leak.
I was told that without tuning software you couldn't get the engine to idle above 850 unless you have a vacuum leak or the engine wasn't running properly. And You hit the nail on the head. about being set wrong.... except it's not my throttle stop. That is adjusted perfectly. It's my idle air adjustment (throttle sync) that is off. I still have to sync these throttles.

This is the first time they have ever run since I built them. This initial installation and run was to see if they would even run on a stock ECU. and to make sure that everything fit and functioned smoothly. I was actually surprised that it even started to be honest with you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
At what load/ignition timing?

To say that they suck more is a conundrum.
If they actually did, you'd see it reflected by load and spark. Calculated load is based off both and to increase one will reflect on the other.
Simply reading air flow #'s will get you nowhere and without inclusive data is meaningless. It also does not reflect any aspect of air moving faster.
Yeah I noticed that the load is also higher at the same RPM as well. I was shocked that the ignition is still 0 though??? I was just speaking generally when I said they sucked more.

That being said. This set up is a fully tapered tuned induction system vs the stock straight diameter pipe and cone filter I had on it previously. It should be helping velocity in this manner.

- 3" velocity stack
- 3" pipe into 2.25" pipe
- Into the resonant air box (tuned for 3500-7500 rpm operation)
- inside the box there are 60mm velocity stacks on each throttle
- The throttles then taper from 50mm down to 46mm @ the throttle plates carried into the stock head and intake valves.


I am in the process of making an EEC-V plug and play harness connector for my MegaSquirtIII.



Once I get that up and running I will definitely take a look at those MAFS. Thank you for the input, much better than a face palm! ...
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2014, 05:17 AM   #56
photn02
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116617
Location: Werombi, Australia
What I Drive: Silver

Posts: 131
Points 496, Level 9
Points: 496, Level: 9 Points: 496, Level: 9 Points: 496, Level: 9
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 photn02 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sorry for thread revival here,

But im a bit confused and was hoping Tom could answer the question.

If i put ITB's on my Zetec engined Focus 2.0 could the standard ECU be used to tune it?

taking into account any other mods such as PNP head, Cams, higher CR?
photn02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2014, 10:41 AM   #57
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,205
Points 51,320, Level 100
Points: 51,320, Level: 100 Points: 51,320, Level: 100 Points: 51,320, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 32%
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
If you have an intake over the ITB and ran that through a mass air then yes you could use the stock ECU

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2014, 03:09 PM   #58
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,715
Points 18,426, Level 86
Points: 18,426, Level: 86 Points: 18,426, Level: 86 Points: 18,426, Level: 86
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
There is that guy from South America (Argentina IIRC) and his car is newer and MAP based. It's odd for most newer Fords to be that way in the USA.
But if you would swap to that style ECU then you wouldn't need a plenum around the ITB's. But I'm not sure if Tom can tune it for you. Offer help maybe.

I see the guy pop in from time to time on the tuning site I'm on. I can ask him to stop in here if you want.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2014, 08:02 PM   #59
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,205
Points 51,320, Level 100
Points: 51,320, Level: 100 Points: 51,320, Level: 100 Points: 51,320, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 32%
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Yes I can tune that ECU code for MAP based Foci I have done a good bit of them

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2014, 05:30 PM   #60
photn02
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116617
Location: Werombi, Australia
What I Drive: Silver

Posts: 131
Points 496, Level 9
Points: 496, Level: 9 Points: 496, Level: 9 Points: 496, Level: 9
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 photn02 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So there is no way to change the 2003 ECU to MAP instead of MAF?
photn02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat