wideband helps with performance? - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 11:30 AM   #11
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,062
Points 7,033, Level 55
Points: 7,033, Level: 55 Points: 7,033, Level: 55 Points: 7,033, Level: 55
Level Up 42% Completed
Level up: 42% Level up: 42% Level up: 42%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
It's not a MUST, but HIGHLY recommended. The a/f is a great "real time" monitor of what your engine is doing (especially @ WOT).
__________________
No I don't think my car needs "moar low". I apologize to everyone for my car not looking like all the other Foci at FR14.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2013, 11:39 AM   #12
jugglethese
Focus Enthusiast
 
jugglethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108852
Location: Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2007 focus gloss black SAP zx3

Posts: 231
Points 1,619, Level 23
Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 jugglethese Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Is there any other way i can bypass buying the a/f gauge and opt for just a simple way just to get it tuned? like plugging in the 02 sensor to another sensor?
I could be wrong but with the 2 sensor deletes with the header, wasnt one a a/f?
jugglethese is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 11:52 AM   #13
PumkinSvt
Focus Fanatic
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF, 14 Fiesta ST

Posts: 7,498
Points 16,375, Level 82
Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
Why wouldn't you want one??


Sent from my iPhone using FF Mobile
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 11:59 AM   #14
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,444
Points 7,161, Level 56
Points: 7,161, Level: 56 Points: 7,161, Level: 56 Points: 7,161, Level: 56
Level Up 6% Completed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
They're a bit spendy lol. If there is a way, it probably involves splicing into your ECU or the existing O2 sensor... neither of which I'd want to do personally. But I suck with car electronics.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertST View Post
Hop on in babe! No really, you're gonna have to hop in. Roll Cage.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 12:49 PM   #15
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,208
Points 51,372, Level 100
Points: 51,372, Level: 100 Points: 51,372, Level: 100 Points: 51,372, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jugglethese View Post
Is there any other way i can bypass buying the a/f gauge and opt for just a simple way just to get it tuned? like plugging in the 02 sensor to another sensor?
I could be wrong but with the 2 sensor deletes with the header, wasnt one a a/f?
If you have a good bit of mods you need a wide band air fuel gauge , what mods do you have ?

Yes your car has an O2 that does air fuel (Front) BUT it has air fuel for idle and part throttle NOT wide open throttle where the wide band air fuel gauge is needed

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 01:48 PM   #16
jugglethese
Focus Enthusiast
 
jugglethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108852
Location: Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2007 focus gloss black SAP zx3

Posts: 231
Points 1,619, Level 23
Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 jugglethese Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
If you have a good bit of mods you need a wide band air fuel gauge , what mods do you have ?

Yes your car has an O2 that does air fuel (Front) BUT it has air fuel for idle and part throttle NOT wide open throttle where the wide band air fuel gauge is needed

Tom
Oh okay, i understand now. i got a obx header, 2'25inch catback, k&n cai, and your tune.

Someone should do a little write up on if you add certin mods things you'll need. This is kind of sucks esspecially when i went out and spent 1500$ on upgades in 2 months. kinda out out of funding for the next little while. :(
jugglethese is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 01:51 PM   #17
jugglethese
Focus Enthusiast
 
jugglethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108852
Location: Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2007 focus gloss black SAP zx3

Posts: 231
Points 1,619, Level 23
Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 jugglethese Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PumkinSvt View Post
Why wouldn't you want one??


Sent from my iPhone using FF Mobile
expensive for just that. 200$+shipping. then i gotta buy a mount drill holes into my firewall.
kinda a inconvenience
jugglethese is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 01:54 PM   #18
jugglethese
Focus Enthusiast
 
jugglethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108852
Location: Ontario, Canada
What I Drive: 2007 focus gloss black SAP zx3

Posts: 231
Points 1,619, Level 23
Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23 Points: 1,619, Level: 23
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 jugglethese Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
They're a bit spendy lol. If there is a way, it probably involves splicing into your ECU or the existing O2 sensor... neither of which I'd want to do personally. But I suck with car electronics.
i did my touch screen and that took me 4 hours. electronics arent my thing either and im not getting into that mess again haha
jugglethese is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 01:55 PM   #19
PumkinSvt
Focus Fanatic
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF, 14 Fiesta ST

Posts: 7,498
Points 16,375, Level 82
Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
http://focus.c-f-m.com/innovatedigit...wo2sensor.aspx

http://focus.c-f-m.com/saleaem2116in...ithsensor.aspx

I didnt cut a hole in my firewall. and a gauge pod isnt that expensive.
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 02:01 PM   #20
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,444
Points 7,161, Level 56
Points: 7,161, Level: 56 Points: 7,161, Level: 56 Points: 7,161, Level: 56
Level Up 6% Completed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Where you route the wire from the 02 to avoid drilling?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertST View Post
Hop on in babe! No really, you're gonna have to hop in. Roll Cage.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat