SVT MAF require a MAFia on a zetec with 12lbs or less? - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2013, 09:39 PM   #11
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,046
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Are you sure you understand how the MAFia works , the MAF doesnt tricks , fool or change the max count limits in the ECU

Say you have 4.99 volts and you set the MAFia to 2 lets say is 20% then your voltage to the ecu is +/- 3.99 volts it just lowers the voltage that the ECU sees not change anything the ECU does or does it raise the limit of the ECU it just changes the voltage the ECU now sees

I would NEVER use the failed MAF tables , or the over voltage tables this is a HUGH mistake

The problem with a large MAF tube and cnamging the MTF is you always want to end your build and tuning around the 900 count range and you limited on choices of tubes to use 2.5 , 3 , 3.5

MAFia just works so well

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-08-2013, 10:40 PM   #12
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,811
FF Reputation: 46 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I worded that wrong I guess.
The the ECU bases Counts off differential voltage from the reference voltage. That is a percentage from 5v. 1v return is 1/5, 204.6 counts.

When you raise the reference you can also raise the produced voltage from Mass Flow. but the differential stays the same. Lets say reference voltage is now 10v. Then you can have 2v at the MAF, still 204.6 counts.

The problem is the higher flow isn't measured. It's simply assumed to be there based on the voltage seen at the MAFia. The MAFia is handling the fueling and the tune is scaled for each setting.
That scaling is the same thing (in process) as you'd do with a large MAF tube.


I do understand that idle can be troublesome with large tubes though. Slow flow is a PITA.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:54 PM   #13
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,094
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
have uhad idle problem with 3 inch maf tube ?
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 11:22 PM   #14
Turbo Turtle
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: Miata, STi, GSXR1k

Posts: 4,741
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
as long as it is tuned with the 3" tube then there should be no difference in idle. but just changing the location or clocking of your maf can affect it and the tune would need to be looked at to make corrections
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Mig and Tig fabrication, engine building


facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 11:27 PM   #15
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,094
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
yea ive found that out in the past. taking pipe off and re installing with the maf turned slightly and is tarted it and was like TOM WTF DID I DO lol.
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 05:15 PM   #16
paulg127
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 55998
Location: Canton, mi, United States
What I Drive: 2003 Black SVT

Posts: 188
FF Reputation: 3 paulg127 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
When the mafia scales the signal, what happens when the stock MAF would read 5v? What would the mafia read? 20% lower (if set on 2) means 4v, but is that the max??
How does this help?
And with a mafia don't you need to adjust the main FNMAF2Volts (MTF) transfer function anyway?

Iminhell - where did you get your knowledge on this subject?

Counts are used for digital MAFs, voltage for analog, SVTs are analog, not sure when most Foci were changed to digital MAFs.
paulg127 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:09 PM   #17
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,811
FF Reputation: 46 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulg127 View Post
Iminhell - where did you get your knowledge on this subject?

Counts are used for digital MAFs, voltage for analog, SVTs are analog, not sure when most Foci were changed to digital MAFs.
Count = Voltage
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:50 AM   #18
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,046
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
When the mafia scales the signal, what happens when the stock MAF would read 5v?
*If you hit 5 +/- volts with the stock MAF you will hit a fuel cut , the ECU isnt set to go past the 5 volt setting

What would the mafia read? 20% lower (if set on 2) means 4v, but is that the max??
*With the MAFia set to setting 4 you will still have the full range and issues of 0-5 volts , you just add more range

How does this help?
*With a MAFia set to 4 you can make 4.8 volts +/- and make 400HP where with stock MAF even in a 3 inch tube you wouldnt get to 4100+/- rpm and you would be out of MAF

And with a mafia don't you need to adjust the main FNMAF2Volts (MTF) transfer function anyway?
*Depends on whoos tuning it and how they want to do things , keep in mind your still on the stock MAF electronics

Hope that helps

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.