Possible to data log on mac? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2013, 02:22 PM   #1
z4nder
Focus Enthusiast
 
z4nder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103345
Location: Knoxville, TN
What I Drive: 2010 Sangria Red SES

Posts: 240
FF Reputation: 1 z4nder Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Possible to data log on mac?

Hey, I think this is the right place to ask, but sorry if it isn't. I tried to do some research, but found different things, and wanted a clear answer. I was wondering if it is possible to data log using the LiveLink Software from SCT to data log on MAC for Tom. I know you need to run windows, but wondering if I can successfully data log on a mac running windows. If so, which windows should I get?

Thanks, Alex!


__________________
Sedan Revolution #287
Tennessee Focus Owner #12
z4nder is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2013, 06:27 PM   #2
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,768
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I do not thing MAC will work sorry

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:45 PM   #3
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,047
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
You can use bootcamp on your MAC to partition your hard drive and install windows. I recommend using windows XP. I installed XP on my MacBook Air and datalogged using Livelink and it worked great.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:50 PM   #4
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,497
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
IIRC VMware also works --> http://www.vmware.com/products/player/
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:57 PM   #5
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,047
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
To run a virtual machine just make sure your hardware can handle it. Datalogging will use alot of processing speed. That along with running a VM can bog down your machine. This will give you crappy logs.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:41 PM   #6
z4nder
Focus Enthusiast
 
z4nder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103345
Location: Knoxville, TN
What I Drive: 2010 Sangria Red SES

Posts: 240
FF Reputation: 1 z4nder Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Alright thanks for clearing this up for me! Yeah I own a MacBook Pro and don't have the funds or want to buy a pc for just this. I forgot I had a older pc, but it hasn't been used in a few years... So I doubt it will successfully data log. I am going to try and clean it up and hopefully get it working to where I can use it.
__________________
Sedan Revolution #287
Tennessee Focus Owner #12
z4nder is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:18 PM   #7
Macifikation
Focus Enthusiast
 
Macifikation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 83816
Location: Detroit, MI
What I Drive: 2002 Blue ZX5

Posts: 152
FF Reputation: 2 Macifikation Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
As long as you have x11 you can run wine to run your data logging program. 10.8 got rid of the x11 packet, but apple is still developing it further on the side.
__________________
Detroit Crew #01 , ZETEC Crew #357

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/group.php?groupid=92
Macifikation is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.